Weekly Running Update: settling for two standard runs

in #running3 years ago

I've settled for committing to just two runs a week for at least the rest of Jan, and probably February.

Two main reasons:

a. I only really want to drive out somewhere once a day and I normally have to go 'out' and do something 3-4 days a week, and this is always an effort, so I'd rather not tag a ru on the end of my chores, as then the run becomes chore-like. If I did three runs a week, I'd invariably have to tag one onto another trip out, just because of the way the runs sync every other day.

b. It's just cold and horrible! Even going out for a run is an effort!

I've done only two runs a week before for several weeks and it doesn't seem to affect my fitness, it's sufficient to keep the legs and the lungs in tune!

I track most of my runs with Garmin, which auto uploads to Strava.

Weekly running summary:

  • Total kilometres this week: 13K
  • No. of runs: 2

Wednesday's Run - 8Ks around Castelo Novo

Screenshot 20210111 at 09.05.51.png

I've done most of this run before, mainly 4Ks up then a bit of a push on to a different route, which I think I'll make into a circular run next week.

I was going to do a lower circular circuit but there was some fairly serious construction looking work being done on the path I'd intended to take so I had no option other than to continue up.

Still, it was a reasonably good run, enjoyable enough if a little cold!

20210106_120445.jpg
The view on Wednesday, only 2/3rds of the way up, but a decent view spot!

Sundays's Run: 5K standard local 'Park Run'

Screenshot 20210111 at 09.11.26.png

I abandoned Saturday's run as it was 2 degrees and foggy and very windy, Sunday however was 6 degrees bright and much less windy, so fine.

I headed out at just before 12.00 and managed to get back with 5 minutes to spare before the national weekend PM curfew started - liquid.

I ran up most of the route this time, to drop in a comparison with last week's where I walked up the steep bits. I only walked the last 100 metres of the final hill, same as last week.

It's much as I suspected, the splits uphill are very similar when I run compared to walking the steep bits - if anything i'm slower running - walking IS more efficient!

Garmin did this funny thing today where I seemed to be 100 Metres short at the end - maybe I accidentally hit pause at some point on the way down, possible i guess.

Next week's plans

Rinse and repeat, with an additional couple of Ks added to the longer run. Hopefully I'll find something worth writing about!

If I run on Saturday, then I might add in a walk on Sunday, maybe. I have a plan for that!

Sort:  

Epic photo!

It's amazing how different the view is further up too!

You get some great views there. I would probably run less if I had to drive somewhere. I just want to go out the door and run.

The drive is not too bad, about 10 minutes.

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

Enjoy a !BEER in the meantime...

*Reblogged by @runningproject

I think cold temperatures alone are not so bad, but if wind is added to the equation it becomes terrible.. Anyways great views up there and keep up the schedule, two days are definitely enough for maintaining your fitness.

!gif cold

Wind and running are most definitely NOT a good combination!

It really is SO much easier going for two runs.