Sabbath Day Spirituality

in #sabbath4 years ago

jetty4.jpg

Luckily, I think now, I grew up in a religious community in which the Sabbath day was a day in which one ought to regard with reverence, one day a week as special, one day a week in which one is encouraged to keep it holy.

There is a particularly special stretch of beach I visit frequently and when I saw the sun was peaking through the clouds this morning I knew that I was being invited out-of-doors for a communion with God in nature.

jetty2.jpg

Before leaving, I again took out my yarns and made three God's eyes to hang in the dune forest trees. There are others who also visit and I find most of the time my gifts are accepted by whomever happens upon them. I also brought the end of a loaf of banana bread I baked this week as an offering, to feed the holies as I once was instructed at an animas retreat. I believe the little birds will make a meal of the sweet, nut loaf?

jetty1.jpg

I found a single limpet shell. I haven't seen one in some time and nearly never on the ocean beach as opposed to the river beach--white and brown striped with the hole in the top. My father once told me that this is how another creature burrows in and consumes the aquatic snail.

I think of the men in their camouflage I saw in the parking lot, duck hunters hiking away from the ocean and towards the brackish waters. I note their bald heads, how only older men are this way (as I note especially starkly of one bald man standing next to his dark and curly haired son) and how this must be some direct and naked link to God and light? Rank only earned through a certain amount of time on earth? I know I'm off topic here, but I once read the Chinese required cut bangs on women's heads in order to block their third eyes? And, yes, do please correct me if I'm wrong. Should we wear hats and how does one expose him or herself to heaven light while also avoiding the fate of the limpet?

jetty3.jpg

I found another gift, a shiny and smooth pure black stone carefully sat next to a round and glossy white sitting atop a log just before reaching my turn-around-point, the jetty rocks. I picked them up and kissed them, squeezed them to my heart, thanked whomever had left me this gift to show how well shadow marries to blinding light.

jetty5.jpg

A prayer for true love,
of self, of sun, of One,
trinity of,
on fire spirits,
to travel the shadows,
with.


Pictures were all taken today, 12/15/19, heading into the weekEnd of Solstice

Sort:  

Now, limpets I collected many of (unlike red jaspis), but I think that may have been in Scotland.

My son would have it that I strike out your sentence: bald heads, how only older men are this way - why he is fast headed for (semi) baldness already at 21 remains a question, in light of your observation.
Does DNA win out on any argument why?
(Not satisfactory.)
Still working out my own hair theories, having the luxury of having a non-bald duck and dive lover myself.

That Sunday God's Eye is looking particularly divine and inspires me to step up on my crafts: https://honestlywtf.com/diy/diy-gods-eye/ and go a bit octagonal, in the vein of Karma/Justice (the old Tarot 8) and the general lemniscate vibe of the Christmas tree and the whole idea of the journey of the soul annually:

https://www.pinterest.de/pin/654218283355296744/

The only sensible answer I can give on whether or not to wear a hat is: see reply to previous post, follow link, get loden hat and if that doesn't preven getting drilled in the head, I think we might have to give up.

Wow, those God's eyes are next level! I'll have to try one :) Might be I'll have to get some smooth dowels rather than using the beach sticks I gather.
Hair and hats, so much to ponder ;) Loving the loden hat and coats! Wish I could read the diagram, but maybe the magic is in seeing and tracing w/o being able to read?

So very well done. I feel as if I were there with you, hugging the stones to my own breast. Lovely.

Thanks for coming along :)



This is Love Letter from God to You.
Message us on Discord 😍🤗❤
https://discord.gg/vzHFNd6

Yes, thank you :)