The Karen Pandemic

in #sarcasm4 years ago (edited)

Karen.jpg

I slept a little late as I've been on Youtube Karen binge for 2 days straight now. I know I need some other form of entertainment during these uncertain times but I can't help it. I need a good laugh sometimes. You got to understand, for many years, I've been trying to identify what kind of species this is until recently, Karens have been showing up on my feed in forms of memes and viral videos. Now who is this Karen?

First and foremost, just a friendly reminder, I am not attacking anyone so if you identify with a Karen, please forgive me in advance. This is just my usual fun diabolic post. I know deeply that some people out there can get triggered not because of what was said but because of who said it. Not an American here apparently and yes I can speak other languages, but just FYI, the Karen pandemic has reached other parts of the globe including far-flung destinations. It's inevitable. Oh it's the internet Karen!

Who is Karen?

To be fair, I've seen many Karens in my life and they don't necessarily have to fit the definition. I mean, they don't always have to be white and from America. They are usually any middle-class rude and entitled women who want to speak to the manager. They make a big fuss over the littlest of things just to feel important. They randomly pick on harmless workers and make them feel low. They even have their own special channel now. It just happened that they are not called Karen around here (We do have Karens but they are innocent). And their videos don't capture the worldwide audience, because duh, they are not as significant as the legit Karens out there!

I seriously can't get over this video because I can relate. I have this stalker going around the neighborhood in his truck and stealing my garbage. Oh, creepy men these days!

Who is the real Karen?

According to Urban Dictionary:

The stereotypical name associated with rude, obnoxious and insufferable middle-aged white women.

Okay, I will not define them by their type of haircut, dress, car, or whatever. I am more into emphasizing the aggressive behavior of a typical Karen. The label pertains to soccer moms, anti-vaxxer, holier than thou vegan/yogi, or MLM participant who exhibits bad behavior in public. Their tantrums may be due to an innocent person just walking by causing her serious threat, the fast-food crew not giving her a straw, hearing someone not speaking English, or a dog growling at her. I mean it could be anything, literally anything to trigger her serious and untreated mental issues. So, if you become a victim of a Karen, all you should do is just laugh and not become a Karen yourself. In my experience, the best way to deal with the situation is not to go down to her level.

The funny thing is that during Karen's meltdowns, you'll often hear the word right. I have right, my rights, you don't have the right... It seems that everything has something to do with Karen's rights. Even to the point of abusing this freedom. And abusing other people too. Karen thinks the world revolves around her. Illuminate me, since when did humanity become as self-centered as this?

Due to anxiety issues worsened by the Pandemic, perhaps, there's a Karen in us too. A Karen that can be awakened when provoked. Who knows? Humans can revert to animalistic behavior to survive. It no longer takes that much to butthurt a person these days.

Coronavirus has popularized Karen memes. Because as expected, she's the one who won't wear a mask. Because you know, it is her right. She has health issues and it is for her own safety. But hey, Karens are human too.

People could have given the species a different name like "snaps" or "lash", I don't know, anything but Karen. I feel sorry for those whose name is Karen. Even though it's an American name or basically a white person's name, it's everywhere now. Because Gawd, the world loves America. There are so many innocent Karens I know who want to change their names by now. Oh mother, it is too late!


previously, previously, previously,

The Huns Are Back! The Truth about MLM

Sort:  

My American boss used to use the term Becky. But yeah, there's middle-aged woman being assertive (and good on her) and then there's Karen behaviour. I like discussion on this kind of thing because it talks about the large areas of what is reasonable behaviour and what is not.

I heard they call Karens Becky before. This kind of behavior is becoming popular/viral where I am, we just don't have a name for them yet.

Lol that woman is Crazy with a capital Karen

Gosh you're stalking me!