Weekly Running Review: February 5-11, 2018

in #running6 years ago (edited)

weekly run review (1).jpg

A mentor once taught me that if you review your progress often then you can take control over the outcome.

I like to use a special tool called the "weekly review" where I go over my results in areas of interest. It's a great way to review progress, find out what worked and how you can do more of it, find out what didn't work and how to eliminate it, and based on those results you can adjust accordingly.

I decided to create a weekly review on Steemit and see how it goes. Usually I just do it on paper, but I figured it could be kinda cool to share it with the community. So here it goes...

Total: 53.5 miles
Goal: 52 miles

Monday February 5, 2018
Red beans run at the Thirsty Hippo. This is a social run we have at a local bar called the Thirsty Hippo. It's one of the best runs of the week. We usually do a five mile run and eat red beans and rice and have a few beers 🍺

I needed to get some additional miles this week so I went early and ran five before the group run so I got 10 miles total.

Tuesday February 6, 2018
Rest day. Rode my bike across town. I should have just followed the schedule and rested. It came back to bite me later in the week.

Wednesday February 7, 2018
Speed workouts 😜 8 x 1km repeats
This is probably my weakest area as a runner. Although I'm not quite where I want to be I know if I keep attacking it weekly I will get there. Just deciding to show up and keep going will pay off.

Thursday February 8, 2018
Recovery run. Man I was really fatigued during this run. I didn't even look at my watch during this run. It was nice to just run and listen to a new audiobook. 10 slow miles.

Friday February 9, 2018
Rest day.

Saturday February 10, 2018
Tune up run with the Wolfpack: 12 miles at marathon race pace (6:52 per mile). This was an awful run. I go into more detail about it in yesterday's post: https://steemit.com/running/@whizkid1/wolfpack-and-shoney-s-rough-run-this-morning.
Basically, I made a big mistake and didn't eat anything before I ran. Plus I haven't been resting and recovering like I know I should. That's why I love this review. It helps me work out what is going on!

Sunday February 11, 2018
Today I'm going to do 14 miles negative splits (starting around 9:00 per mile and descending down to 7:00 per mile). It's raining right now so I'm waiting to see if it will clear up. I might just have to go to the gym and do it on a treadmill. As the weeks get closer to races I like to practice negative splits. It's a good way to train yourself to get faster at the end.

Just like coach always says, "If you don't do it in practice, you won't do it in the race."

Well that's my weekly review. Have an awesome week of running. Start fast and finish strong!

Follow my journey on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

I think 8 x 1k repeats is rather impressive, I am usually knackered after 4 and struggle with the fifth one. Will be following you on strava :)

Thanks for the support @vrun! Believe me I struggle with the 1K repeats too. Man they are not fun that's for sure.

We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.
Alberto Salazar

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Don’t forget to “Vote your Running Author of the Week”
and also “CALL FOR A "RUNNER WITNESS"