So Easy Cuban Black Beans

in #recipes3 years ago (edited)


Hearty black beans in a spicy tomato sauce served over some white rice, what could be better? These Cuban style black beans are so easy to make, you'll add them to your weekly menu!

cuban black beans over white rice in a white bowl

I love my neighbors. They are the most kind, generous people I have ever met. Well, except for my previous neighbors, who were really great to be neighbors with. I have been fortunate that everyone I have ever lived by has been so wonderful.

Anyway, my current neighbors. During the ice storm in Texas in February 2021, then entire state basically closed down for 5 days. Seriously. In Southeastern Texas where I live, they simply do not have the equipment to salt or plow the roads. It was a change for this Northern girl, for sure.

During this time, we all texted each other often to make sure that everyone was okay. "Do you have power?", "Do you need more filtered water?", "How's your egg/bread/milk supply holding out?". It honestly showed the true heart of my neighbors that we all shared without a thought.

One neighbor, Blanca, shared with me the most amazing canned black beans. Margaret Holmes seasoned black beans to be exact. My family loved them! I asked her where she got them so I could pick more up, and sadly, I haven't been able to find them in our area. Her mother got lucky that day she bought them, and I am grateful she did. I went thru the first couple of cans pretty quickly.

The last can stands alone, daring my family to ask me to make them. And knowing I may not open them just yet.

So, I had to go about making my own for the foreseeable future. I started by trying to copy the picture on the can. Tomatoes, onions, green peppers; check. Then the full recipe came to be. These Cuban style black beans are a pretty close copycat recipe.

black beans over white rice in white bowl

Ingredients

(just in case you are wondering why there are 2 pictures of ingredients...lesson learned! Do NOT attempt to take photos while you are chasing off the family pets from your studio, you are bound to forget one, as I did!)

Making your Cuban black beans recipe:

  1. Using a large pot, over high heat, add the oil and heat.
  2. Chop the onion, green and red pepper, and add to the pot. Season with salt and pepper. Saute for 5 minutes.
  3. Chop the cilantro, and add 1/2 to the pot. Stir in the tomato sauce and broth.
  4. Stir in the drained beans, and add the bay leaf.
  5. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes, stirring frequently.
  6. Serve hot over white rice, or as a side dish.

Can I used dried beans?

I tried to use soaked black beans, and added more chicken broth to allow them to cook in the sauce. The sauce was incredible, but there was never a moment where the beans are tender. This is because the tomato sauce is high in acid, and that keeps the beans from getting soft. I cooked them for 2 1/2 hours until I figured this out.

Now, if you want to use dried beans instead of canned, you can. You will want to soak the beans overnight, then cook in water like you would any other recipe. Once the beans are soft, and fully cooked, then drain them, and proceed with the recipe.

Each 1 cup of beans will give you 3 cups of cooked beans. I usually make 1 1/2 cups of dried beans for this recipe.

What to serve these black beans with:



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://www.hugforyourbelly.com/so-easy-cuban-black-beans/