How I Became a Psychopath by Helping the Hysteric

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

black-and-white-person-feeling-smiling.jpg

One day a woman asked me for a review of her book. She was one of the millions of the disadvantaged women, on their command beastly abused by the so-called "psychopath," and one of the few who decided to write a book about their dramatic experiences. The alleged or actual "psychopathy" of a partner is particularly often used to justify their ineptitude, or lethargy, stupid decisions, lack of consistency and ability to learn from experience.

I liked the book, even a lot. I thought it was interesting and valuable, so I agreed and soon after I wrote full of the admiration review. I also have done quite hard, free proofreading of the book. Why for free? Because during the previous weeks of communicating we started becoming friends a little bit. This situation by the way permanently healed me from the internet friendships (for what, without irony and mockery, I am the author of the book really grateful).

While formulating my remarks about her book, I spent a couple of days on the editing, twice going through not easy to correct text. I prepared the review in my typical style, and my sharp tongue left the strong mark on it.

I was dumbstruck when in the response I received mail full of worries and concerns, and most funny - pretentions, remarks, and corrections to my review, like "This is great, but could you remove... the rest is ok." I noticed that my would-be business partner particularly liked parts that are extolling developed by her text, much less that, what I added from myself, on the topic of psychopathy. Most, however, surprised me the allegations about how irresponsibly I expose her on any unpleasantness and even threats from a wide range of possible readers.

The author, under a pseudonym, expressed huge concern that mine, clearly signed with my name review would bring on her the aggression from all around the world. ("Are you crazy? They will kill me!"). Occurring in many people, often completely irrational fear of honest and authentic expressing their views (if someone has such) is, in my opinion, one of the greatest misfortunes of the humanity.

I wrote back in a harsh tone (as befits psychopath), what I think about the whole situation. In response, I received from the flustered women a letter full of resentment, raising the issue of my irresponsibility, lack of understanding of her social and professional responsibilities, family and emotional conditioning, etc.

I have always believed that hysteria is much worse than psychopathy.

The review wasn't used, and I probably became the next ruthless psychopath, joining the army of abusers of strongly experienced by the fate author of the book. The whole thing was, as usual, a valuable observation. Sometimes I wonder, what would the response of the author look like, if it was a paid service.


Steemit Original Content