Sort:  

yip, agree we do, It's just a little semantics that got in the way, but thanks for the detailed engagement on the subject.

Hi gavvet!

Recently I wrote a post that kinda somewhat relates to our discussion here, in the sense that often metaphor gets mixed up with literal-talk. I basically have this idea that the survival/self-preservation instinct does not exist! I'm not gonna ask you to read my post cos it's overlong, but I would appreciate it if you read the much briefer comment here in response to a post by kyriakos, and if you'd kindly comment, either there, or here, or via DM (my handle is the same on steemit.chat), or whatever, I'd just like the opinion of someone who is versed in these things, and you seem to be a biologist, though I don't really know.

https://steemit.com/biology/@kyriacos/fixed-action-patterns-the-heart-and-soul-of-survival-instincts#@alexander.alexis/re-kyriacos-fixed-action-patterns-the-heart-and-soul-of-survival-instincts-20170922t095535069z