Spark's Audio Blog - HEALING THE ADDICTION TO SOCIAL MEDIA, Steemit, Computer Gaming, Netflix, Youtube, and other Compulsive Screen-Time

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I recently have stumbled upon what appears to be an effective tool for working with and healing a minor internet or screen addiction.

Healing the Addiction to Social Media, and more

I recorded this thirteen-minute audio blog today, as I drove from Colorado to Santa Fe, so the audio sound is not the greatest (road noise in the background). Still, it's a unique perspective, I think, and I hope it is helpful to some.

https://soundcloud.com/mark-bimmy-bhavito-hoge/spark-healing-addiction-to-social-media-gaming-netflix-youtube-etc

Introducing Mark Hoge

I LARP for a Living - I'm passionate about ethical leadership, experiential education, conflict resolution, conscious parenting, storytelling, fantasy writing, RPGs, and personal growth.

My Introduction Post:

https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@spark/introducing-mark-hoge-i-larp-for-a-living-i-m-passionate-about-ethical-leadership-experiential-education-conflict-resolution

The Pirate's Last Wish

(A fantasy tale with the themes of power and transformation)
https://steemit.com/story/@spark/chapter-1-the-pirate-s-last-wish-a-fantasy-tale-set-in-thael

An Invitation

Thanks for reading! I invite you to read, explore, engage, and dialogue with the coming posts I will slowly but surely be sharing.
@Spark
Mark Hoge, Director of Renaissance Adventures, LLC.

Art credit: https://www.thestorydragon.com

Sort:  

why do you say that those things you mention are addictions?

Thanks for asking!

I'm using the word addiction for myself, but perhaps I should qualify it as a minor addiction, not a full-on addiction. I find that for me, I have an inclination to compulsively dive into these things, even when doing so is not the healthiest choice for me (causing lack of sleep, isolating rather than being social, less focus on work or dealing directly with life's challenges and the feelings that come up when feeling overwhelmed or pressured by life's challenges).

I'm not trying to belittle the severity of substance addictions such as to nicotine or drugs. Internet addiction is a real phenomenon.

I found this definition here: http://netaddiction.com/faqs/
Internet addiction is defined as any online-related, compulsive behavior which interferes with normal living and causes severe stress on family, friends, loved ones, and one’s work environment. Internet addiction has been called Internet dependency and Internet compulsivity. By any name, it is a compulsive behavior that completely dominates the addict’s life. Internet addicts make the Internet a priority more important than family, friends, and work. The Internet becomes the organizing principle of addicts’ lives.

Of course, just like having a beer does not mean you are an alcoholic, enjoying the internet or social media does not mean you have an addiction to the internet or social media.

two points...

  • It would seem that addiction is a hijacked word such as sustainable, Gay, Comedy , Romance, Artificial, Natural and a number of others. Use of such hijacked words is a tactic used to control the narrative and impute guilt to the opposition.

  • To get good at ANYTHING requires....(wait for it)...CONCENTRATION. One must have an attention span greater than that of a gnat. One must Practice, practice, practice, and practice some more. The old ten thousand hour rule (right or wrong) comes to mind.

Hi, and my apologies for the delay in responding (I'm temporarily working at the Santa Fe Tree House Camp, and without internet unless I head to town).

I'm finding that without more information from you, I'm needing to rely on some assumptions in order to respond to you. Are you feeling that I'm accusing you or others of addiction to Steemit? That is not my intention.

The blog is meant as an expression of how I'm dealing with my addiction, in the hopes it's inspiring or being informative to people. It's not meant to accuse or judge anyone else on their internet use. Some people can put many hours into the internet and it's not an addiction, meaning, they can make conscious choices to engage or not engage in the internet; it's not negatively affecting their health, work life, financial strength, sleep patterns, etc.

I'm not sure what you mean by hijacked. I use the word addiction to refer to what that word defines. I do the same with comedy, romance, and other words. I'm not using it to guilt-trip myself or anyone, but to name a spade a spade.

Yes, concentration is required to become good at anything. I'm assuming you are referring to engaging with Steemit? Again, my blog is not meant to judge you or anyone on how much time you put into Steemit.

It's great that you're starting an audio blog, I think it would really highlight the passion that you inject to storytelling. Unfortunately, I don't have audio right now, so I'll save this for later. Great job so far, man!

I appreciate your enthusiasm!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.