The Point of Running - Why We All Should Run

in #running6 years ago

Are you a runner? I think I am, but what qualifies for calling yourself a "runner"? I really don't care too much about that. As long as you are satisfied with your own effort, that's enough - you're a runner!

Finding Motivation

After getting up early in the morning, driving the kids to the kindergarten and school, it's time for a full day at work. When you're done, it's time to get the kid(s) home again, make dinner, play with the kids and so on - family stuff.

Don't get me wrong, this is both normal and great! But we all feel that the energy level might be a bit low after a day with lots of activities. This is the moment when all you want to do is to lay down on the sofa, put on a tv show, maybe eat that snack you know is in the refrigerator?

This is the moment when you need to be strong! You need to block your brain for 10 minutes and just go and change to your training gear, and get out. Because when you get out, and breath in the fresh air, and start running, your mind will clear all your negative thoughts that you just had.

20170722_193056.jpg

The feeling you get when you're standing at the top of a mountain, or when you get back to your doorstep after a run - is magnificent.

The Little Extra Digital Motivator

There are a lot of tools to help you get motivated. I use a Polar M400 pulse watch, and upload my activities to Strava. It's a great way to get a little extra motivation. Often, I get motivated to try and beat my previous runs, and also you get motivated by watching your friends/followers completing runs, it makes you want to get out and run.

And of course - All the bonuses

You get fresh air, beautiful nature experiences, better health, both physical and mentally.

20170519_180533.jpg

"Trail running in Norwegian nature"

Well, that's my 10 cents about running. I hope you got some motivation or tips by spending your time reading this post.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Hello, fellow runner! Motivation is important and it gets much easier when running becomes a habit (almost no willpower is needed then). You simply have to go and run...

Hello! Yes, that's true. But it takes a good portion of motivation to get there. And, it's also a bit more difficult when it's zero degrees, pitch black, rain, wind and icy roads.
But yes, it's still simple - keep running! :)

Ever since I joined a trail running group and made some terrific friends from it motivation has been pretty easy for me. It is how I see my friends! 🤗

Hi @carleenp!
That's a great way to keep in touch with your friends. It's a great way to get motivated also, easier to "get out" when you're meeting friends :)

Mitt beste tips, spesielt når jeg er umotivert for løping, er å ta på meg treningsklær...så sette meg i sofaen...etterhvert MÅ jeg ut å løpe..tror akademikere kaller dette "priming"...ganske fiffig hvordan hjernen fungerer :D

Det har jeg ikke prøvd, men det var jo en bra ide! Takker for alle gode tips :)

I have only one comment:

YES!

:)

YES-MAN!

it's hard work balancing family life with running, especially long distance running. But it can be done.

Good on you for doing it ;-)

Thank you! Yes, it can be hard, but it's worth it :)

Sorry for our late reply...
We have been so busy these dates that I didn't realize about your comment... again, sorry...
Regarding your post... It is exceptional, pics are amazing and your profile is perfect for @runningproject so, you have passed the qualification step...
Now, if you want to get into the initiative just transfer 1sdb/steem as an "enrollment" fee to @runningproject .

Thank you for your kind words! I have now enrolled, looking forward to be a part of @runningproject!

Enrolled as an ‘’Approved’’ Runner.
@runningproject quote

I started running a few years back to get fit. It's hard the bonus of losing me explore my local area and appreciate nature more. I'm generally in indoors guy, but it's good to get out there. I'm not too bothered about races, but I'll do some for fun

Hey @steevc! It's great to get out in the nature and run. I still haven't competed in anything race either. But on April 21 I'm going for it! :)

The real purpose isn’t to win a race. It’s to test the limits of the human heart.
Unknown Runner

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Remember that you can always use @isotonic to get recovered yourself after writing your post and help @runningproject at the same time.

Thanks for the tip!

You got a 83.33% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @svein!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.