Sort:  

Hm yeah I guess I didn't explain that part super well. Ultimately there are many ways to curate content, and I think the most obvious way (reblogging) should be monetized as well. Curation should be an opt-in mechanic taken out of the backend consensus layer and made as more of a frontend contract to be controlled by content creators directly.

I also know we need to make a bad ass reputation system that helps content get exposure but I could probably write like 5 pages on that topic (and perhaps already have) so I'll just leave it at that for now.

This is a key problem - all the discussion of this stuff is totally incomprehensible to most of the people who produce content, and most potential investors.

Meanwhile there are investors watching this platform who know that money in the bank is going backwards and it's far from safe, and they want an investment that pays a return. If Hive can pay 10% return from passive investment (mainly curation rewards from delegating) they would be in. But any threat to that or danger of infighting like on Steemit and it goes into bullion - no returns, but a safe bet.

If potential investors watching my account are asking me - would I get 10% returns?, my honest answer is I have no frigging idea. What we want is things just left as they are so we can see how it goes.

And for me most reblogging is just a pain in the arse - I want to choose who I see on my timeline myself.

Reputation - whatever system is used, geeks with $ will always have the highest ones. I'd like that left alone too - getting to 68 took me ages, but that is the way things were, why change it now?

Four years of constant change leaves everyone totally sick of change. Fakebook never changes and it's #1 - same with Bitcoin - change is not a desirable thing, especially not at this point in history. in 2020 everyone is looking for a rock to hang on to.

image.png

change is not a desirable thing

I think that is the main point we can really all take away from this.
Patience is a virtue.

Facebook never changes?
Here's a history up to 4 years ago:
https://www.eonline.com/news/736769/this-is-how-facebook-has-changed-over-the-past-12-years

Here are the massive UI changes implemented in 2020
https://www.theverge.com/2020/3/19/21187118/facebook-desktop-redesign-more-available-starting-today

And that's just looking at the superficial stuff. Algorithm changes are far more frequent and have a bigger impact. They integrated a way to send money through their messenger, and host marketplaces. Many things have changed with FB over the past 4 years

If anything, Facebook has changed more over the past 4 years than Hive (going back to when it was steem, obvs)

The other thing with fakebook is that it just gets worse every time they change it.

But the big things - algorithms that control the content, millions of fake accounts, promotion of globalist agendas, the pretense that the site is owned by the sock puppet mark suckaturd - that stuff never changes.

And for the sheeple who actually use the horrible mind programming site - it looks pretty much the same as it did 12 years ago when I used to use it myself.

I just went and tried that new interface - apart from dark mode, what a fucking mess!

Actually my account got a seven day block on my third comment because I used the word "tranny" - good job, it stopped me wasting my time looking at it any further - and I hope never to use it again

(Yes I loath and despise fakebook)

The other two parts I don't grasp:

Is there a payout for HP of about 2% as well that would bring the total return up to about 10%?

But is there also a loss due to inflation that brings the return down by about 5%?

Thanks for that handy link

image.png

I have just began some personal blogs, I will make a blog eventually and tag you along with a few other curators I enjoy