Sort:  

Well, I think you are right about there being a distinction between the two forms of pleasure. I am commenting on how the changing work landscape and such is going to require shifts in how humans experience pleasure and derive meaning. I find addiction to be much more complicated than you make it out to be. What do you find puzzling​?

I am commenting on how the changing work landscape and such is going to require shifts in how humans experience pleasure and derive meaning.

I have to disagree on that. These things are not as flexible to change as you appear to be suggesting. These things are pretty much hard wired into our psychology but I am happy to look at any literature that suggests otherwise - I just haven't seen it yet.

I find addiction to be much more complicated than you make it out to be.

In what way?

What do you find puzzling​?

The idea that you think think that addiction and addictive behaviours are not a problem and that somehow AI and changes to the work environment would make them less damaging.

That is a fundamental misunderstanding of what addiction is and means.

The underlying fundamentals may remain the same, how exactly we derive pleasure and meaning may very well have to change. Forces of the mass are stronger than anything.

About addiction, I don't know how much I can accurately distill into typed text - writing is not my strong suit. There is simply less concern about the safe addict in a society with so much automation, universal basic income, isolation from dangers. - don't let this diminish the problems with addiction, I just do not view it as something that can be tackled head on.

I think I see what you are saying -i.e. people will have less responsibilities?

Yes in a way. Focus on providing help and stop wasting money "punishing" people who have damaged their pleasure systems.

Yes like more rehabilitation facilities. I think the war on drugs has been a massive waste of money not to mention a really destructive force in society.

Also I hope I am not coming across overly harsh! I love a good debate but sometimes one can't convey tone very well and it comes across as very harsh - I appreciate the discussion :)

Your one of the smart ones here on steem. I always love your posts and comments.

Same goes for me - often text with my pooor writing makes my language come across as very harsh or condescending. I never mean any of it! :(

You are too kind!