Humus: The Hungry Herbivore’s Protein Packed Sneaky Snack! 👩‍🍳

in #recipe6 years ago

Humus has almost become it’s own food group in my life, I love it & as a result I’ve experimented with recipes at length to finally arrive at my favorite combination.


It’s super simple, super quick & super tasty!! Most of the ingredients are probably already in your fridge but just incase here’s a little shopping list:

  • Chickpeas
  • Olive oil
  • Tahini
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Chili (I use my homemade chili salsa, I’ll do that recipe in another post, in the meantime just add a splash of balsamic vinaigrette & a few sprigs of coriander, the rest can wait!)
  • Lemon (juice & zest)
  • Parika
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Himalayan rock salt (ideally) & black pepper

D4F2D84A-7ACF-49C7-A1C2-A0F26591453B.jpeg


I’m basing this recipe on one can of chickpeas, just stick (roughly) to the ratios if you’d like to make more or less.


My cooking is always experimental & creative, so this is just a guide line, add you own twist whenever the inspiration strikes! (Quick tip: adding a few chunks of cooked beetroot or butternut gives an interesting take on traditional humus, just be mindful of the fact that both contain a certain amount of liquid & add a little less water when you get to it.)

So, drain your chickpeas & add them to your blender. Add to that one tsp of garlic (I love garlic & the bite it gives so this could be reduced for those of you who may be a little more wary), half a tsp of ginger & a tbsp of chili (again, depending on your preference). Pour in your splash of vinaigrette along with two/three tbsp of olive oil, about four tbsp of water and a few sprigs of coriander. Next add the zest of just less than half a lemon and a generous squeeze of juice along with a pinch of paprika & cayenne pepper & finally salt & pepper to taste. Note: there should be liquid up to at least one third of the mix when in the blender.


9BB4DA24-77BE-4582-B845-313945A5D2AF.jpeg


Once all your ingredients are in, blend away!! *Note: the longer you blend it for, the smoother it will be! If the blender is getting stuck just add a little more water &/or oil.


And that’s it; the quickest, easiest & yummiest homemade humus! Well, at least I think so 😉 give it a go & let me know what you think! Enjoy with crudités, crackers or in addition to your meal!!


Love,

Daisy xx

💞


@daisyd

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Thanks @rewardpoolrape - have a happy day ✨

Ooh love this, thanks for the recipe!

My pleasure @janique - let me know how it turns out!! Xo

World’s best humus! 😍