Recipe (Video): Moules à la crème – or as I call it: a f*cking tasty piece of awesomeness!

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)


In this post I’d like to introduce you to one of my favorite dishes and show you how to prepare it: mussels with white wine sauce.

The reason why I love this dish so much is that it reminds me of summer, sun and the ocean. I’m a huge lover of France, the french kitchen and I travel to France as often as possible. Every summer I try to spend at least two month over there and if I make moules à la crème at home I’m able to forget my wanderlust for a moment. I’m usually not into corny patter but when I sit down to eat the mussels I almost feel like I’m sitting at my favorite beach in southwestern France, smelling the salty sea air and feeling the ocean breezes in my hair. Well, almost. Nah, not really but in fact it tastes pretty damn good and reminds me of the holidays. Plus you’re definitely gonna get dirty eating it and that’s fun.

So if you want to try it here’s how to make the mussels:

Ingredients:


2 kilos of fresh, rinsed mussels
5 onions (or more)
4 cloves of garlic (or more)
2 bunches of fresh parsley
200 grams of butter
½ bottle of white wine (at least…🤤)
2 Tbl of vegetable stock powder
1 cup of hot water
2 cups of crème fraîche
A pinch of salt
A pinch of pepper
A pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
A pinch of sugar
1 baguette

Preparation:


Peel and mince the onions and the garlic. Bring a pot of water to a boil, add the mussels and let them cook until they’ve popped open. Drain the water and set the mussels aside. Chop the parsley. Melt the butter, then saute the onions, garlic and parsley in it. Deglaze with white wine and let it simmer for at least 5 minutes. Mix the vegetable stock powder with hot water and add it to the sauce. Spice up your dish with salt, pepper, nutmeg and sugar. Add the crème fraiche to the sauce and pour the mussels in there. Slice up the baguette and serve it with mussels and sauce. Bon appetit!

Click on the picture above to watch me cooking the dish 😋


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS