Sunday Life

in #religion2 years ago

sunday-life-blog-church-religion-spirituality-hive @EverNoticeThat  httpshive.blog@evernoticethat.jpg

It's a quiet NFL Sunday, and my Philadelphia Eagles are 6-0 now after beating the rival Dallas Cowboys. So everyone in PA (Pennsylvania) is in a good mood and so am I. Scanning through my feed, I realized it's been 3 days since my last confession post, and I'd better get something out so no one will think I'd been abducted and transported to the mother ship by those bug-eyed alien "Grey's."

Even though I'd had nothing planned, there's always something to write about for those paying attention to life swirling around you.

Take blogging for instance. I find it much easier going lately, with the words almost pouring out of me such that I have to get the ideas out before I lose them. Since I'm one of those people that notices little things (hence 'EverNoticeThat') I find there's never a shortage of material to work with.

I've never really suffered from writers block, and find myself moving towards even more long-form content instead. All of it is great for SEO and gives the search engines even more data to crunch through. This is one of the main reasons I love Hive as it provides a welcome outlet for my creative endeavors.

Blogging + Crypto? Man, you can't get much better than that!

Just A Slice...

So this post is just a little slice of Sunday life. I stopped going to church years ago fed up with the phoniness of both the pastors and the "Sunday Christians" who were just going through the motions.

I grew up in a religious family, and got to see behind the curtain watching OZ at work. There was the public faces that my pastor grandfather, uncles and cousins showed to the public, but I got to see the mask ripped off at the dinner table. My attitude is that if you're not a true believer, don't waste Gods time because he knows your true heart.

Having grown up in the world of greedy religious leaders, I know their game, and I'm not playing it.

Luckily In my religion, church membership is not required, and we can be just as faithful right here at home. This is a legacy of the home churches that protestants developed under the persecution of the Catholic church during the Spanish Inquisition. True Christians held secret services, and some hid in catacombs to avoid forced conversions. Even today, one can see the bones of these 'Catacomb Saints' on full display in "churches" throughout Europe.

Enriched In The Right Way

Thus I'm thankful that I no longer have to enrich the faux religious leaders who failed to heed the lessons when Jesus drove the money changers out of the temple.

It's wonderful to be able to build a pure relationship with God without having to line the pockets of greedy pastors. I'm not here to fund their lavish lifestyle of $1,000 footwear, expensive cars and private jets.

Thus I live content knowing I've driven the virtual money changers out of my own life, and can put my own funds to a more charitable use in directly helping the poor.

I see so much more Godliness in volunteering at our local soup kitchen serving food to the poor. You can see the gratitude in their eyes and often expressed to me in the form of thanks for the meal they're about to enjoy. "No, thank you" I say, "for giving me the chance to live out the example set by the Savior himself." For me, service to others is the true essence of Sunday Life.

If you found this post informative, please leave a comment, upvote or reblog

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: [1] @EverNoticeThat Created using Canva