Rugby is a dangerous sport and i love it

in #rugby7 years ago (edited)

0527171513.jpgSo we played 2 games today, we lost both, the first was a good close game. We lost just because we made some mistakes at just the wrong times. The second game was a blowout but not because of how we played. The team was dirty. In the scrum they pushed me up and out after trapping my neck multiple times. We had a brother go down with a broken nose. We played the best game we have played as a team but then it took a dark turn when one of my best guys broke his ankle.
0527171513a.jpg
There are moments where i wonder why i play this game. I wonder why at 37 i choose to play a game that literally leaves me limping , then i am with the guys bruised and bloody after battle and i feel alive.
0527171521.jpg
So we lost two we play 1 or 2 more tomorrow. All our subs are broken now so its straight play till we fall. Will we win, maybe, will we have fun and be a team of brothers? Hell yes.

Sort:  

I've had my fair share of injuries playing football (soccer) but rugby is a whole another level. The most amazing part is getting really badly injured, like popping a shoulder or knee, and continuing with the game.

I am pretty sure i cracked a rib and re-tore my knee this weekend. But the real bad ass was my team mate who broke his toe and did not tell anyone until he took off his boot at the end of the tourny and it was at a funky angle already black n blue.

ouch... just reading that...

Damn that sounds vicious, where are you playing?

We had a igr tournament this weekend in denver co. I play for the portland lumberjacks.

Have you ever been to the tournament in Steamboat Colorado? That place is a blast. Afterwords everyone gets drunk and plays foosball.

Naw i just started playing rugby this year. Apparently i needed annew challenge at 37...