SIMPLE STIR FRY RECIPE - FRESH FROM THE WILD & THE GARDEN

in #recipe6 years ago

Basically, we've got three ingredients and a lot of nutrition!


So, the wild edibles are still in full force and our garden is now cranking out the produce on the daily. We're about to have to get creative, especially with the Snake Gourds, because we've got a lot of them coming in!

It seems like every day we've got at least one or more of these that are ready to be picked and enjoyed. I've got a few other ideas already, but for now we are still rocking the stir fry whenever we can. This time we mixed it up with a bit of foraging.

FRESH FOOD - BOTH WILD AND DOMESTICATED!

The goal was simple, a few easy plants and a quick simmer. Thankfully, our @little-peppers really get into gardening and foraging, so they are all about actually enjoying healthy food. That's the finished product above, so I'll show you how we did it!

The first ingredient was Broadleaf Plantain (Plantago major.) While the whole plant is edible, this time we were just after the seeds. The leafs are great in salads or soups, and can be enjoyed raw or cooked, just like the seeds.

We've got a nice patch growing just outside our driveway, and the @little-peppers were eager to help. Monster Truck and Red-Pepper quickly learned how to harvest the parts that we were looking for, and soon we had gathered a few small handfuls.

Lamb's Quarter (Chenopodium album)was next on our foraging list. Also known as "pigsweed" and "goosefoot" it is a readily available wild edible in many areas. Just like when we were in Wisconsin, we've got plenty available here as well. It has an amazing amount of Vitamins A & C, plus it brings a lot of other nutritional benefits to the table.

The plants that we harvested were actually "weeds" growing in a few of our potted plants. Since we had to remove them anyway, we might as well eat them and get a belly full of nutrition in the process. With these two wild edibles already foraged, we were ready to head to the garden for the main ingredient.

Ah yes, our new friend the Snake Gourd! One of these can do a great job of feeding our family, so we are very excited about seeing how many we can grow this year. This plant will definitely be a staple in our garden moving forward.

With our three simple ingredients picked and ready, it was time to head to the kitchen! Check out those happy, healthy children ready to devour some nutritious goodness!

KITCHEN TIME!

This part is simple too, but I found a trick or two that makes things easier. First off, for these long gourds, I like to cut them in half first, and then slice them into round sections. By chopping them in half first, I've got half as much slicing to do, since every cut makes two pieces.

Like I said, one gourd can feed our family, and once they are sliced up they'll pretty much fill a large skillet for a stir fry. Just check out that pile!

The Lamb's Quarters are just rinsed and chopped. This makes sure that they are clean and also in small enough pieces to be bite sized.

After rising the seed stalks from the Plantain, we just strip off whatever seeds that we can, and add them into the mix. They may be small, but they are tasty and nutritious.

In either oil or butter, saute the gourd and wild edibles and season to taste. Considering that we only had to pick one thing out of the garden to make this meal, we did pretty well! I love using the wild edibles that are freely growing all around us, and this simple recipe shows you just how easy it can be! Doesn't it look delicious?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-simple-great-stir-fry

Until next time…

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmSKT3AhEpV8JXA2eaE1HQPogXev5rzG4uxMzTi3ieE3Tc

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

All green.
Definitely you preach what you teach.
Got to be healthy.
Hope everyone enjoy this delicious dish.
Keep on postin'

Good point! They are all green... my favorite color!

Nice job making use of the weeds. That snake gourd looks like zucchini, does it taste like squash too?

I loved the presentation of the recipe. And the proof of originality of the work looks really great. Congratulations @papa-pepper

Man that looks great!

Tasted so good too!

Those gords go a long way. That's one of the reasons I like zucchini, two small ones or one really big one is all you need.
I've never tried the Plantain before I guess it's next on the bucket list. When I first saw the pic, I thought you had found some wild asparagus. I found a couple small bushes in the hay field last week, but have not had the time to go get some. Sounds like the makeings of a future post.

Where my wife grew up there is tons of wild asparagus, and we used to harvest it each spring! Wonderful, wild, free food!

Never thought about using plantain seeds, there's a few I can think of right now out along the path that have those seed stalks now.
Lamb's quarter, one of the best wild summer foods I think. Actually tastes good!

I think so too! So healthy and rich!

I'd love to try growing snake gourd. This year I'm growing jewelry gourd that I received from the Cherokee Nation Seed Bank. From what I understand, it's the smallest gourd.

That sounds incredible! I'll trade you some snake gourd seeds for some of those at the end of the season if you want! Does that kind of gourd dry? I'd love to see one!

Yes, they dry. The Cherokee used them to make jewelry, hence the name. I've seen ornaments and such made from them. I feel like it's my responsibility to grow, harvest, preserve and share heirloom seed, especially seed with so much historical and criminal value the Cherokee. I'd love to trade! Screenshot_2018-07-01-23-12-49-1.png
That's not a very clear picture, but that's what I recieved, it must have had 200 seeds in it when I broke it open. So I know I've got plenty to share!

howdy @papa-pepper! is there such a thing as TOO healthy?
ya'll can gut your grocery bill though.
excellent photos. Those Little Peppers are just priceless!
God bless you all!

goat curry dishes.

IMG20180207101305.jpg

IMG20180107080721.jpg

IMG20180107092851.jpg

Very good presentation, the photo with the kids set a good tone to it all.

Oh yeah, gotta love that lambsquarter, and I wish I had plantain! My squash are just coming on. Diggit.

@papa-pepper it looks so good and much Healthier than McDonald's........

GREAT POST. i jus comment with this word

My Love You Reply With love
I saw green gardens filled with freshness
hands tapering with the ground and compost
spreading the seeds and nursing lovingly
from just germinating to lush shade
protect from sunburn and provide oxygen of life source

until no time passes quickly
dunga popping up and you start replying with love anyway
love the little boy's fingers you've ever felt
you return with fresh fruits and vegetables.

kupetik vegetable and so the recipe of pride
our stomach you fill with healthy nutrition
far from junkfood that poison
recipes do not need luxury
but with the spice of love and affection
make the family so happy

Warm regard from Indonesia

Like her this is very tasty.

These stir fries that you make look simply delicious. My guys are going out foraging tomorrow and we have some summer squash that we can make a stir-fry too. I am really looking forward to it.

Mmmm! great job @papa-pepper and @little-peppers looks delicious! Upped , I will also resteem into my @momskitchen blog!💕👍😋