You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Miss. Opinionated : Technology Ruins Romance.

in #relationship7 years ago

Technology doesn't "ruin romance" technology KILLS romance.

A romance without smartphones you will never know. That "Untechno" romance, I grew up in a place, and sorta time, no one had mobile phones.... but my teenage puppy love didn't know what the Fck a text message break up was.

good post as always.

What is your inspiration?

Sort:  

It seems to vary in severity depending who and what they've experienced. Of course, these examples are just a few of the many situations which many of us face today.

Smartphones have given us the ability to connect with people on a level never seen before. And yet, it seems that this 'power' can be wielded negatively as all too often we see people consumed by their phones in the presence of their friends, family and loved ones. How many times do you see people eating dinner together, and instead of talking to each other, they are messaging their friends not present at the table?

My inspiration actually comes from the fact that I often feel torn between the two factions. Because of my age, I was brought up at the cusp of these technologies taking hold on the masses. The hopeless romantic in me tells me I prefer the old-fashion traditional ways of meeting people, and yet the world around me has changed it's perspective on that.

[-]solarguy 64 · in 3 minutes
U r such a sweetheart.

Do you know/remember the first thing i ever said to you was?

Anyways..

Yea. I do miss those 'good ol days' but at the same time I do like things now. It's suitable for 36yo like me now. I hope the next generation will have it better than I do now. lol

No we can never go back. As I write this I'm listening to fallen greats, and that sucks. I also believe we create our own destinies, that aside, we are succumbed to our modern times and admit we can't give our kids the same happiness, our parents feel the same.

What do they say "go with the flow" or the ""flow will take you"

There is actually still hope for old school romance since its special again to call. In a time where everybody is hooking up on tinder and co, the nobleman approaches a girl the traditional way and scores far better than those with a "hi, how are you?" msg online. Nothing is as boring as a dinner date. The best dates are still adventure dates out in the city/nature where you can learn far more about each other through real live interaction.