The BEST energy oatmeal balls for under 120 calories.. original recipe!!

in #recipes7 years ago

Hi Steemit Fam!

I want to take a minute to share with you an original recipe that I created that has become a must have in our home!! Oatmeal balls backed with nutrients and energy for under 120 calories! Here I am just snacking away today! I whipped these up in about 15 minutes today.
20170712_205214.png

Here are the essential ingredients.

This is the recipe I have perfected however you could easily do your own thing if you wanted to add some chia seeds (I have before) perhaps some nuts or almonds, shredded coconut etc. even protein powder!! I pop two of these in my lunch kit or grab one after the gym and feel full till lunch!20170712_122855.jpg

Yes I know, the bananas look gross. They were frozen! Let me tell you.. if you are throwing away spoiled bananas you are doing life wrong!!! They are PERFECT for baking and smoothies. I took 4 out just a couple hours before to thaw out although running them under hot water has the same effect.

Banana Oatmeal Energy Balls (recipe yields about 30)
5 cups Organic Rolled Oats
1/2 cup Hemp Seeds
1/3 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (or however many you desire)
1/3 cup Silk Almond Milk (Unsweetened is what I use)
2 tbsp. Coconut Oil (melted!)
2 tbsp. Peanut Butter (consider PB2 or another alternative if you choose)
1 tbsp. Honey
4 soft overripe bananas

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl with a spoon or buy hand and begin forming into balls about 1-1 1/2 inch in diameter. Place on a wax paper covered baking sheet and sprinkle with some cinnamon if you so desire. Place in the freezer for about 20 mins. Pull out and devour!!

20170712_130825.jpg

One ingredient I really want to highlight is the Hemp Hearts... they are such a staple ingredient. We use them often in our household aside from in these energy balls. They are also great in smoothies or on salads.
They are quite high in protein, a good source of iron, omegas etc. Especially if you do not eat a lot of meat this is great seed to incorporate!!

As I mentioned in the recipe I like to sprinkle a little cinnamon on right at the end but that is optional!

20170712_133614.jpg

I have also attached the nutritional ingredients courtesy of my fitness pal. 112 calories per ball! 2-3 is perfect for breakfast and you are getting a hearty amount of carbs, natural sugars and even protein!!

Screenshot_20170712-211350.png
Screenshot_20170712-211401.png

Please upvote and follow and resteem this recipe with all your friends to see. I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on this recipe so let me know when you have given them a try!!! Enjoy!

Sort:  

Awesome I love oatmeal so im gonna have to try this recipe out! thanks for sharing!

can you use raw milk instead? By raw milk, I mean the stuff you buy directly from the farm, before it's life is sucked out of it, lol.

Yes definitely!! I like almond milk as there is still the calcium and it is a better option the store bough cows milk. By all means if you have access to raw milk give it a try I would love to know what you think!! Thanks!

These look tasty @steemtobefree, good job!

Just made a fresh batch of peanut butter! I'll give these yummy treats a go! Thanks for sharing!

Nice! Would love to know how they taste with homemade peanut butter :)

sounds good, I Love treats. I book marked this post and will try to make some soon.
Thanks, Now following for more :-)

Great thanks!

Wow I hit my bandwidth limit this morning. to much voting but it came back.
I was eating my heart out with many replies, and no vests do even comment back LOL. But got some yard work done while waiting
Life is Good
But no more voting till I can get some SP hehe
Cheers

I used to make these, but completely forgot about them until now. My youngest boy is alergic to peanuts, so I'll have to see if wowbutter works instead.

Absolutely! Let me know how they turn out :)