THE EIGHT FRIENDS YOU NEED IN YOUR LIFE

in #relationship6 years ago

THE EIGHT FRIENDS YOU NEED IN YOUR LIFE
John Lennon quotes.
This past weekend I was in a funk. I had gotten into a conversation with a person I just met and they made a comment that just bothered me. Usually, I do a mental eye roll and maybe throw in an “oh, really?” when someone says something absolutely ridiculous. But, this time I wasn’t able to brush it off so easily.

I spent the weekend questioning myself and moping. Asking my husband dumb questions about my life’s purpose. It was pretty dramatic.

It got me thinking though about the people you need in your life. I have one friend that I talk to pretty much daily. I would have called her exclaiming “Guess what blobby blob said to me today!” But, she was visiting her aunt in another state and I didn’t want to bore her to death with my over analyzing. So, in addition to talking to my husband, I talked to my mom. When I hung up, I felt better. I shook that shit off and got back to the business of being awesome.

I started thinking of all the people in my life and the ways we help and rely on each other. These are the people that lift you up when you’re feeling down, kick your butt into action when you need to get busy, listen when you need to vent and make you laugh when it is sometimes hard. Some of these people are friends, some are family and a few of them have many these wonderful characteristics bundled into their lovely being. I am blessed to have them in my life and I hope that I hold one of these spots in their life too.
eight.jpg

THE EIGHT FRIENDS YOU NEED IN YOUR LIFE
The Cheerleader
The cheerleader is the person in your life who thinks you are amazing. They cheer you on and believe in everything you do. When you mess up, they don’t even bat an eye. They keep you focused on how to push through, and are always on your side. When you are moping around they nudge you back to your happy place with kind, loving, inspiring words.

The Pusher
For me, a pusher is someone who leads you to be a better person. A pusher is someone who pushes you to be the best you can be. They are a cheerleader but not so warm and fuzzy. They make you question life, your choices, your direction. The push you to see the potential you have and expect you to live up to the high standards that you set for yourself. The pusher holds you accountable and doesn’t sit quietly when you goof up.

The loyal confidant.
Did you steal the cookie from the cookie jar? Well if you did, confess only to your loyal confidant. This is the person who loves you and will always be there to hear what’s on your mind; the good, bad and ugly. Having someone in your life that you know you can go talk with and won’t judge or share your conversation is a must. The loyal confidant not only listens but knows that any slip-ups you have don’t define you. You can call them in the middle of the night and they will listen.

The Energizer
Energizers are those people who have an infectious zest for life. Not only are they optimistic but they encourage you to dream big. Energizers leave you laughing, inspired and filled with amazing positive energy. The energizer in your life will scoop you up and make you laugh when times are rough, reminding you stay motivated when you want to give up. They will be your sidekick on a new adventure encouraging you to imagine all the wonderful possibilities coming your way.

the eight friends you need in your life. best friendship quotes. Amy poehler quotesPin this image on Pinterest

The Mentor
A mentor is someone who has already done what you are trying to do and is successful. They can guide you down the path letting you know what has worked and failed for them, helping you avoid any mistakes that might slow you down. This person is a reminder that you too can do amazing things. A mentor might be a teacher, parent, or older acquaintance. I truly believe you can find mentors through books. If you don’t feel like you have someone in your life to be your mentor seek out books from successful people you admire and read their story. Be inspired by their journey and use what you learned from them to get busy creating your own story.

The Adventurous Sidekick
Who want’s to go for a six mile walk in the hot and humid S. Florida weather? Who wants to go for an 18-mile bike ride against the wind? Who want’s to go kayaking in an alligator filled water?? YOUR SIDEKICK OF COURSE!!! If you’re up for it, they’re down.

the eight friends you need in your life. funny quote friendship Pin this image on Pinterest

Your sidekick is there when you are ready for any adventure. It is easy to get stuck in your routine and your sidekick is there to nudge you into trying new things, pushing through your fears and boundaries and is a great accountability partner. Having someone in your life who has an adventurous spirit is amazing because it challenges you to get out of your comfort zone knowing the whole time they are right there with you to you cheer you on.

The Best Friend
Ahhhhhh…. The Best friend. Your fiercest defender, your loyal confidant, your place for the honest truth. You might have one, or maybe a few but, when you find this person you definitely have to hold them tight. Your best friend is the one person that knows everything about you and loves every bit of you anyway! They have been there for the good, bad, ugly, and awkward. Best friends are brutally honest yet not judgmental. They challenge you to be a better person and are your cheerleader on any endeavor. Best friends are the ones who can look at you from across the room and when you exchange looks know EXACTLY what you are thinking. They can decode any text or email to let you know what it really says. Best friends embody many of these other characteristics, they are the pusher, loyal confidant, energizer…..they’re special.

The Funny (Crazy) Friend.
I received a text the other day from my friend, Sophie. It was 100% hilarious, 10000% inappropriate and some might consider it slightly offensive. I stood their laughing pondering who I could forward it to. The only person I could think of that would find it equally funny and not be totally appalled…… Sophie
The funny friend never ceases to make you laugh. When you’re feeling down they always manage to say one thing that is goofy just to make you smile. Did you just trip in front of a crowd of people? They will be the one doing a reenactment later poking fun at you to remind you that yep, you just fell in front of everyone and it’s just not that big of a deal. Funny friends remind you not to take yourself seriously, they make tense situations more comfortable with a single face gesture. These people truly can change your outlook on your day with just a single call or text.

Friends are the people who rock your world and I am blessed to have a handful of amazing ones. Which ones of these would you be in your friendship circle? Let me know in the comment session!

Sort:  

Congratulations @yemirichard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!