Morrowind on a Raspberry Pi?

in #raspberrypi3 years ago

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind is one of my favorite games of all time, and I contend it is still better as an immersive RPG than its successors Oblivion and Skyrim, although your mileage may vary. At any rate, when I saw the video below, I had to start exploring.

...And I hit roadblocks way worse than diseased cliff racers outside Balmora. While I love FOSS, Linux, and the Raspberry Pi, I inevitably hit threads where people just start telling me to do things I don't know yet. I am acutely aware of my limited knowledge. I am good at power user stuff, but completely out of my depth when some wag says, "Just compile from source code and edit such-and-such parameters."

I have, however found a few starting points to share. There is a thread on the RetroPie forums, a Pi 3 thread on Reddit, an OpenMW thread about glitches, and another OpenMW thread which might help if I need to compile from source code. Since OpenMW isn't natively hosted in the standard Debian repositories, I;'ll need to see whether I can make heads or tails of any of these instructions.

Has anyone here tried this kind of project before? If so, I would appreciate any help you can offer, because these are uncharted waters for me. I am getting frustrated, and it is way past my bedtime, so I'll sleep on it for now and hope for the best when I can get back to this. Besides, this step is going to take a while.

I am also planning to explore emulating an x86 system and running WINE, although this may present its own problems, too. I already have DOSbox, so I need to see what it takes to run some mid-90s DOS games like Lords of the Realm II on ARM.

Sort:  

I do like the idea of playing some old games on a Pi, but do I really have the time for that? They are amazing little machines. It would be cool to have a arcade machine with lots of classic games.

I just wasted a bunch of time playing the original Age of Empires on my Windows 10 machine. 24 years later, and I still suck at it, LOL! Old games are fun nostalgia, though, and totally worth it.

I'm just worried that I'll start playing some old game and do even less of stuff I ought to do, like practice guitar. Hive is enough of a time sink for me.

!BEER


Hey @jacobtothe, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.