Truth be told, it’s hard not to be jealous.

in #rant6 years ago (edited)

I want to be honest about how I feel. I’m jealous. I don’t want to be jealous and I’m doing what I can NOT to be jealous. Still, the only way I’m going to get over these feelings is to be honest about them. Take this as an invitation to be honest as well.

963E2F4E-F354-48D6-BE80-418EE50D65EC.jpeg
image link

Sometimes I feel that my natural and relaxed attitude towards my artistic output puts me at a disadvantage. I don’t want it to. I believe in being natural. I could have been famous at least 3 times over with my music but I don't like to do things that don't feel natural to me. I don’t want to treat everything as an opportunity to take advantage of. I don’t want all my actions to be part of my own plot for personal success. I don’t want to have to fit inside of some widely accepted idea of professional. I don’t want to always set a schedule, always make a plan and think about profit and gain whenever I do anything. I don’t want to kiss ass. I don’t want to wait for those with more influence to realize that I’m “providing value” as they say. I don’t want to keep my opinions and philosophies silent because it won’t impress the whales. Still I don't want to watch as all my peers become dolphins without me.

I have a community to support and I feel owe them more than $0.25 upvotes. I also deserve to have it easier.

I have amazing support from lots of amazing people. I’ve looked at the comments to some of my posts in awe. I feel so honored to inspire so much conversation sometimes and to receive so much sincere feedback. I love the friends I’ve made here and anyone whose supported me in passing, so this is not a complaint towards you, not by any means.

Still I feel frustrated. I feel frustrated that my success depends mostly on having a few dolphins and big minnows, that great success would depends on more dolphins and whales, that so much is dependent on auto-vote, and that I find myself missing a lot of great posts by friends because My payouts suffer when I don’t do the rounds and try to impress more people that I have a high degree of competency and dedication towards the community.

I also don’t want to start relying on autovote even more to support users I want to support, but as I feel I need to look towards bigger accounts to find my own support, I feel less time for the users who need my support.

I feel frustrated that more users with large accounts don’t notice and invite me into their circles.

I’m craving my own success, but I am also craving the ability to help others on the platform do well.
I see users who started around the same time as I did, @mobbs, @suesa, @reggaemuffin, @heymattsokol, @guyfawkes4-20 really killing it. There are new users like @axios and @spiritualmax whose positivity and quality content is really allowing them to shine. They all deserve it! No doubt!

I am jealous of all these people though, I need to be honest about it. We’ve all managed to show the community that we have something to offer, that we deserve success, but they’ve all managed to impress more users with higher Steem power, early enough that they don’t get tired and become lazy about their content. For months I tried to do everything organically, to avoid appealing to groups like @adsactly and @sndbox for help. Eventually when I saw everyone else taking off with the help of such groups, I made a compromise and applied but both were full already.

I try to focus on what I can do rather than being jealous, but sometimes I tire myself out or hit s brick wall.

Perhaps they’re work is more valuable than mine, but in the end, it’s really just about how much steem power your supporters have. I didn’t get as far as I have because a bunch of minnows liked me. Those minnows happened to work for @ocd. I got a huge bump with help from @cryptohustlin who showed my work to a few whales who upvotes it once or twice. I get consistent payouts thanks to a few friends who believe in me and put me on autovote. It isn’t about how many upvotes you get, it’s about whose upvotes you get and who has you on autovote, it sucks.

I don’t think this post will do much to impress the larger accounts who seem to believe that you should just work your ass off forever and shut up and be thankful and one day they’ll notice and throw you a bone. I’ve spent 6 months participating here full time, 17 weeks on the Deadpost and we still can’t pull a consistently high payout despite tons of minnow support, unless a dolphin or whale notices...which they SOMETIMES do.

I don’t like going around to promote on others posts but I kind of feel at a loss here and might have to start spamming links. I may have to start using autovotes a bit more strategically in order to get some dolphins to do the same...I don’t know. I thought I shouldn’t give so much of my upvotes to bigger members of the community because I want to save it for those who deserve it more. I just know all my friends who are struggling deserve more than a tiny upvote from me and I deserve more for myself and I am trying my hardest to find a way to make it happen.

I’m mostly frustrated about the fact that Steem has caught up to SBD and so it will take a lot more to power up. I feel like I’m missing a chance to be able to carry lots of weight here and really make a difference.

The Deadpost Initiative should be trending already and i want to make sure that happens. I do not want to use cheap tactics like forcing people to resteem in order to be eligible or giving sbd to all participants so more people join. I want to make sure my influence grows so I can spread support to smaller members of the community who are struggling because they don’t fit in with the groups that have lots of dolphins and whale support.

I love anyone who puts the time and effort into reading and commenting on my articles, I’m sorry for the whining, I’m just trying to be honest about these feelings which I sometimes try to brush off to the side,only to find that they come back stronger next time. I’m thankful for my payouts and everyone who upvotes and resteemed. I’m just quite ambitious and see an opportunity here and I’m trying my best to make sure it doesn’t pass us by and that we don’t need to sacrifice our own way of doing things to achieve success.

Thanks for your continued support, I’m always here if you need me. If you have something you want to get off your chest or if you want to tell me I’m a spoiled brat, come find me, we can talk it out.

I will catch up with all my comments on all my posts later, I want to cheer myself up first and come back at your with more energy.

Sort:  

Somewhat predictably, I totally agree with you and I also sometimes suffer from jealousy. 😁

I too had the experience a couple of days a go, seeing someone who started around the same time as me, rocket ahead. She mostly posts photos with a single sentence but someone has given here a nice chunk of SBD so now her upvote is worth something and her self upvotes (which I personally have no problem with for minnows) means she'll get further and further "ahead".

I totally disagree that nothing you write is "special". All that really means is you're not playing the "post what earns money just for the money game".

Please don't change what you write or narrow yourself to a contrived niche. Maybe you need to be a bit more strategic and judge yourself less for it but surely you can succeed doing what you're doing.

If you can't then that means I can't. And if I start posting stuff just for the money I'll leave. I've played that game for too long outside of here. My interests don't fit into one niche. The people I follow don't fit into one niche. I don't like cats!

I'm trying to find a balance between being strategic and not selling myself out by what I post. If I can't make that work I'm off. I can make more money a lot faster in other internet stuff I've been involved in.

Could you post less frequently but do more with those posts? I have no idea as, as you know, I'm new here. But I'm adjusting my strategy as I go along and getting better results. But, of course, we're talking peanuts so, long term I'm not sure if it will make any difference.

Hope you've managed to find something to cheer yourself up with and once again before I leave - I totally disagree that nothing you write is "special".

It’s exactly that kind of experience which drives me nuts! Actually if it were only the people. I listed doing well I might take more responsibility for it. Thinking my content isn’t good enough or I’m not consistent enough with my random topics, but we all know it’s more about WHO follows you then how many follow you.

Thank you for your unwavering support! You are a perfect representation of who I write for, I want to succeed writing for you and people like you and I won’t give that up, even if I shitpost (which I may) I will try to put something meaningful in it.

I used to put a lot more into ALL of my posts without any shitposts, and there would be so many that were barely noticed, I felt like I could just keep a private blog somewhere and just send it to 2 people and it’d be the same thing. I like posting often and recklessly, it’s exciting.

I also think I write some pretty special stuff sometimes, but it means much more that you think so! <3

I can understand the jealousy and the ire. I'm not quite at my one month mark; but I've seen it.

The completely idiotic one word post, or the meme that gets $50+ in upvotes, EVERYTIME one like it rolls around.

Yet here sits your careful crafted piece, that you think witty, and wonderfully worded. Titular and tantalizing, and yet aside from your friends and the few followers that you've managed to garner a few bucks... IF you're lucky.

I agree with @suesa however. Niches are key.
I'm trying to capture my own with my pieces of writing; and I'm still feeling it all out. How I want to be known; and what for.

Patience is indeed a virtue apparently; I read an article on here yesterday about murdering Patience and how she didn't deserve it... and now homicide is stuck in my head since that personification was made and hammered home... ANYWAY off track.

Hopefully finding your own niche, or a niche to try and hammer your round peg into that square hole will help with flow and vote traffic; at least enough to assuage those feelings of jealousy; that ugly green bastard. Shrug it off and keep going man; all things in time, think the Long Game!

As for the Deadpost Init; I'm unaware but I'll give it a look-see.
Cheers!

There are many kind sof frustrating, of course I always try to keep a positive outlike, sometimes I slip. Sometimes it’s more than jealousy, you compare yourself to yourself. The posts that I put so much of my energy into to help others will get $3 and a Whitney post like this one gets $40 haha, should I whine more? I don’t think so, but i find all my problems at steemit are similar to problems I’ve had in 3D. I just kind of play to a different drum, and eventually stuff works out but it’s always a much longer road than others to get there.

Thanks for the support!

I understand you. Believe it or not, I'm often jealous too. Not when it comes to payout, but when it comes to who exactly supports me/others. So I can somewhat relate.

I was lucky, I was noticed. I screamed into the void and wasted my first 2 steemit months being in the chat almost all my waking hours. I still spend most of my free time there. That helped.

But I know you from the chat, so you're not one of the people who don't try to socialize.

I think your problem is content.

Now, don't get me wrong: I am not saying you're a bad writer. This post here is the first I've (knowingly) read by you (shame on me) and it's well-written and has a good flow. But it's nothing special.

I've scrolled through your posts of the last 16 days, just checking titles. The dead post initiative is cool, I've seen it before. But ofc nobody with high SP cares - their posts are rarely undervalued.

Your other posts look alright too, when just scrolling past - but mostly not "eye-catching". Some crypto things, some help for newbies, some personal thoughts. Might be all useful content, might all be written well.

But it's not what catches eyes.

Finding a niche is hard. And I'm not saying that, just because you found a niche you'd be getting higher payouts. This is steemit, without the right connections you basically get nowhere.

but

A niche might help you.

I hope you don't feel like I'm criticizing you or trying to invalidate your frustration, you're absolutely right to be frustrated. I hope to give you an idea of what might change things.

That's ok. I don't have any problems with anything you said. It's all very realistic advice given the situations of steemit.

"Of course nobody with high SP cares" - This is where my frustration comes from. Everyone talks about quality and "adding value" but I often feel they only want to support those who directly support them. I feel I've missed a lot of chances by helping those who need it more, rather than trying to use my upvote to make nice with some larger accounts. When all is said and done, success at steemit is all about auto-vote, if you get on a few big users auto-vote you are good to go. I spent a lot of time criticizing this and actually missed a lot of chances to get on a lot of people's autovote.

I often feel I'm not capitalistic enough for steemit...

I have a niche but it is one I created with other minnows without the support of any one with substantial power and without much monetary support to offer anyone. I was mistaken in thinking that there would be those with power who would like what we were doing enough to consistently support it. There are some who support it, but usually in passing. I felt I needed to do this because I really didn't feel myself in any of the other niches, I don't really agree with the way a lot of them do things, or in your case, it's just about different interests.

Your success comes from the fact that you contribute quality AND you fit into a niche that already has a substantial amount of power behind it. I totally understand if you don't frequent my blog, we have very different interests. There are powerful users who write about similar topics to me but most of them don't really spend much time looking at smaller users posts, even those who leave great comments, at best they have a few friends whose posts they check out, at worst they just post their own and auto upvote whoever is likely to give them good curation rewards. I could list those people but I won't.

As far as my own articles, I don't take offense because I have lots of good material that you haven't read. It's hard to be consistent though when so much of your high quality material goes unnoticed and you still manage to get a $9 payout on drunk posts about cat pics though.

Your advice is all greatly appreciated. I don't think there is anything I haven't heard before, but at least it's a reminder that my idealism and insistence on doing things my own way may be holding me back....which makes it even more frustrating but might be something I need to hear.

It's really hard to figure out....it really changes every hours... I mean, look, I got a $10 payout on this post. It's not bad, I'm obviously not a total failure at steemit, I just wish I could be as succesful as you guys without changing myself and how I do things.

Thank you so much for reading, even just once, it means something to me.

And so this is it.

it's a reminder that my idealism and insistence on doing things my own way may be holding me back....which makes it even more frustrating but might be something I need to hear.

I don't have to say much but that sentence is also a reminder for me as well.

It all comes down to steem power, if you are whale then you don't need to care about other voters because you will make money anyway.

You will get some hundred bucks for even a non worthy content, who is there to judge?

My writhing is kinda boring, hope you get the point.

It still needs work and time to get to this point tho. I didn't join as a whale and I never pandered to whales. Or at least I tried not to.
You need to get noticed once, by one person, who then upvotes you frequently. That's often the key to success.

And highly unfair, I say this as one of the lucky ones.

So do you think is better to spend time on the chat or on steemit leaving good comments?

Depends. Chatting is tedious, you'd have to be online almost constantly to make sure people remember you in more ways than just "I have seen this name before".
It's an option, but I think a less time-intensive way would be writing thoughtful comments. But I don't think there's a "one fits all" for this.

I can relate.... Thank you for your honesty with this. Truly. You got my tiny tiny upvote at my full power - whatever that is at this moment. This is not, sadly, a meritocracy, but it is what it is. Maybe one of these days initiatives like yours and ours (@IsleofWrite) would indeed be able to help those deserving minnows in meaningful ways, but alas, for now, it seems that we need to kiss the right ass.

Or the many smaller right asses :-)

Best to you and I'll follow to see how this plays out for you.

Well, this single post here has made about twenty times what the first eight chapters of my novel have made combined.

While it may be ironic that this post is paying so well compared to others on this blog, I don't think there's really any comparison to be made between your payout and his. You joined last month and this is literally your only interaction not on your own posts, while @whatamidoing has been blogging, interacting, and engaging in time-consuming activities that boost other members of the community.

That's not intended as a scolding, but merely to point out that you can't expect to come here and do well early on unless you're porting some massive following with you. And that if you expect to start earning more, you will need to go beyond your own content. A lot. And sadly, as this post points out, even that is no guarantee.

That said, I checked out your blog and your writing is good, and I'm not sure what group @whatamidoing had in mind, but you're welcome to The Isle of Write Discord server where we have a lovely community of creative types including many fiction writers (myself included).

Welcome to the platform and good luck to you :D

I recognize the irony here, I was not expecting to do so well on THIS post out of all of them. Trust me, I’ve been there too. I still don’t get any comments on my fiction, steemit is too oversaturated and the seven day payout limit encourages us all to keep going as readers and as contributors so I don’t think this is an ideal platform for fiction....some people make it work though. I’ve taken a break from fiction and hope that’s one day I can consistently make this kind of payout, then maybe my stories will get the attention I wish for them.

Do you know the discord for fiction writers? If not I’ll dig it up for you

I wonder if you've been by the Isle or seen the anthology project we are working on. We certainly aren't any whales I'm sorry to say, but I was recently directed to your Deadpost Initiative and it might be mutually beneficial to chat. I'm following now and will start linking your Deadpost posts in our server as well as going through them for possibly curatable fiction.

Thanks for all you do. I know it can be discouraging and I haven't done half what you apparently have here. Hopefully it's not so poorly rewarding forever. You definitely deserve more.

At least on steemit you are not paying for blog hosting or sitting on a pile of merchandise.

But, i do understand where you are coming from.
I could do what @papa-pepper does... but it just isn't me.
Its not that I don't have the knowledge, I got that in spades.
Its that I do not share my life, it is very secretive, and what I really want to do is exchange knowledge.

And thus, the article that took days to write is trounced by the quickly penned post about cat pictures.

Exactly, not all methods of "adding value" are easily classified or packaged into something bite sized.

I figured out in my first few days that holding contests were an easy way to gain attetention, but I don't like it, it feels cheap (which is not to say they're all useless, I think @papa-pepper puts a lot of effort into his contests and so they create a fun atmosphere) . I only do Deadpost cause I think its something the platform needs.

I knew using my own photos could help people relate and remember me quickly instead of slowly after coming across me a few times, but I am not really into pimping my life out on the internet.

I see that YEAH STEEMIT posts always do well and so does crypto related stuff, but I only post about those when I have something to say, crypto only now that I'm actually interested in it (where I wasn't before).

I always just want to let my cat start typing a post and add his picture when I see how my shitpost on him got a higher upvote than a lot of posts that I put hours into. This place is so extremely far from what it COULD be, but it still seems to be better that anywhere else on the internet. All I can do is try my hardest and let things play out how they will.

It's hard, this whole "adding value" thing, and the whole "being seen" thing. I've been add this for a year... and I still don't fully understand how things work around here. Every time I post, it is still with hope that what I post will be seen. I do have a handful of people who "support" me; most of them "late comers" with little influence.

I expect it's much the same thing as I experienced with blogs in the part: I don't really write much of anything with authenic meaning... and people were more interested in " story" than authenticity.

Yes, it’s very hard to “sell” authenticity and we are used to buying and selling. Also much is about timing and having the right set of eyes happen upon your work. Today I was lucky enough to be noticed by suesa who gave me a big boost and so acidyo noticed it and I’m good to go. I wish it wasn’t always but up to one or two people because I don’t really fit in to any of the cool crowds. No dolphins have put me on autovote...once again wish it wasn’t up to that. The problem is and always has been distribution of wealth, something most people don’t like to think about when they are doing well. Sp Delegation helps the community a bit, but the whole economy is still as lopsided as the world economy.

No more complaining for today, this post did well, I just have to hope the right eyes notice next time when I’m being positive and proactive and write something better than this! I enjoy yournwriting. Sorry I stopped popping in...spread thin...you know...steemit....

If you are feeling a bit jealous about others and how they are succeeding, do you ever notice yourself sitting in silence and thinking "@whatamidoing"?

Nah dude, that wa a one time thought while signing up, but that moment echos on into eternity

Just hang in there man, the pieces take time to fit together. Right now it's all falling into place, but slowly.
There's also MS PACC which, upon getting some traction, will bring huge number of people to the Awesome group.
After that, the Deadpost Initiative will get another boost.
It'll work out!
(Can relate about efforts seeming like going to vain btw!)

Thanks man! That’s exactly what I need to hear, things do fall into place slowly sometimes.

Yep, glad I could help in some way buddy!

Dude you got this man, with your follower count you are gonna be set for the long term. I haven't seen many of your posts but am following you now, so I will definitely be checking you out.

I know how you feel. I started the 1kSP program with @spiritualmax and he tore me up, over doubling my rate of growth. I'm right there with you though, I feel like these guys all deserve it. And I don't feel like pandering to the votes by producing content that doesn't fit me, I just want to do what I want to do.

I think time and innovation here are huge factors, if you can dedicate the time and get things set up great you will see success much faster. There are a ton of things I need to work on for personalizing and coming up with great content, and there's a ton of ideas I need to make happen that I think will boost me. But I have to go at my own speed.

Everyone is different, just own your uniqueness and keep the pedal down. Keep doing you and have complete faith in yourself. I believe in you brudda.

PS/disclaimer: That's a link to my blog, I think it could help for this type of feeling, because I felt that way today too. Usually I don't feel that way, but it hits most all of us, my dad was feeling like he couldn't gain any traction here as well. It's one of those things where I think we should be doing it for us, having a ton of fun with it. And whoever wants to tag along and support us is just icing. This is the first time I've ever really voiced my opinions on a platform, so even the small following I've built I really appreciate.

For what it's worth,

@jakeybrown

Thanks. I don’t like to pander to votes either, a lot of this frustration comes from the fact that It would take so little to turn steemit into a full time gig for me and I’ve done everything you are supposed to do, I’m a natural writer and community builder but I’ve catered mainly to minnows because they need it more. I get sick of hearing people say that you just need to keep at it and “add value” as if there’s isn’t s huge problem with the distribution of wealth.

Thanks for your comment, I will check it out in a bit. You rock!

Ya, without new minnows finding success the platform will never grow, so I think that definitely needs to be there. Finding a good balance, where you're also able to be involved with the content that you're interested in is a challenge. The distribution of wealth is really on a small percentage of people, and their posts make a lot more than anyone else's because people are looking for votes. I hope we see a change with this, but everyone wants to grow their acct, so I think somethings gotta give. Whales delegating really helps, but I'm not sure what else we could come up with to help redistribute some of the wealth other than letting it naturally happen, if it actually will.

The only solution I’ve come up with that I can contribute to is to grow myself and the people I know will pay it forward while being the change I want to see. It’s hard to balance because the two seem to be at odds sometimes,but not always.

Yo, just read your story about the guy who quit his job, nice writing, I feel like we have a lot in common. I'm currently at a job where I don't feel fulfilled and wanting to break out and do things I'm more passionate about like writing and blogging.

I'd love to talk to you about youre experience, it sounds like you quit your job a while back. Have you just been doing online work? I'll try and hit you up on discord. Sent you a small gift for the story(errrrr will be later, forgot I can't transfer sbd at work)

Thank for reading! I’ve quit my job a few times, every time was exciting.

We can talk about it on discord! Same name as here, send me a message!

awesome, sounds good! I'd love to hear about it, I'll message you next time I jump on. Sent you a small sbd gift

Very nice post. I voted. But deeply recommend you concentrate on positive goal. NOT being something is negative. Focus on BEING something will get you to a better place.

Yes, I fall of my horse sometimes when I put in a lot and feel it doesn’t go anywhere. I’ve been grinding for 3 months because steemit is the best thing I’ve got going right now as far as future prospects and I love it most of the time. I’m just a bit worn down I think.

I so very much understand your pain because I feel it too. I am quite new here and you have definitely put in many more months of effort and hard work into this compared to me but I am seeing the trend from where I am. I have written a few posts but unfortunately I have hardly received any upvotes other than the voting services I paid for. I understand that it takes time to build an audience and I will keep working had to increase my follower count and I am confident that I will succeed eventually, but when I read something like this I really feel that the system here hugely favours money power (SP is money earned either through investment or through work and those who joined earlier have earned a lot when it was cheap - nothing against them as they had the vision to recognise the possibilities before others) that will become a problem in the long run as new users will be put off by the amount of hard work needed as the price of acquiring SP continues to increase.

The frustrating thing is that follower count matters very little compared to WHO is following you. One whale who regularly upvotes You helps your pay out more than a thousand minnows. No matter how successful I get I can’t justify this and you are totally right that it will make it harder and harder to succeed here. That’s not to say it isn’t worth sticking around and working at it because there is still an awesome community, but you really have to stay balanced otherwise you tire yourself out. I would love to change this place around and my two main goals for succeeding here are first, to shamelessly realize my own financial success (read: not be poor as shit) and to help other community artists and writers do the same, this has been my goal before steemit and now it’s right here in front of me and it’s like “arggg why don’t you work like you are supposed to” hahaha

And then I do great on my post complaining hahaha

I resteemed because that's exactly my feelings xD

I think it's good to be honest with yourself and others. I'm sure jealousy is very common to experience here so bringing it up can clean up some of the space before it grows into bitterness.

I've also had feelings of jealousy but at the same time I've been lucky to catch some whalevotes even though they aren't regular. But that's fine, I'm not very regular either. Of course I could reach out to big users, and I do, if I find their content personally interesting and worth commenting.

I'm sure you'll figure it out.

I catch them sometimes too, I wasn’t expecting this to be one of them. It just always gets to me how 100 minnows don’t equal 1 whale, or even a dolphin most of the time. I also put all my time into steemit because I don’t really have much else going on at the moment, especially during winter. We just got kicked out of our studio (rent raised 5x) and I’m not feeling physically well enough to play guitar right now. I feel great steeming when i don’t put in more than comes out..I don’t want to say more than I get out of it, I’d be happy if I felt good people were proportionately benefiting from my activity when I’m not, but I really feel drained when I feel I need to go out fishing for whales to succeed... it’s not me, and I fully intend on succeeding. If one or two dolphins decided to give more regular support without asking for anything in return (that’s where I have the problem. I pay it forward more than I pay it back), I’d feel energy to keep plowing onward! Arg! Haha

Cheers brother!

Well, some of your minnow friends today might become whales in the future, not talking about me necessarily tho, but time will tell :D

Man. This is powerful.

I have never read you (I follow @suesa so tadaa :D ) and I don't even know you from the chat but I can relate to most things your pen has confessed.

Those of us who work hours on a piece then it misses the attention we thought it deserved, feel it. The most depressing thing about being an artist is not getting feedback on your work.

But I also believe we take different journeys in life and everything we do. I may not like where I am on steemit (which sometimes preys on my motivation to do more here) but its where I am and I can't change that overnight.

It can only be done with more hard work and that requires more time. Give yourself a break. Steem on :)

Very well said. I want to work to change it here which is where a lot of this drive to succeed comes from. My dream has always been to find success through my art without any major compromises and to help others do the same ....it’s laid out right in front of me here so it’s frustrating when it doesn’t work the way it’s supposed to. I’ve followed you as well. Let’s keep at it.

Patience is the virtue required & that's easy for me to say I have 5 months to catch you up before I have invested as much time. You are getting there softly slowly catchee monkey. Your progress is there to see, the value of your posts are gradually improving, your rep continues to move up & your content is worth reading.
There will be plenty of folk under who will be jealous of your achievements who is to say where we will all be in time to come. Just carry on down the same road look how far it has taken you already. Could you have imagined 6 months ago the success that you have already achieved?

Awesome reply, I have to agree with everything you said, except I could totally imagine myself being here. I was made for what steemit is supposed to be. If the algorithm curved to weaken the whalevotes and strengthen the minnow votes, I’d be in paradise! I understand there are probably those who are jealous of me,so it was very awkward to write this butbhad to try!

I feel you buddy and I wish I could give you a higher upvote. Then again, I know you are not talking to me here. Which doesn't mean that you aren't involving me in this rant. I feel like you are talking about me too. And I totally understand where the rant is coming from. This platform and the crypto world is an emotional rollercoaster and - in a way - it feels like the smaller Steemians need to suppress their emotions more than the bigger ones. Because - who knows - we might be flagged or hated or seen as complainers which doesn't help us to grow. And how can we help more people if we hardly grow? It's hard enough to help ourselves this way.

So, just like you, I am usually suppressing my emotions which isn't very healthy and actually something that I was trying to change lately, as I don't want to be depressed any longer.

I guess, sometimes you need to scream to be heard and if you're still not heard - or people start ignoring you again - at least you got it off your chest.

Kind of like screaming your lungs off at the windy seashore.

Have a great day my friend :>)

Big hug,

Vincent

I think we are not capitalist enough to do traditionally well here, just like in society. We need to build our own way, and if it doesn’t work, we may have to find somewhere else to go, but if we go, let’s go together. For now, here seems best.

Yes screaming apparently worked this time. One of the most frustrating things is the feeling that I if I want success here, I need to spend more time paying attention tovbig users which takes my time and energy off people I love and respect. I’ve gotten a few whales respect, but not yet their ongoing support, and sometimes it feels like you get one shot at that and I’ve already missed my shot with so many of them. Urgh. Haha I really love having you around

If I had enough capital I probably wouldn't spend any time on Steemit. I discovered this as a way out, to make money outside of the system. It took me some time to figure out that this place is very much its own kind of system though.

I totally get what you mean with your second alinea but - stubborn as I am - I will keep doing things my own way, the way that feels right. Only when that becomes too hard/ painful of a way to walk I will change my route.

And yes, let's not forget we aren't walking alone and walk together whenever we can. I will slowly try and make my way to Asia but I'll start out by taking a train to Berlin next Sunday ;>)

I hope you stick around when you do have enough. I will allow I probably won’t be as active, just picking a few minnows a month to help, writing once or twice a week and reading a few articles by good friends. Basically everything doing now but more relaxed.

Woah, going out to travel the world?

Most refreshing to hear you speaking from my heart once again. It's probably all our conditioning from the scarcity system sitting so deep, while we try to trust that there will be enough in steem for everybody who puts in the work.

If it helps you in any way: Despite our connection - on bad days steempower holders like you make me jealous, you are in four figures dude!
Until I slap myself, realizing that jealousy will not help me in any way and I sit down to create more content I can be proud of, regardless of upvotes.

Super happy to have you in my tribe. I think I will bookmark this one for the next eventual bad days that will come this year. No ups without downs.
Great write up dude, please let us know how you felt after getting this off your chest and cheering up <3

Forgot to drop you the link. Here's a permission slip to stop bitching more than you need to, even though as I said I'm fully with ya, and it was a pleasure to read your pain that I see a lot on Steemit from good content creators - whining has nothing to do with it either. Just an admirable sense of justice or something, and the feeling of a certain undefineable unfairness hanging in the air. At least that's how I feel way too often before said self-slapping.

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/steem-whales-are-losing-their-power-the-system-is-not-broken-a-6-day-shift-in-the-numbers

Haven’t seen you around for a while, nice to hear from you. Sorry for being such a fat minnow. I try hard to deserve it though, I’ve spent 5months on the platform all day every day with about a 1 months break. I was born for this kind of place too, becoming self sustainable making stuff and helping other to become self sustainable by making stuff has always been my dream.

I can tell. You more than earned it and you will go MUCH FURTHER with what you can offer.
I feel myself on a similar mission, guess both of us had it coming a long time. Time to welcome it.
Cosmic justice after all :)

Haha we should find each other on discord sometime, I haven’t been discording much but I want to change that.

Same here, life has challenged me a lot lately, and I'm spending most of my time building steemit. But I will log in again to discord in the next weeks once I got my head clear again.
Looking forward man, cya in 5 ;)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group ‭https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb‬.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Sorry I’m so late on this’ll, here I come!

Save only one and you saved everything - that has been my motto from when I was only 15. And for me it is worth dying.
You can't change everything, influence everything or better everything. But you can do one thing at the time. You don't need to feel envious about somebody else's success, we all feel the success through the prism of our own expectations and many of them are just the lies and illusions.
S, you don't need to strive to be perfect and fitting for many, just be epic for that one person who needs it.

Great advice, some things you know, but when you are having a bad day you forget. And then someone hits you with a $40 upvote and you feel awkward about complaining in the first place.

reading your post is like pouring my feelings that I cannot write during this time. Even though I keep saying I will survive but deep inside my heart I doubt it. How can I survive with nobody vote

It’s really about making friends at first....things get easier when you do but doing well consistently takes a lot of effort and time for most of us. I do great sometimes on posts I don’t feel passionate about then get no votes on the ones I try hard on, so....just stick with it?

I gave you my 2 cents brother ;)

Great @whatamidoing
Now a days being honest with jealous is not so easy!

And now I accidentally resteemed because my phone did weird stuff. Fml. That's karma I guess.

accidental resteems are my least favorite kind of resteems, but also very welcome! thanks!

... and this accidental resteem helped me find @whatamidoing :)

great informative post. thanks for sharing

This has got to be one of the realest post I've read in a while. I am pretty sure we can all kind of relate.

Thanks doge nic! I’ll see you around here!