You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 36 | Shaun the Sheep & Marriage

in #psychology6 years ago

I am not sure of any existing natural gapes between genders in the case of emotions. The quantity of emotions are similar in both genders I think. But what makes women more demure has a good say in our societal norms. I would blame our society that oppress women of their rights. You can still see people asking their sons not to cry at any situation equating that trait to girlish! Why shouldn't we men cry? Taboo!

Because the concept of relationship before marriage is quite different in India and I belong to an Orthodox family

That is a big concern. Although so called culture and traditions carry something good like what you have just figured here out, it is still in the trap of some obsolete norms. Gender parity is a concept which has been turned down by these outdated cultures. As long as there are no legal deterrents, no one including parents should jeopardize the relationship from flourishing! Rationality should win.

Sort:  

If I try to answer that, the conversation could end up in a different perspective. I will try to make it just short. I don't think the culture is still outdated. It gets the "outdated" perspective only when it is compared with the other cultures around the world. I'm a strong believer that even in olden days there was no gender based discrimination, it is being projected as if there was one.

I still respect the way my culture restricts my relationship before marriage. It has been successful in the past till date. There are issues only when it is collaborated with the western culture. If you explore the actual reality without any recent influencial corruption to the thoughts, you might even agree to what I'm trying to tell. Many stories and references from scriptures acknowledge that. Well I think we will have that discussion offline. 😀😁

I'm not comparing our culture with that of others. The comparison I always do is between the culture and the rationality. There are many points that are rational and scientific that exist on tradition I agree. But the major part of it is outdated. Many who argue against this are, no matter whether the person is a scientist, must be unaware of the history! Anyway I'm not trying to spam this comment section. Let's spoke of it offline later