You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How We Create Family Beyond Blood

in #psychology6 years ago

I am often in awe of you strong parenting abilities - you make me a better person for knowing you <3.

The religious tradition I was raised in says that we did choose our families in a spirit realm prior to being born into our physical bodies. I like this idea, due in large part to the fact that it helps me to be a person who is worthy to be chosen by my children and spouse. But this piece of doctrine also breaks my heart when my close friends have parents who are not behaving in that way.

Sort:  

But isn’t it part of tradition that those you chose are those who will help make you your best self? In that case, they are the ones leading you to your inner strength through pain, and outer, chosen family through circumstance. This has its own beauty.

Huh, I had never thought of it that way. But thinking about it now, you are absolutely right. <3

I hope it’s a helpful idea!