You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goodbye Hive

in #quit4 years ago (edited)

He's right about DBuzz filling the chain with low-value posts that serve to drive traffic away from Hive front ends to Twitter as they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself. Also, DBuzz does not force a user to include a link to a fully fleshed Hive post in a Tweet. It does not serve Hive's interest for such an app to be used here. But what if DBuzz were modified to not create posts at all? What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts? That way the posts would not appear in anybody's feed or create an issue with monetizable spam using up downvoting power or depending on attention by anti-abuse activists.

Sort:  

they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself

ah, one of my main goals in using a service like dbuzz would be to archive tweets.

What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts?

I like this idea. Although I would like some way for Hive users to reply to tweets-on-Hive and possibly have those copied over to twitter.

Although I would like some way for Hive users to reply to tweets-on-Hive and possibly have those copied over to twitter.

But you couldn't bring any Tweets over to Hive from any Twitter user unless they had not signed up for that.

Twitter has public APIs. Would Twitter allow for the building of a website that pulled Tweets and reactions from the Twitter back end allowing conversations on Hive and Twitter to be merged? If it did, it would be interesting.

as they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself.

It included the actual Tweet but we were not done rolling out our services some some of the Tweet was cut-off.

But what if DBuzz were modified to not create posts at all? What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts? That way the posts would not appear in anybody's feed or create an issue with monetizable spam using up downvoting power or depending on attention by anti-abuse activists.

We are in the planning stages of modifying D.Buzz and will get started after we rest some and re-group.

That sounds great. I think immutable data storage could be a major use case for Hive in the future.

just trust your overlords, just make sure they don't turn on you one day.

Even if they do, they can't touch my stake.

We've been discussing solutions with the devs rather than the Bernie approach of trying to pitchfork them.

They seem to mean well and, with a bit of work, what they are doing can contribute to the ecosystem. For example, instead of tweet to hive. Should be hive to tweet.

I see @dhimmel does make a valid use case in tweet archival. Something absolutely vital in the current age of censorship but maybe decline rewards and a few tweaks to the front ends could keep the clutter out of people's feeds.

Due to the nature of reblogs, I don't think it can be completely removed from feeds unless the front ends opt in to do so. If they do not, can't really fault @dbuzz as I don't think it can be done chain level at least as I understand things to work.

I can totally understand if they have a bad taste in their mouth though and leave. The way it was handled was pisspoor to say the least.

I see @dhimmel does make a valid use case in tweet archival. Something absolutely vital in the current age of censorship but maybe decline rewards and a few tweaks to the front ends could keep the clutter out of people's feeds.

It's entirely unnecessary for an archive of Tweets to be made up of posts in the first place.

I can totally understand if they have a bad taste in their mouth though and leave. The way it was handled was pisspoor to say the least.

Bernie is not actually that unreasonable as opposed to having a disagreeable personality (in the technical Big Five sense). He does not mince words so you always know where you stand with him. But graceful he is not, to say the least.

Sure. Could be stored as transfer memos for all I care but think it could be argued that perhaps the user wants to generate discussion around the subject of a tweet.

Is there better ways to do this in terms of quality? Sure.

But in terms of efficiency to generate potential engagement. There may be discussion to be had there.

In any case, Bernie isn't really the best candidate to broach said discussion. He did a lot of spamming back in the day but ppl tend to look the other way when he did it. Might makes right I suppose.

Sure. Could be stored as transfer memos for all I care but think it could be argued that perhaps the user wants to generate discussion around the subject of a tweet.

No, not transfer memos. JSON transactions like Splinterlands cards. Just text, not posts.

Oh duh. Idk custom_json slipped my mind. While at the same time you want users to be incentivized to engage, so if the devs wanna stake up to allocate a portion of the reward pool for that would make sense.

But yeah not just mindlessly posting whatever boring or spammy tweet out there. Maybe it can work like initial tweet share is a json and the moment a user engages that tweet it becomes a post that can thus be discussed.

I think that could work. Just spitballin here

Nothing beats brainstorming.

I was thinking of a simple immutable back up service.

But creating a fluid two-way communication channel between Twitter (back end) and Hive is tricky if you want anyone using any Hive front end or Twitter to have an equal opportunity to engage. If it has to be more or less a one-way street, then I'd prefer to see a funnel from Twitter to Hive than vice versa.

the ability to save your tweets on the blockchain by using a tag is useful. But that's beside the point, the point is that this isn't an open blockchain for innovation.

You're fucking clueless. You have no idea how the conversation started. If it were up to you, you'd be on your knees in front of them while the system continues to get spammed.

Piss off lonely soldier.

Here we go. Flag me harder, daddy. I wanna make 69. Giggity.

I would have zero issue w you if you were not trying to apply a hypocritical standard to others. You know this. I know this.

And save you energy on the insults. Not like I have an ego that is susceptible to it.

Tell ya what. I will do an analysis on your comment spam rewards. You burn it and then I will gladly shut my face.

I mean I reckon you turned another leaf and, if that be the case, props and I will eat my humble pie. But if you wanna go strong arm stake flex, we can play some games.

I'd prefer peace but am ready for war. Yeah I get that you think I am a douche bag but tell me I'm wrong about your comment spam. You know what you did so maybe come to terms that I am one of the few that will actually call you on it. Tbh if I am doing some sketchy shit. I'm grateful for peeps that will call me on it so I can a better person.

I can be your asset but likewise can be a helluva thorn in that side if you so choose.

I never denied spamming, that doesn't mean I don't have the right to destroy their spam service like I did.

Bring it on, little bitch. You have no stake, you have little following, you're nobody but some EX Navy boy.

Btw MARINES generally don't take kindly to being called a soldier but that's alright.

If I would have wanted to be a soldier, I would have joined the Army and wouldn't have had to endure the Crucible.

I don't really care but just something to help you in the future when interacting with my fellow Devil Dogs. I earned my EGA on Mt Motherfucker for the title.

Ah, always took you for a little sailer boy...soldier.