Goodbye Hive

in #quit4 years ago

51A+0Zx46eL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

@dbuzz account after refusing to be bullied by nextgencrypto, berniesanders and his network of fake accounts got DBUZZ put on a blacklist and their account brought to a negative reputation...which prevents them from communicating with the community. They are here to build something but there are people who have to power to stop them dead in their tracks by the stake they mined 4 years ago. This isn't an open blockchain for entrepreneur, it's a social club and you are not invited.

I've always been a cheerleader for the concept behind DPOS and the social media blockchain.

Call me stupid or blind but I now realize that DPOS fundamentally creates oligarchies that have the power to build or destroy anyone's account at the push of a button. Fuck this.

In 13 weeks, you won't have a dollar from me on this stupid system.

Sort:  

Don't go yet. I know that those accounts are dicks and have been since the early days but it's more of a reason to stay and help to fight for the good aspects of#hive.

As far as I can see @dbuzz is regrouping rather than closing and to be fair they needed to improve on the concept. The original idea is good, for a micro blogging site that links to twitter but what they delivered was a bunch of spam onto peoples feeds.

I got caught the same way from signing up and had a load of spam feed onto my blog but it would be great to have an interface or community where our hive posts auto posted onto twitter which is more what I was expecting. That and our tweets feeding into their app rather than my feed.

Grow traffic and bring in new users by creating lots of #hive based tweets and hopefully break away at some stage in the future.

As far as I can see @dbuzz is regrouping rather than closing and to be fair they needed to improve on the concept. The original idea is good, for a micro blogging site that links to twitter but what they delivered was a bunch of spam onto peoples feeds.

Yes, that was due to a misconception on our part, particularly me.

I told @nathansenn that we could use posts right around the time Communities launched (we started in December 2019) after reading a popular article that it would make things easier for Dapps like @appics and authors to avoid downvotes due to Posts being separated from people's Blog.

That mistake and misunderstanding is what caused this issue. We never intended to have our Posts show up in the main feed but due to the time I was spending with our in person meetups https://steem.com.ph and our Dev Team meetups, I was spending much less time on Steemit after Communities launched and didn't test it that much.

I got caught the same way from signing up and had a load of spam feed onto my blog but it would be great to have an interface or community where our hive posts auto posted onto twitter which is more what I was expecting. That and our tweets feeding into their app rather than my feed.

Yes, we are planning something like this for our next launch. Our Devs took a break today but after resting a bit and clarifying our next moves, we'll start re-building D.Buzz.

Great to hear it. I was having the conversation with another user as to why we need to see more development of apps like this but just in a different format perhaps.

In my opinion anything that doesn't harm the blockchain should be allowed. Plagiarism is theft and harms the eco-system as does reward farming.

I have seen large stake holders over the years drive thousands of active users from the old chain due to their definition of what should be allowed. If it is not harming the eco-system is shouldn't matter if you like it or not. Others will. Get over it.

We need users and a micro blogging app like this has the chance to target a whole new demographic of users. Personally I don't like it in its current form and think that it needs a separate interface for people to blog on. I don't want it appearing on my blogging feed, that is for my proper posts. I won't go as far as saying quality. 😅

I would like to see one that posts from hive to twitter and draws people back into the eco-system rather than the other way but that is where constructive discussion comes in. Not threats and flags. A censorship resistant version of twitter.
We need more apps. We needs more users. People bring value and engagement brings value. I have great fun on twitter since starting last year and spent a lot of time there now engaging with other crypto groups. If we could bring them onto hive for the same reason it would be brilliant but using stake to shut down potential development is a terrible idea.

Don't be discouraged if your plan hasn't worked out the way it was intended as you do have a great idea for moving forward as well as "A lot" of user feedback to draw from. Whether you wanted it or not....
I would still love to see you create the app but hopefully from a different perspective. More about the micro blogging and interaction rather than copying from twitter to hive. Or in a way that doesn't show on our feeds?

Whether you wanted it or not....
I would still love to see you create the app but hopefully from a different perspective. More about the micro blogging and interaction rather than copying from twitter to hive. Or in a way that doesn't show on our feeds?

Yes, all the feedback helped us . . we'll be updating the community soon.

I myself do not like the micro-blog environment, however I do understand that others do enjoy them just like they enjoy meme's and appics post and participating in actifit or dlike.

People can choose what they want to use, I myself do not use the above, vote or participate in them, that does not mean they are not needed or that I do not want them on Hive.

People have different taste, by providing a micro-blog system it may bring in more users, those user may stay and branch out into other aspects of Hive, just as several of the splinterlands and appics and other type users did.

So it is good to see that you are going to re-vamp and continue with your project. If people stop building because of what they feel are a few bullies, if people are going to leave because of what they perceive as a few deep pocket bullies, then Hive will wither and die on the vine. So thanks for the stick with it attitude.

Loading...

doesn't matter this whole place is an oligopoly. It doesn't have any future since it only take one jackass to have masses of people losing their ability to communicate.

He's right about DBuzz filling the chain with low-value posts that serve to drive traffic away from Hive front ends to Twitter as they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself. Also, DBuzz does not force a user to include a link to a fully fleshed Hive post in a Tweet. It does not serve Hive's interest for such an app to be used here. But what if DBuzz were modified to not create posts at all? What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts? That way the posts would not appear in anybody's feed or create an issue with monetizable spam using up downvoting power or depending on attention by anti-abuse activists.

they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself

ah, one of my main goals in using a service like dbuzz would be to archive tweets.

What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts?

I like this idea. Although I would like some way for Hive users to reply to tweets-on-Hive and possibly have those copied over to twitter.

Although I would like some way for Hive users to reply to tweets-on-Hive and possibly have those copied over to twitter.

But you couldn't bring any Tweets over to Hive from any Twitter user unless they had not signed up for that.

Twitter has public APIs. Would Twitter allow for the building of a website that pulled Tweets and reactions from the Twitter back end allowing conversations on Hive and Twitter to be merged? If it did, it would be interesting.

as they all contain a link to a tweet and not even the tweet itself.

It included the actual Tweet but we were not done rolling out our services some some of the Tweet was cut-off.

But what if DBuzz were modified to not create posts at all? What if it was redesigned as a tool to create immutable backups of Tweets as JSON-transactions and not posts? That way the posts would not appear in anybody's feed or create an issue with monetizable spam using up downvoting power or depending on attention by anti-abuse activists.

We are in the planning stages of modifying D.Buzz and will get started after we rest some and re-group.

That sounds great. I think immutable data storage could be a major use case for Hive in the future.

just trust your overlords, just make sure they don't turn on you one day.

Even if they do, they can't touch my stake.

We've been discussing solutions with the devs rather than the Bernie approach of trying to pitchfork them.

They seem to mean well and, with a bit of work, what they are doing can contribute to the ecosystem. For example, instead of tweet to hive. Should be hive to tweet.

I see @dhimmel does make a valid use case in tweet archival. Something absolutely vital in the current age of censorship but maybe decline rewards and a few tweaks to the front ends could keep the clutter out of people's feeds.

Due to the nature of reblogs, I don't think it can be completely removed from feeds unless the front ends opt in to do so. If they do not, can't really fault @dbuzz as I don't think it can be done chain level at least as I understand things to work.

I can totally understand if they have a bad taste in their mouth though and leave. The way it was handled was pisspoor to say the least.

I see @dhimmel does make a valid use case in tweet archival. Something absolutely vital in the current age of censorship but maybe decline rewards and a few tweaks to the front ends could keep the clutter out of people's feeds.

It's entirely unnecessary for an archive of Tweets to be made up of posts in the first place.

I can totally understand if they have a bad taste in their mouth though and leave. The way it was handled was pisspoor to say the least.

Bernie is not actually that unreasonable as opposed to having a disagreeable personality (in the technical Big Five sense). He does not mince words so you always know where you stand with him. But graceful he is not, to say the least.

Sure. Could be stored as transfer memos for all I care but think it could be argued that perhaps the user wants to generate discussion around the subject of a tweet.

Is there better ways to do this in terms of quality? Sure.

But in terms of efficiency to generate potential engagement. There may be discussion to be had there.

In any case, Bernie isn't really the best candidate to broach said discussion. He did a lot of spamming back in the day but ppl tend to look the other way when he did it. Might makes right I suppose.

Sure. Could be stored as transfer memos for all I care but think it could be argued that perhaps the user wants to generate discussion around the subject of a tweet.

No, not transfer memos. JSON transactions like Splinterlands cards. Just text, not posts.

Oh duh. Idk custom_json slipped my mind. While at the same time you want users to be incentivized to engage, so if the devs wanna stake up to allocate a portion of the reward pool for that would make sense.

But yeah not just mindlessly posting whatever boring or spammy tweet out there. Maybe it can work like initial tweet share is a json and the moment a user engages that tweet it becomes a post that can thus be discussed.

I think that could work. Just spitballin here

Nothing beats brainstorming.

I was thinking of a simple immutable back up service.

But creating a fluid two-way communication channel between Twitter (back end) and Hive is tricky if you want anyone using any Hive front end or Twitter to have an equal opportunity to engage. If it has to be more or less a one-way street, then I'd prefer to see a funnel from Twitter to Hive than vice versa.

the ability to save your tweets on the blockchain by using a tag is useful. But that's beside the point, the point is that this isn't an open blockchain for innovation.

You're fucking clueless. You have no idea how the conversation started. If it were up to you, you'd be on your knees in front of them while the system continues to get spammed.

Piss off lonely soldier.

Here we go. Flag me harder, daddy. I wanna make 69. Giggity.

I would have zero issue w you if you were not trying to apply a hypocritical standard to others. You know this. I know this.

And save you energy on the insults. Not like I have an ego that is susceptible to it.

Tell ya what. I will do an analysis on your comment spam rewards. You burn it and then I will gladly shut my face.

I mean I reckon you turned another leaf and, if that be the case, props and I will eat my humble pie. But if you wanna go strong arm stake flex, we can play some games.

I'd prefer peace but am ready for war. Yeah I get that you think I am a douche bag but tell me I'm wrong about your comment spam. You know what you did so maybe come to terms that I am one of the few that will actually call you on it. Tbh if I am doing some sketchy shit. I'm grateful for peeps that will call me on it so I can a better person.

I can be your asset but likewise can be a helluva thorn in that side if you so choose.

I never denied spamming, that doesn't mean I don't have the right to destroy their spam service like I did.

Bring it on, little bitch. You have no stake, you have little following, you're nobody but some EX Navy boy.

Btw MARINES generally don't take kindly to being called a soldier but that's alright.

If I would have wanted to be a soldier, I would have joined the Army and wouldn't have had to endure the Crucible.

I don't really care but just something to help you in the future when interacting with my fellow Devil Dogs. I earned my EGA on Mt Motherfucker for the title.

Ah, always took you for a little sailer boy...soldier.

Surprised you just figuring this out.

My last contribution to HIVE will likely by @hive-dr (Hive Downvote Rewards - intended for legitimate downvotes against things we can all agree are bad i.e. plagiarism, spam etc not this Bernie ideological and vindictive flagging bullshit.)

It does seem true what you say about the social club. Feel like I've dances around the outer rim but never been truly in but tbh if this is they sort of thing they tolerate namely the hypocrisy of Bernie who, in all frankness, should have been flagged back to the negatives a LONG time ago for his flagrant comment spam and reward pool manipulation. (Oh the irony of him running abuse reports is palpable).

I am like a MFing 🐘. I remember shit and I remember a lot of his. Yeah he helped us out against a revenge flagging farmer a long time ago but then later on he threatens us w retaliation if we flagged him. Reminds me of this ol meme.

dqhe5g.jpg

Anyways, I'm done kissing his ass. After HDR, I'm done with HIVE. Just way too many insufferable and narcissistic fuckwits for me to deal with.

I'm already envisioning a superior technology and have it conceptually. Maybe it's a good chance for our kind to collaborate. The best justice is to build our own dreams without his kind of tyranny. Then we can watch their corrupt empire crumble.

I still like a number of folks here but the hubris of others is just too much. I've grown gray dealing w it for almost 4 years. Enough is enough

And I don't care if he gets butthurt and flags me. He won't have an argument and I just need to do a little bit of work w beem into his post history to show the comment spam that he did not decline rewards on and steemcleaners no other whale did jack shit about.

The irony that those ill gotten stake is being used to antagonize another use under the pretense of spam fighting is not lost on me.

Unfortunately for you, nobody cares about your opinion, little man.

I'm currently out and about so I can't leave a good full response . But I have a lot to say in this topic. And I agree with you that a few people with a lot of money and power have the ability much like Justin sun did on steem to ruin a great idea for everybody.

The very same people who spoke up about how Justin Sun wrecking steem, are now performing the same action gear on hive. And the sad thing is I don't even know if they're aware of the irony of it.

It's not right in the least.
Is a good old boys club.

I would encourage you not to leave however. But focus efforts on those projects and those voices that are under served.

Feel free to hit me up and let's talk more.

Same shit, different site. Always the same names being mentioned when it comes to trashing profiles. This gets so tiring to hear about this continued behaviour, what a prick.

Sorry, but you're overreacting here. I'm pretty sure that if enough people saw value in the current form of dbuzz, they'd counter the downvotes. But since this isn't happening, I'd advise dbuzz to overthink their business model. Sharing tweets simply to Hive is useless and really just creates spam on the blockchain level. On the other hand, a real microblogging platform would be cool.

Fuck off. For one, people need his vote to be witness. Second there are about 10 people on this whole blockchain who can counter his votes.

Downvotes are killing for the mainstream to accept steem or hive. I never really understood this concept nor that of quality content.

It's not downvotes per se. It's downvotes not used as they were intended (to counter spam, farming, plagiarism rather than a means to satiate ego)

You really think people use downvote only for these things?

Please, it's same everywhere. Check reddit for example.

I look forward to Blurt for lack of downvotes. The problem is still that existing stake will likely still be a continued problem there as well.

I agree. Bullies with voting bots got me to stop posting on steem. And I don't post here because they came here and left steem. I was a big Larimer fan but you are right. To be truly decentralized, you need thousands of nodes. I've been buying back into more decentralized projects.

But you are right DPOS lost this war of social networks.

Not sure where you see this, but I see them as image.png +46 REP

and certainly not censored. at least not on pharesim node

They got bullies into closing their site and got the downvotes taken out.

We're going to suspend the D.BUZZ site for now. We are reviewing the feedback from the community and see many of their concerns. We will review the feedback and make changes to the platform and service to be more in line with the community's wishes. I will be posting later today with more details.

The main reason why we went offline is that @nathansenn discovered that our Buzz's were showing up in people's feeds (thank you @unconvinced). That wasn't intentional, and the site needs to be re-worked now.

Having said that, we are re-grouping and @nathansenn has actually indicated that he'll get more involved . . @nathansenn is a blockchain developer and is interested in making the internet + world, more decentralized.

Our rep was downvoted to negative but @likwid upvoted our posts, essentially bringing us back.

There might have also been some negotiations with @xxxxxxxxxx by other major stakeholders, I'm not sure . . but @nathansenn and @dbuzz both of their rep scores back.

I don't think it's such a bad thing for developers and companies to get such quick feedback from a system. Most places, devs spend a lot of time guessing at marketing, figure out how to advertise, and all kinds of other money sinks

On Hive, you can try an idea, see what people think, tweak it, and come back quick. It's the magic of layer zero! It wasn't just ngc that didn't like dbuzz's vision - check the hive chat

It is a rough feeling when a business decision doesn't work out, but business leaders will make different decisions to bring success; Get rich quick scammers will abandon

Seems like in your mind, scammers/spammers should be allowed to just keep spamming and scamming without anyone stopping them. Hopefully that is just a temporary emotional response and not a thought that continues

It is good for bad things to fail so they can be rebuilt into something better. Nothing should be "too big to fail"

Uh, this seems like an over-reaction. But if that's how it's gonna be, goodbye.

Well...

Bye.

I have been following this situation. Just my opinion here, not saying I am right so here goes... Those account with large Hive investments Have Power. They have ideas about how Hive should be and have the power to affect change....I admire them for taking action. You also have your vision about Hive should be. You do not have have an equivelent Hive investment, and not enough power to negate those that do.
So you are frustrated and you want to quit, give up...
You assume that the only power to be had on the Hive blockchain is to have large stake...
Out in the real world the same hierarchys exist as do here on Hive... Out in the real world there are many manifestations of Power...There were people who belived in things and wanted to change the world and found their power... The only challange to power is power.. Think Womens rights,Jesus,MLK,Gandi, The US revolutionary war, Gay marriage in the US etc etc.
Dont give up on things you believe in. None of us are victims. We do the best we can with the resources we have. While we may lose many battles we pave the way to win the war.
How does this situation relate to other situations in your life? Have you ever felt powerless to make right things you thought were wrong? Did you give up and quit fighting?

Just trust your overlords. This isnt an open blockchain. Its an oligarchy.

is there somewhere I can follow you off chain? send me an Instagram DM, I've always found your opinions interesting

OMG May 2020 was like the bottom, the ATL of HIVE I think. Ouch!!