My trading fails

in #rambling6 years ago

PicardDoubleFacepalm-1.jpg

It is never fun to admit you messed up

I was one of those lucky guys who bought NEO when it was still Antshares.

Good for you, you might think

Well...kind of.

I shuffled it a bit to get more ANTs into my stack and it worked quite well as one day the ANTs got legs and ran away.

Way too fast for me to catch it again.

Meaning I sold and expected it to buy in again a bit lower as I have done before but this time my buyback price was not achieved anymore and it just kept rising.

I still made some $/Satoshi on NEO and I am still holding some but it still feels like a lost while in reality it is "just" a missed boot.

The same goes for Lisk. I bought a bunch at around 1$ and was excited when it went up to 4$ and took some profits. Maybe too much as it kept rising and rising and I sold all y whole bag the way up. It went up to 40$ at one point but my bag was empty when it passed 10$.

I keep reminding me

No one ever went broke by taking profits

This is true but missed gains hurt.

Now I dont trade as much. I take some profits but I have a hodling bag which I do not touch and a bag for trading.

I see myself as an investor more than a trader. I sell some news here and there but mostly I am just hodling.

I had to admit to myself that I dont really have a plan of what I am doing and blindly following signals into coins I dont know is not really my cup of tea.

You fail and next time you fail a bit better

steem dream.gif

Sort:  

It’s one of those moments , it has happened to me but I always tell myself not to let greed get in the way . Be happy you weren’t in loss instead

that is very true

gains are gains and I am happy to have them but sometimes....the greed is strong in this one...

I think that feeling I know! @flipstar
I have a few coins in savings mode but that happened once or twice I sold it and at the moment it went up not an hour passed and it just went up and since then I said I will not sell! the market is falling is red and my head explodes and I say I do not sell!

HODLE! :-)

In every trader life this moment comes for sure .I also face the same .

yes probably...still sucks:-)

yeah,,You fail and next time you fail a bit better..
I appreciate with you,,Thanks for sharing,,I hope you overcome it as soon as possible..
@upvoted

never give up,,Be patient and try what you do!!!

Ouch .................that must've hurt. NEO and LISK both.

For me I sold my Dash and then it rose to 1.3K

puh that had to hurt as well....the question of course remains if I would just hodle and never took profits

I am still holding on tight. There are quite a few bags I have been holding since Jan '18 but the thing is that they are all decent coins.

I plan to stick with them till the end and HODL like a maniac. As for my life - I wasn't living like a king before and I am definitely not living like a beggar even after the losses I took.
I'll ride this bitch even down to zero, just so I could tell the whales that they didn't get their paws on my coins.

same here now for the most part.

I am taking some profits now and then to rebalance or free liquidity but I do not touch my hodle bags anymore.

Those will make me live like a King or a Beggar but they will change my life :-)

I believe Neo was the best and easiest game last year. It was over-hyped and delivered. :) Then again, almost all coins made 10x+.. but I was a happy hodler from AntShares, too. Now I stay away from it.. I just do not trust it enough. The Chinese government makes too many FUD announcements for my taste.

Yes...I am starting to have doubts about NEO as well....

NEO really delivered but as you say in $ almost any coin did this

You're learning from mistakes :D

hopefully :-)

That happens trading is all about learning new experiences :)

An investor must have a target asset mix depending on his targets, horizon and riskappetite. ( Says a retired pension fund manager/ actuary).

How do you set your target for how many coins you want to have?

Do you say I always want to have xx% in BTC fe and adjust every month, 3 month or so?

In my case (age 55 ) my mix is 40% cash, 40% deposits or gvt bonds, 10% stocks, and 10% gold and silver. My horizon is 12 years and not to much Risk as I have quit my job. I bought the gold coins in two years time and do not rebalance. Total assets above 400k euro. Gold is above 10% now due to increase in value. Should sell a little.

@flipstar
try to do this

Image Source

hehe in the past, i lost almost 25% of my capita because of BTG (Bitcoin Gold) hahaha,,,,

hahhaah I do this a lot :-)

puh that got to sting but it is only a loss if you sell, right?

NEO was one of my best buys... got in when it was antshares as well. Regret not taking more profit at $150. Now it's in my HODL-ing bag lol.

yeah...could have been mine as well but I arrived with a small bag on top. Now I am holding around 10% of what should have been one of my best buys but woulda shoulda coulda never helped :-)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

NEO is a blockchain platform and cryptocurrency designed to build a scalable network of decentralized applications. great !!!
Congrats..You learned!!
"Failure is the pillar of success"

1 NEO=$59.52 USD =0.00725159 BTC

After buying, get good profit. It is very happy.

keep the spirit and keep trying friends

The same for Antshares and for me also Dash....