The Hidden Dark Side of Running and the Sacrifices We Gladly Endure

in #running6 years ago

Run up Casper Mnt..JPG

For anyone that runs, you are well aware of the sacrifice.

When there are races and people joyfully post their photos and stories to social media... You see the highlights, the shiny medals, and smiling faces after these big races. You see the celebrations, the high fives, and joy amongst competitors and friends… but there is something hidden that very few people on the outside ever see.

You never saw the 5:30 a.m. speed workouts. You never saw the hundreds and thousands of miles ran. You never saw the impossible negative splits in practice. You never saw the vomit on the ground after an all-out 400 meter sprint after doing 8 x 1-mile repeats at a blazing speed. You didn’t see the completely sweat drenched clothes after summer evening long runs. You didn’t see the completely sweat drenched clothes on a 30 degree winter morning. You didn’t see the injuries. You didn't see the pain. You didn’t see the blisters. You didn’t see the fatigue.

You didn’t see the lost hours with our families. You didn’t see the sacrifices.

You just saw the pictures and happy faces full of joy after a big race and triumph that comes with completion.

Don't let these photos fool you. It was not easy.

It was earned. Not given.

It was earned through dedication, commitment, and the will to succeed. It was earned through blood, sweat, and tears. It was earned through the trial of miles and miles of trials. It was earned through sacrifice.

I’ve never been so humbled.

I've learned so much from running. I've learned strategy, mindset, how to overcome obstacles, how to be persistent, how to set goals, how to expand my limitations, how to be a better man. In hindsight, all the pain is well worth it. I’m so proud to have gone through hell and struggle in various races and thousands of miles on my feet.

Running is a sanctuary. Running is my meditation. Running is my stress relief. Running is my time to think. Running is "me time". Running is my passion. Running is a form of expression.

Anything of value has a cost. And that cost is the price we are willing to pay to do something great. Every person has something great within them. Running allows individuals to compete against their previous best. It allows people to grow physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. It allows a person to expand their beliefs and test their will.

Running is a beautiful thing.

Sort:  

I don’t see it as a sacrifice. It is a choice I make every day as I set my priorities. Running has changed me. Broken rib? No problem, let’s run. Knee ripped open in the middle of a race? It’s just blood... time to run faster. Rain? Grab a light jacket.

Agreed... I’m a better person for it. Between running and my divorce, I really do t sweat the little things.

@dlew it's that mentality! I love it because that same mentality spills over into all the other areas of your life and affects you positively.