Week 5: Road to Steemfest3 and following @anomadsoul's example: 3 Facts about yours truly!

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

Even though the road to Krakow, Poland is long and winding, it doesn't mean we can't have fun while we're on it! I am following @anomadsoul's example and will tell you 3 facts about myself. You decide if they're funny or not. But first I'd like to share my personal 'Road to Steemfest' experiences of this week and how far I on that road I got so far.

image.png

Paying off the loans I received from fellow Steemians

Slowly but surely, I am paying off the loans I received from 3 Steemians for when I had to travel to Holland. I try to write at least one post each day and with today's price for Steem, it's not going very fast, but I still manage to pay off little amounts at a time. Every single Steem I earn here is used to pay back my debt. So far I paid back 68 Steem... Still a little more than 300 to go, but I'll get there!

I am looking for a travel partner to mind my kids when I am at Steemfest

I've posted some requests on Homeschool, Worldschool and Poland Expat pages on Steemit.
So far I've had three people who responded. One knows a girl who might want to do this, one woman with daughter would like to join us in Poland and the another was also interested. So that's looking quite promising. I've only just posted the request a few hours ago!

I've gotten some unexpected help to pay for the Steemfest costs

My friend, @dragonsandsnakes, gave me some money to invest for her a couple of months ago.
I invested in three coins. Two of those tripled in price not long after, the other doubled!
Because I wasn't on it as I should have been, I left it at that, when in reality I should have told her to sell. We all know what happened then...Crypto went downhill and with it, the investment she made. But instead of being disappointed (the value is now a bit lower than it was when she first started) she offered to put those coins in my account at Binance for me to 'play with'.
For the Steemfest fund and hopefully a little more for her as well.
And even though I am a passionate Hodler with coins I love, I can now do what I started with all the way in the beginning. What I do best: Day-trading.
In my opinion, at this moment, all one can do really is either Hodl the crap out of what they have, or try their hands at day-trading. It's not for the faint hearted, I admit that. But I love it. So let's see if I can work the same magic as what I did last year, when I started with nothing and made it to Steemfest2 just by playing the game of crypto day trading!

153587059887250015.jpg
source: www.freewallpapers.com and www.medium.com

And now....those facts about me.

There are so many facts about me, I could come up with about 20 different ones, but I would just bore the crap out of you. It's hard to pick my favourite facts about myself though...because what exactly do I want you to know about me? Well, to be honest, I am not too worried about it. I shared more about myself on this platform than any other place before. So what the hell...

1. I used to be a smuggler...

No, not drugs. Although I did have quite a party in Ibiza a few years back...but that's a story for another time....
No, I smuggled gold from Thailand to Singapore, silver from Mexico to the US.
OK kids, don't judge me now. LOL.
When I was living in SE Asia, I spent most of my time there in Singapore. Because I didn't have a work permit, I had to be inventive with my time. A good friend of mine lived in Bangkok 2 weeks out of the month and the other 2 he lived in Singapore. He worked as a light tech in a club in Bangkok and one day he invited me to stay with him in Thailand. I did and ended up loving it!
BUT, I didn't have a regular income and needed money to survive and travel. I discovered that Thai gold was cheaper than the gold in Singapore, so with the last money that I had, I bought a few pieces of jewellery, wore them to get across the border and sold it in Singapore. Once an immigration officer asked me why I was wearing so much gold. I told him I didn't trust it to leave it in my luggage and asked if it was illegal to wear it. He told me 'no, of course not', and let me continue on my journey.
It turned out to be quite lucrative. So I kept repeating this to finance travelling between both countries and having a blast while I did this!

When I was living in Las Vegas, I was on a tourist visa.

Therefore I had to leave the country every three months and return after a few days.
At the time, I was working at a swap meet (flea market) in Vegas on the weekends and one of my colleagues/neighbours was a Mexican man who sold silver jewellery. He told me about the silver in Mexico and he would make it worth my while if I'd bring some back for him. And so I did. Again, I wore all the silver that I brought, with some exceptions. I got away with it without any hassle. Although it must have been quite funny to see someone with about 20 rings on their fingers, 10 chains around their neck and even more bracelets....

2. I played online Poker for a living

image.png

After my return to Holland and the birth of my eldest child, I got bored. I was working as a freelance translator sometimes, but other than that, it was just me and my little girl. Half the day she was sleeping, so I needed to find something to do. Because having a baby kept me up in the late hours, I was online a lot. I discovered online poker. Having lived in Vegas, I knew the game well. I loved playing it, but never did while I was there because...well, $100,- doesn't get you very far...However, I did watch a lot of the players and tournaments and learned a lot from them. I started out on Party Poker on the free-play site. There I played and watched others play. Not long after that I started playing for real money. I played my first Texas Hold'em sit&go tournament and after a fast paced game, I ended up with just one other player left. We kept going back and forth, taking small and large amounts, more or less had an equal amount in chips on the table.
He went all-in, with a queen and a king on the table. I called. I had two kings...He had two queens. I won $200,- that night and my mind was made up: Why work my ass off for peanuts, when I could make the same kind of money playing a game and have fun doing it. I didn't win a lot of tournaments, nor huge amounts otherwise, but it was enough to keep myself afloat for a little while. After about 3 months, I decided to call it quits. It was a great time, but being up all night for months wasn't too great for my health. All in all, it was still great fun. My user name? You guessed it!

3. I have an un-explainable love for cemeteries

From a very young age, I loved visiting a cemetery whenever I had the chance. My parents wouldn't let me jump around in every one we saw of course. But later, I would always stop at a cemetery if I thought it was interesting. I probably have 1000 pictures of cemeteries from all over the world. From Père Lachaise in Paris, where Jim Morrison is buried, to crazy skull and bones bearing burial vaults in the UK to a mini-cemetery in the middle of the road in Belize: if there were tomb stones, so was my camera. The one cemetery that's on top of my list and that I yet have to visit, is St. Louis cemetery and Marie Laveau's tomb in New Orleans, directly followed by LaFayette, in the same city. It's on my list...My love for cemeteries was ignited by Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles and renewed after seeing the movie Interview with the Vampire...

But for now, first we have Steemfest3 in Krakow, Poland, at which I will hopefully meet a lot of you again - and for the first time.

STEEM ON!!!


Sort:  

I would really love to see you go to Steamfest3. Have fun daytrading! You go girl!
Love those little facts about you although I knew one of them already ;-)

thank you! Yeah, would love to see myself go too LOL. Hopefully now...

Would be really cool to see you at Steemfest³ again @misslasvegas and Steem On!

Same @future24! We'll be like this: 😄

You have written a stunning post on Road to Steemfest3. The post is really helpful.

Well want to see this fest
Just waiting for that