Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands All Around

in #rockhound6 years ago

Hello Steemians! Here's another agate for every #rockhound to enjoy! I think that every rock has its hound and Steemit is the place to share your finds! Been a few days since I posted some agate pictures and it's been even longer since I last went agate hunting. I've been getting back into gaming because I'm stuck without a car lately. Hopefully that can change soon. My buddy suggested I just go agate hunting at night with a flashlight. Can't say I've ever tried or that it would be worth it. Anyone ever try this?


Lights Off

I thought this agate would glow more because of the color but it did not. This is probably why I like sharing some of the smaller agates as they tend to light up like a light bulb. I always enjoy it when the bands show up under the light!

DSC_0284scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0288scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0294crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

I can't remember where exactly I found this one, but I do believe I found it last summer. It's very smooth around the bands so this is another agate that is ready to be polished. Naturally tumbled by the lake, this is definitely one that is ready to be polished. I've kept it separated from my other agates so that I can get it polished.

DSC_0321scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0327scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0335scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0340scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0341crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0361crop.JPG

Shine

I always find it fascinating how many bands can be in an agate. Tinier little bands in between the already tiny ones. The back of the rock reminds me of an agate I shared a month or two ago. Makes me wonder what kind of mineral the orange stuff is. I also like the little red and yellow dots that are all over!

DSC_0364scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0372scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0460scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0384crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0388crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0406crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0420crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0444crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0482crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0490crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0496scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 220 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

I always use the "vivid" format on my camera so that the colors in my agates can stand out more. As always, it's a pleasure to share these pictures with the Steemit Community! While I can find a lot of agate pictures online, it's actually not that easy finding macro shots of them. Macro photography has always been something I always wanted to do and now I can! Being able to take macro shots of agates makes agates my canvas and the camera my paint brush! I hope you enjoyed!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Macro Bands

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Bubble Agate

May

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Sort:  

Those waves are amazing, reminds me of tree rings.. Great finds!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-12T07:55:27
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 354.41/400.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a fascinating microcosmic world!
Great pics!
I've searched and found quartz in dry river beds and beaches before, but that's about the extent of it.
I'd love to know more about actual agate hunting.
Do you have a post specifically about how one goes about hunting for agate?
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

My thoughts are to make a video when I go agate hunting, but I have not written an article about it. There are a few articles out there that I tried to dig up for you but I couldn't find them.

I have also been working on videos for just this but now I'm kind of busy and delayed on that. I always look for rocks with character. Many quartz came from agates and sometimes a quartz is not a quartz but an agate. I've flipped a quartz only to see it was a nice looking agate.

Lake superior agates are more particularly red and they glow. When the sun shines down, all the dull, boring rocks will not shine but the gemstones will stand out. More importantly, the agates will have this red glow to them that makes them hard to miss.

Sometimes I'll even see a piece of broken tail light on the ground from a car and I can't help but think it's an agate because I've trained myself to look for that red / orange glow that they give off.

Of course, not all agates are red and those are even harder to find!

I always go to beaches to find them but gravel pits work too. The gravel companies that break up rocks and sell them so people and businesses can have rock beds typically separate the really big ones so you'll find the best and the biggest of agates there.

Wow! Really cool to get even just that bit of insight. No need to look up articles about it for me. I'll just wait patiently for the video you make.
Cheers for your fast reply mate!