Why We All Need A Little kanye

in #random8 years ago (edited)

I was walking with a couple of my friends for lunch to the trendy food trucks in Santa Monica, CA and the subject of Kanye West came up. The topic arose because it was all over the news that Kanye West will unveil his video later that evening in LA at the Forum.                                             

Me and a few of my girlfriends are crossing the street , talking, and one of my new friends, says she loves Kanye West. I was floored. I almost got hit by a car in the process. My new friend is a smart young lady. This is the first person that I met that said outloud that they loved Kanye West. Her exact words were, “I love Kanye West and I am a big fan.”  I couldn’t believe it.
                                              

How could I be friends with someone who likes Kanye West?


Saying that you are a fan of Kanye means you might like his music. Ok, there a couple of songs that he had way back when, like the song “Good Life” which is one of my favorites. The lyrics  are “I go for mine…... Welcome to the good life ...etc. “ I always dance to that song. I love that good positive energy of the song. It’s fun, like music should be. Kanye has had quite a lot more songs and 21 one Grammy’s.                                                                      

But, liking Kanye West as a person, that’s a whole different story. How can you like someone  who, who goes by the nickname Yeezy, who thinks he is the best, better than anyone else, and he has to say it ALL the time. Or it might be his actions, in 2009, taking VH1 awards out of the Best Female Artist winner, because he thought someone else deserved it. Let’s not talk about the Beck incident. West again was mad that Beyonce again didn’t win for Album of the Year. Mind you, he never even listened to Beck. I could go on, but I can’t say exactly what it is. Take that back, I know what it is.. His lack of humility.
 

My greatest pain in life is that I will never be able to see myself perform live- Kanye West.

Legends in music like Sting, Madonna, Prince, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, and Elton John never announced,  I am the number one rockstar on the planet- Kanye West Kanye has 23.6 million followers. Somebody likes him. Is it possible the people who say they hate him, really secretly like him?Should we all promote ourselves constantly and believe we are better than everyone else? Is that what makes him interesting? 

 Maybe we all need a little Kanye in our personality, not to the extreme, but just a touch.  Kanye does what the majority of us don’t have the nerve to do -Speak our greatness, and believe in ourselves even when no one else does. 

I can still be her friend even though, she likes Kanye West.
#kanyewest #famous #video #musiclife news philosopy writing art music psycology random kanyewest kanye famous video comedy funny 

Sort:  

Isn't this just part of rap culture in the United States? Lots of other artists talk about how rich and great they are in their songs. "Give it to me" by Timbaland, Justin Timberlake and Nelly Furtado comes to mind. Also, look at Trump... He can't stop talking about how rich and great he is and half the population supports him. Perhaps it's just American culture in general. It's quite interesting to compare that to Japanese culture, where it's considered more respectable to self-deprecate yourself.

Hi there! Yes, some most rappers talk about how rich they are- in a song- or how great a rapper they are in comparison to other rappers- in a song --alot of times in fun competition. But ,Kanye is alittle different, he speaks to another level on how great he is constantly. If you happen to catch one of his interviews, you will hear the difference. Trump came to mind also. I don't know any details about Japanese culture. Thanks for responding.

I think Kanye does listen to Beck. After that incident, a reporter asked him if he had ever listened to Beck, and he said "C'mon man, I love Beck. But he ain't have album of the year."

I haven't really followed Kanye's music for a while... But I loved College Dropout. That album has a lot of originality and definitely talks about things which you don't normally hear in rap lyrics.

I liked College Dropout too. That was a good album. I'm not following his music now days either. I didn't know said he listens to Beck. Thanks for posting that video. I believe that he listens to Beck, because most artists listen to all types of music and get ideas. Thanks for your comment.