A home remedy

in #remedy6 years ago (edited)

Guys! I have not had a lot of experience with essential oils, but yesterday got to watch how amazing they work, and had to share. So a little backstory first.


My son has always suffered from ear infections. Through the years he has taken a crazy amount of antibiotics, something that this year when he had to take them, it just made me eerily uncomfortable! There had to be something else to help him. So I reached out to my sister, who sells and uses young living essential oils in her every day life. She sent me a few articles, and thought to myself, next time he gets one I'm totally trying this out. I got the lavender from her and set it back for when the next one would come. So, fast forward a couple months later.
My daughter had been fighting the flu for about a week. Yesterday she finally starts to feel 100%. It was also the first warm day we had in awhile so we decide to make a run to town. We got supplies to make slime, both kids so excited! We get home, gather all the supplies, and as soon as we were ready to get started I hear, "Mommy, my ear hurts so bad", followed by intense screaming.

Because we're all too familiar with the symptoms, I knew an ear infection was coming on. I thought back to my sister and I's conversation and pulled the article up (source at the bottom), got the lavender oil,
IMG_20180120_120404.jpg
along with a washcloth, and got to work. Honestly at this point I wasn't thinking of any pictures, so I'll give you the gist.

Wet washcloth in hot water wring it out so it's not dripping
Let it set a couple of seconds I'm sure your kiddo will appreciate it not burning :P
Drop ten drops lavender in a small circle on the cloth

Hold to child's ear in the article it says 3-5 minutes, the longer you can hold, the better
Repeat two-three times
She also recommended putting two drops on your finger and massaging it directly on the earlobe


Now, I have to say, at first I couldn't see a difference. But within the hour her screaming was gone. No pain complaints. Her ear wasn't beat red. This morning when she woke? Her normal, silly self.

I have never seen anything work so fast. And in this house the kids get them often. I'm sold, guys!! I hope it's helpful to you as well 💜💜

Source

Sort:  

So awesome!!! I'm glad she is back to normal and that the oils worked so amazingly! We are sold on oils as well!

Thanks!! I am too, it's so hard seeing them so sick, feeling helpless to make them feel better.
I was so amazed by this!! I'm hoping this year I will be able to incorporate more oils into our lives and get rid of the nasty chemical filled stuff.

I haven’t used any oils yet, but I keep hearing amazing things. I’m going to have to try them.

I’m sorry your house was hit by the flu. We are currently trying to hide from it. 😬. I’m glad she is feeling better!

I really want to do more with them. My sister is always telling me amazing stories about the things they can do. Just gotta get all the stuff!!

Ugh, sending good vibes you all don't catch it. We need to make tshirts or something that say"we survived" haha :P. But for real, I'm glad they're over it. It's so heartbreaking to watch.

Lol! You definitely deserve a t-Shirt! I’ve heard that this year’s flu is AWFUL. There is an old method of placing onion around the house to prevent illness. I am not above trying it out. Hahaha.

Yeah, Bryan was just telling me about that last night!! I've also heard of placing potatoes on the bottoms of your feet with socks and it's supposed to be an awesome cough reliever (although I think my kids would NOT be cool with that, haha).
I am not above it either. lol. It's definitely peaked my curiosity

@ashleyhogan, I am so glad that your daughter is feeling better. My wife and I have 5 kiddos so we can completely relate to the struggle of staying healthy.

We used some essential oils when we lived overseas. Have not do so as much since moving back to the US.

Here is an update on the Ozarks Steem Meetup 2018. Hope you can join us!

Thank you @sumatranate! My sister is always talking about how amazing they work, I would love to be able to use them more.
Wow, big family! Coming from a big family myself I just love big families!

Lavender oil is good for so many things. I keep two bottles on hand all the time. This year I am going to grow my own lavender and learn how to extract the oils.

Ooh, that sounds amazing! I'll have to keep watch for your updates :). Just from this one experience it makes me want to keep finding things to do with them

Nice! I'll have to remember this next time we get ear aches! Drystan had one the other day... poor babies. I've also been using essential oils on my face to help with moisturizing and to prevent wrinkles! These oils are amaze-balls!!!

Aww, my heart breaks any time any kiddo has to go through it. So painful 😓. I hope if you have to use it that it works just as well! I used to get so scared with Roman. He would just scream and scream. There was almost no comforting the poor guy!
That sounds nice!! I definitely want to use them more! I'm hoping to get a starter kit this year so I can

Great post! Come with me!

thank you, im saving this. its really helpful. kfb

Glad it was helpful for you!