He Was Drinking Two Gallons of Vodka Every Day...

in #recovery3 years ago

image.png

𝐓𝐨𝐦𝐦𝐲 𝐋𝐞𝐞 🇺🇸 𝐒𝐨𝐛𝐞𝐫 𝐟𝐨𝐫 𝐨𝐧𝐞 𝐲𝐞𝐚𝐫!

The Mötley Crüe drummer said he was drinking "two gallons" of vodka every day.⁠

Mötley Crüe drummer, Tommy Lee has opened up about the extent of his alcohol addiction before his recent spell in a rehab facility.⁠

♠️⁠

Speaking to Yahoo Entertainment, Lee explained his history of being “on and off” substance dependance “for a long time,” including a previous four-year period of sobriety.⁠

“I go through these phases where I just want to live a different life and fuck all the dumb shit,” the drummer said.

“And then I decide, ‘You know what? I don’t want to live like that anymore.'”⁠

♥️

Lee admitted that he particularly struggled after what was planned as Mötley Crüe’s last tour, saying he “literally did nothing” and would “just fucking drink.”⁠

“I didn’t notice it until towards the end of it, when I was like, ‘Oh dude, I’ve got to stop. This is fucking insane.’ Like, I was drinking just out of boredom,” he added.⁠

♣️⁠

Detailing the height of his drinking routine, Lee said: “I would just wake up and be just building [a glass with] just all vodka and just a little eyedropper of cranberry or lemonade.

I was drinking two gallons – not pints, not quarts, but gallons, the big-handles – a day.⁠

“That’s fucking crazy. … I just realised, ‘Whoa dude, you’re drinking enough to like, you could probably die.’ And it wasn’t even fazing me. … I just became sort of immune to it.”⁠

♦️⁠

The musician said he checked into a rehab facility and has now been sober for one year, but still approaches sobriety as a day-by-day process.

“I don’t know if it’s a forever thing, but for now, I’m not drinking vodka today,” he said.⁠

According to Tommy, his wife, Brittany Furlan was instrumental in inspiring him to seek professional help.

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Check out my Facebook or my Instagram

Hive Profile

steemit odrau red diamond line divider

Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 7.28.48 PM.png