DOGS BLOG - THE SNEAKY SPINACH SNACK

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

                                                                   

HELLO - here we are again, in the kitchen and 'mums' busy again making something that smells pretty darn good, in my opinion and my tummies!   She told me that I/we are going to have a 'pure veggie' snack this time, one full of iron and vitamins that are good for me, as I am a little older than Lillie and I need iron for my blood; it plays a central role in  transporting oxygen around my body,  and produces energy, which in turns allows me to chase my ball around the park, very fast I might add!


My mum says its packed with vitamin A, C, B,  and fibre, which can assist our  tummies and helps us to poop better!  Packed with Vitamin K for my bones, it keeps them strong and healthy. Now I am not one for leafy greens but in a snack, well does Scooby turn his snacks down ?? 

The Sneaky Spinach Snack 

                                                                         

 Ingredients: 

1 cup rolled oats 

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour /good while flour - unbleached if possible

1/8 cup Brewer’s Yeast /  1 x stock cube 

1 cup spinach, fresh or frozen (thawed) 

1 cup grated carrot 

1/2 cup grated Zuchini (courgette)

1/4 cup water 

1 tablespoon olive oil 


* added extras if you want

handful of fresh mint - good for dogs breath- Minty Fresh!

1 level teaspoon cinnamon - good for older dogs, according to The Good Dog Food Company, a dose of cinnamon each day helps treat arthritis and joint stiffness ( source reference.com)- personally I wouldn't give my dog some each day, but in biscuits its ok. NUTMEG IS A BIG NO NO - toxic to dogs, so don't swap out thinking this would be ok. 

How to Make

Preheat the oven to 350° F.(170-80 c)  Gas 4  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

  • Put the spinach, carrots and water in a blender and whizz down into a puree - add water slowly , dont want it runny as this makes the dough hard to handle - good texture is 'dryish dough' 

                                                                           

  • Mix the oats, flour ,Brewer’s yeast,(oxo)  olive oil  and cinnamon in a large bowl - mix in well 
  •  Make a well in the middle and pour the puree into bowl and mix well with the dry ingredients. The dough will be moist.

                                                                          


                                                                           

  • Take the dough out and put on to a  floured counter top. and roll it out until 1/4 inch thick - to stop the dough sticking to your rolling pin , smooth a little flour over it between rolls or even spray a light cooking spray over it.

                                                                         

  •  Once rolled, cut out the dough with your cutters - ( still waiting for my cutters to arrive , so I made a 'big cookie' and will cut into squares) 

                                                                        

  • Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 2-3 hours.  Store in airtight containers and keep in refrigerator for up to 1 week or freezer.- obviously defrost thoroughly before giving out or a trip to the Vet dentist  will be required!!!

                                                                      


                                                                     

                        

                                                                    


                                                                                 BON APPETITE :)


If you like my post and would like to see more, then please feel free to follow me - new friends always welcomed.






Sort:  

Whew! What a relief.
We had gone nearly 3 weeks without a post!

Did you miss me....lol testing out some new ideas, ....business head on !
Dogs are loving them so far, need a few more to test on

@ladypenelope1 here's to keeping my promise :)
have a great weekend you!

you too and thanks :)

@ladypenelope1 I saw you @meesterboom's comment thread
I forgot to send you the SCC #15 I think?
anyway .. just glad to bump into you every now and then

no worries - I should go look myself really, but I thank you for thinking of me :) - not here as much lately, been a little busy working on some new projects , dipping in on and off - Have a great day :)

Lucky dog! I keep thinking about what they would taste like -- if I would like to eat them on a camping trip, lol. The ingredients all look good! ; )

Well ! I guess you could as the spinach would give you lots of energy to put that tent up, hike the mountain, light the fire and sing 'Kum-bah-Yah !...lol - thanks for the comment always a pleasure to read :)

haha - maybe I will have to try that and report back! : )