You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Truth be told, it’s hard not to be jealous.

in #rant6 years ago

I so very much understand your pain because I feel it too. I am quite new here and you have definitely put in many more months of effort and hard work into this compared to me but I am seeing the trend from where I am. I have written a few posts but unfortunately I have hardly received any upvotes other than the voting services I paid for. I understand that it takes time to build an audience and I will keep working had to increase my follower count and I am confident that I will succeed eventually, but when I read something like this I really feel that the system here hugely favours money power (SP is money earned either through investment or through work and those who joined earlier have earned a lot when it was cheap - nothing against them as they had the vision to recognise the possibilities before others) that will become a problem in the long run as new users will be put off by the amount of hard work needed as the price of acquiring SP continues to increase.

Sort:  

The frustrating thing is that follower count matters very little compared to WHO is following you. One whale who regularly upvotes You helps your pay out more than a thousand minnows. No matter how successful I get I can’t justify this and you are totally right that it will make it harder and harder to succeed here. That’s not to say it isn’t worth sticking around and working at it because there is still an awesome community, but you really have to stay balanced otherwise you tire yourself out. I would love to change this place around and my two main goals for succeeding here are first, to shamelessly realize my own financial success (read: not be poor as shit) and to help other community artists and writers do the same, this has been my goal before steemit and now it’s right here in front of me and it’s like “arggg why don’t you work like you are supposed to” hahaha

And then I do great on my post complaining hahaha