Pets Over the Rainbow Bridge - by Sunscape

in #rainbowbridgelast year

rainbow-bridge-.png

As Valentines Day approaches I can not help but remember fondly the pets that we have had to say goodbye to. If you are an animal lover the way that my husband and I are I am sure that you often think of your furry family members. I don't think many days go by without a fond memory of one of them popping into my head.

I was looking through many of my files of photos today as I am freeing up some space on the computer. When I got to my pets folder I decided it was time to let go of the hundreds that I have taken over the years. If you are like me, the camera is never too far away and a great way to save those special moments.

Today I decided to do this post in remembrance of those dear fur babies that have crossed over the "Rainbow Bridge". I have chosen 4 photos of each one of the pets we have had the privilege of loving over the past 30 years.

Sandy

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-6.jpg

I was doing a craft fair way back in the early 80s when a woman came by my booth with a red wagon full of Cocker Spaniel puppies. Now, how could one ever resist a beautiful baby puppy? Needless to say one of those puppies came home with me that day. It was the first pet that my husband and I had together. After many wonderful years with Sandy by our side, we had to say goodbye as he passed at 15 years old.

Whizzpurrzz

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-4.jpg

Whiz, as we nicknamed him, came to us from a litter of cats my mom had. It had been quite a while since Sandy passed and the house was way too quiet so we took on a kitten. He was the first cat of many in this home and we were just like parents having a newborn baby. Of course, as with all our animals, we spoiled him tons. Whiz became the old man of the house until he died at 18 years of age.

Lady

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-2.jpg

Lady was a rescue Sheltie that I just happened to find one day on the web. She had been used as a breeder dog and had outlived her usefulness. So the people surrendered her to the animal shelter and she had been there for a few weeks. When I went to see her they said she was scheduled the next day to be euthanized. I called my husband to let him know and he said if I felt like bringing her home that it was okay with him. We nurtured her back to health and enjoyed her precious personality for 3 more years. She passed due to heart failure and died peacefully next to us both. We believe her to have been about 11 years old at the time.

Rufus

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-3.jpg

Rufus lived on the street behind our home and decided that he enjoyed spending time on our porch more than being at his real home. One day his owners came to our house and asked us if we would take him on as our own. They were going to have to move into a senior living complex that did not take cats.

So, of course, Rufus must have known ahead of time and that is why he made our house his new residence. He was just waiting for our final approval of his choice. Now, how is that for animal instincts kicking in? He was now the senior cat in the house and had to have special steps to climb into bed and onto his favorite sleeping spot on the porch. We had to put him down at 19 years of age when he had trouble walking and standing on his own.

Tucker

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-1.jpg

Meet Tucker who had the most beautiful green eyes. He was another rescue from a local shelter. He had been surrendered back 2 times by different families that had adopted him. Apparently, they could not handle his constant meowing. Tucker did not want to be an inside cat at all. He would pace the floors crying to go outside and that did not go well with his first owners.

Well, there was no way I could leave that cat sitting in a cage after he purred and licked my hands upon meeting me. Tucker was one of three cats in the house now and he finally had a forever home. He was so happy that we let him be the outdoor cat he was meant to be. He was a constant hunter and always on the prowl throughout the neighborhood. He loved greeting everyone and often visited the neighbors for treats.

Every night Tucker was my bed buddy and slept above my head on my pillow. He was the sweetest, most loving cat that I had ever had the pleasure of having. I am not sure how old he was as it escapes me now, but, I know he was over 14 years old.

CoCo

pets-hive-rainbowbridge-5.jpg
This was my husband's constant shadow. The two of them were inseparable from the day we bought her from a local breeder. She was a Maltese-Shitzu mix and oh my goodness was she too darn cute. Of course, my husband spoiled her constantly. She was his pride and joy and did everything with him. Her favorite was taking their afternoon walks together around the neighborhood then upon returning back home they had a special treat time on the porch.

It was a tragic day when CoCo departed just before her 15th birthday. Of all of the pets that have blessed our home, she was the hardest to say goodbye to. We buried her last year next to the back porch where she loved to watch the squirrels and chipmunks come for peanuts daily. At one time we had 4 cats and 2 dogs together in our home and we could not have been a happier clan.

Our house is now down to one cat, Chej'u, she is the Ragdoll that my son blessed us with. His children were so allergic to her that she ended up at our house, well, of course, that is our story, right? Currently, she is 14 years old and doing well as the only cat in the house. However, she is not happy with our newest addition, "Mika". My husband missed his CoCo so much that my niece surprised him with another Maltese-Shitzu puppy to love and cuddle with. She flew her to him all the way from South Dakota as a surprise this last summer.

Valentine's Day is not just about the people we love but also a wonderful time to lovingly remember those fury companions that have shared our lives with unconditional love. I hope you all have fond memories this Valentine's day of those you have had to say goodbye to.

The Rainbow Bridge

Where the friends of man and woman do run,
When their time on earth is over and done.
For here, between this world and the next,
Is a place where each beloved creature finds rest.
On this golden land, they wait and they play,
Till the Rainbow Bridge they cross over one day.
No more do they suffer, in pain or in sadness,
For here they are whole, their lives filled with gladness.
Their limbs are restored, their health renewed,
Their bodies have healed, with strength imbued.
They romp through the grass, without even a care,
Until one day they start, and sniff at the air.
All ears prick forward, eyes dart front and back,
Then all of a sudden, one breaks from the pack.
For just at that instant, their eyes have met;
Together again, both person and pet.
So they run to each other, these friends from long past,
The time of their parting is over at last.
The sadness they felt while they were apart,
Has turned into joy once more in each heart.
They embrace with a love that will last forever,

Rainbow Image and Poem Source

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

What a nice tribute to all your friends. They were some really special souls.

Thank you very much. I have been thinking of them all lately and it just felt good to share about them all. Have a great day.