Turtles all the way down.

in #review6 years ago

Hello, today I bring you a review of turtles all the way down hope you like it.

This book really moved me, it was the following from John Green's book, I was prepared so that it was not the same as TFIOS, but I also expected a lot of quality.

I was waiting to finish the semester to read it because I wanted to be totally focused on it, so I did, at the end I did not connect totally with any of the characters, that doesn't mean I did not like it.

This book tells the story of Aza, a 15-year-old teenager with OCD who struggles with her illness while trying to have a normal life with her friend Daisy, who encourages her to get in touch with her old friend David, the son of a billionaire who recently disappeared, this is why a reward of one hundred thousand dollars is placed to anyone who has information about the possible location of Russell Picket.

The book, more than anything, is based on Aza's OCD with the germs, which makes kissing or touching another person very nervous, since it only manages to think about all the germs and the diseases that it could contract, these thoughts are they multiply and intensify what leads to what she calls the spiral.
Aza tries to stay sane, doing the things that his psychologist recommends, but, this doesn't always work for her.

The part of the disease I liked very much, they are very well written, so you get anxious when reading them, in those moments you put yourself totally in the shoes of Aza and it is scary, I was very afraid to imagine a life like that where you do not have the control over you, Aza has some hobbies with which I identify myself, they felt very real and rude.

I liked the characters, they are complete, although I do not identify with any of them, I understood them, both their desires and their thoughts, the only one I did not like so much was the mother, I think I should have been more overprotective, with Aza as a daughter. Mom should have been careful with everything she said and did.

In summary, I liked it a lot, it seems to me that the author managed to convey the message of mental illnesses quite well, apart from the disease it also has its loving sides and only a little mystery that took it to another level, this book takes you away from your reality and it puts you in the head of Aza that is not a very quiet place, but, of which I felt that I learned a lot and that made me understand more this reality of Aza.
The picture is from http://www.dailycal.org/2017/10/19/turtles-all-way-down-john-green-ocd/

descarga.jpeg