You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands All Around

in #rockhound6 years ago

What a fascinating microcosmic world!
Great pics!
I've searched and found quartz in dry river beds and beaches before, but that's about the extent of it.
I'd love to know more about actual agate hunting.
Do you have a post specifically about how one goes about hunting for agate?
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Sort:  

My thoughts are to make a video when I go agate hunting, but I have not written an article about it. There are a few articles out there that I tried to dig up for you but I couldn't find them.

I have also been working on videos for just this but now I'm kind of busy and delayed on that. I always look for rocks with character. Many quartz came from agates and sometimes a quartz is not a quartz but an agate. I've flipped a quartz only to see it was a nice looking agate.

Lake superior agates are more particularly red and they glow. When the sun shines down, all the dull, boring rocks will not shine but the gemstones will stand out. More importantly, the agates will have this red glow to them that makes them hard to miss.

Sometimes I'll even see a piece of broken tail light on the ground from a car and I can't help but think it's an agate because I've trained myself to look for that red / orange glow that they give off.

Of course, not all agates are red and those are even harder to find!

I always go to beaches to find them but gravel pits work too. The gravel companies that break up rocks and sell them so people and businesses can have rock beds typically separate the really big ones so you'll find the best and the biggest of agates there.

Wow! Really cool to get even just that bit of insight. No need to look up articles about it for me. I'll just wait patiently for the video you make.
Cheers for your fast reply mate!