You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whale wars only benefit whales - a message to the powerful of steemit

in #realshit6 years ago

You are one of the better diplomats I have come across in the last decade.

Question is if becoming a whale automatically constitutes becoming selfish, and if it has to be that way... While you have NOT implied that, the pattern seems to become somewhat apparent, at least at superficial glance for those who have not yet "invested large amounts of energy".

When I see how some larger stakeholders behave like children with rocket launchers, and when I compare that to many minnows I have in my circle who support even smaller minnows than themselves with large chunks of their tiny voting power, I wonder...

will we all become a**holes after 5k SP?

I certainly hope we can keep the sharing spirit and make an ACTUAL trickle down effect happen.

Otherwise, why are we even here?

The monopoly system exists already out there with FED and gang, and while they may do their best to undermine what we are doing on Steem there has to come a point when wisdom trumps selfishness. And seeing unselfishness become the new selfishness would be really really healthy for the longterm future of the platform.

Sort:  

I would never assume that being a whale or being rich turns you into selfish person, though it does do a good job at bringing out any dormant selfishness. It’s important that we realize we are all capable of anything, that our experiences shape us, but also that we can never fully grasp how they shape us or shape others.

I suspect that with the longevity of the “struggle” for freedom and abundance, I will gladly throw myself a few upvotes when I’m a bigger fish, just as I do now...to pay myself for all the hard work it took to get there. I can empathize with most bigger fish as I think a majority of them simply have this kind of mindset. But as many are still in “scarcity mode” some overdo it quite a bit.

Be the change, that’s really all we can do. And we will!

Loading...