Race Report + Saturday Workout

in #runningproject6 years ago

Saturday was the last "hard workout" day before the marathon in two weeks.

The plan was to run two 10Ks back to back with 5-10 rest in between. To make things more fun, there just so happened to be a 10K at the university that day. So we showed up a little early and ran our first 10K right before the race.

Here's the results of the first 10K:

analysis.png

pace.png

Overall, I felt good during the first one. I can tell my cardio and endurance is increasing. I felt more comfortable in the lower 6min pace than I normally do. I guess the speed work has been paying off.

+++++

The next 10K was a little different story. For the first run, we ran the exact same course as the race. It was a little hilly. My fatigue showed in the race. Usually in a race you can find that next gear and push through it because you are around others that are running. So usually it is easier to at least try to stay with the pack.

Unfortunately, I got caught in "dead man's land". It's when the person ahead of you is very far ahead and no one is close behind you. This is a bad spot to be in because you aren't chasing anyone and no one is nipping at your heels.

Here's my results from the second 10K:

analysis2.png

pace2.png

Overall, I still feel strong about the marathon in two weeks. I am excited about my chance for redemption from the last one!

Follow my training on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

Props man, that's crazy fast. Can only hope to work my way up to that speed one day!

Thank you very much @bigtx31! I started walking daily long ago before I was running. One step at a time...

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

Good consistent splits in the 2nd half of the 2nd race despite your fatigue.

What pace are you looking to run the marathon at?

@runningdanw shooting for a 6:50/mile

Wow, going for a sub 3?! Awesome. What sort of pace do you normally do your long runs at?

Depends on the type of long run. Usually around 8 - 8:30ish depends on distance though

You are fast! Good luck with last 2 weeks preparations and stay injury free!

Thank you so much @dailyrunner. PS i love your posts. Your run streak is amazing!

Thank you for your kind word. And I admire how fast you can run! I think this running community here in @runningproject is giving us all so much motivation for our running! Good stuff!

I agree. I love reading everyone's stories and viewpoint on running. I learn a lot from all of yall!