10 Quotes on Writing by Dan Brown

in #quotes6 years ago

1. “I begin the process with some general ideas and themes—for example, Dante, Florence, overpopulation. Before beginning to write, I spend a lot of time researching the topics I’ve chosen. Once this initial phase of exploratory research is complete, I use the information to begin outlining and writing the novel. As the story gets tightened, the research continues, and new discoveries often pull me in unexpected directions, causing me to add another twist or two.”   

2. “An opening that immediately propels you into the action with no time to catch your breath.”   

3. “I write slowly. I actually write quickly, but I throw out so much material.”   

4. “I still get up every morning at 4 A.M. I write seven days a week, including Christmas. And I still face a blank page every morning, and my characters don't really care how many books I've sold.”   

5. “Do not to use too many adjectives, to get to the point."   

6. “Create something and throw it away be anyone can see it. Repeat the process until you write something you can’t bear to throw away.”   

7. “The dramatic interest of your story increases exponentially when you use a setting that is a source of fascination itself.”   

8. “Creating a sense of urgency in your writing helps to propel the story forward. Even if you aren’t writing a suspense, if there is a sense of time passing and pressures mounting readers will feel more compelled to get to the end of your novel.”   

9. “Create situations in your novel that keep readers in a heightened state of uncertainty and wanting to know what comes next and your audience will be more invested in your story.”   

10. “Make revision a playful process. Ask yourself ‘what would happen if I re-wrote this entire chapter from this secondary character’s point of view?’ Turn the process into a game to unlock new creative potential in the words you already have on the page.   

Dan Brown  

Daniel Gerhard Brown was born June 22, 1964, Exeter, NH. Brown is an American author novelist, best known for The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. His books have been translated into 56 languages, and sold over 200 million copies.      

 “Sometimes a change of perspective is all it takes to see the light.” ~ Dan Brown   

Follow. Up-Vote. Resteem.

@smackit


Image Source:

https://prodimage.images-bn.com/cimages/0000000893877_p0_v3_s467x700.jpg   

Image Source:

https://www.livemint.com/rf/Image-621x414/LiveMint/Period2/2017/11/18/Photos/Sundayapp/[email protected]   

Image Source:

 https://steemit-production-imageproxy-thumbnail.s3.amazonaws.com/U5dsFWET1BAAgcvRsNfNtmaYAerSepk_1680x8400 


Sort:  

Dan Brown is one of the few male authors whose work I really love. Usually, I simply relate more to the work of female authors and/or female characters. But, Dan Brown writes some amazing tales.

@stephmckenzie

I have never read his works. I have no preference if author is male or female, but I do agree that most stories with a female protagonist seem to be better stories, I don't know why.

Thank You

I think I relate more to female authors/protagonists because I AM a female. I've read books written by men, from the male point of view, and they just don't engage me as much, because they are told from a male perspective that I don't totally grasp. I think it's probably the same for men reading from the female perspective. Dan Brown is one of the few exceptions. His male characters transcend the gender perspective for me.