A LITTLE HELP WITH PYTHON, PLEASE

in #pythonprogramming7 years ago (edited)

I am just recently learning to code with python so I downloaded a few videos on python programming. I am using Pycharm for this exercise. However, some of the codes the guy in the video uses do not seem to be working when I use it. I noticed however that he is explaining python using Python 3.4 but I downloaded both Python 2.7 and 3.6.

Is there a significant difference between python 2.7 and 3.4 and why can't I use the python 3.6 console in my Pycharm?

Any help[ will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Sort:  

There are incompatibilities between the 2 series and 3 series. At this point I think it's best to just go with Python 3. Some systems still depend on libraries that don't have a Python 3 version yet, but you are in the perfect position to avoid that, and when you do need those, you will have mostly transferable knowledge. But do pay attention that Python 2 and Python 3 are technically different languages, and are slightly but importantly incompatible one with another.