You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aunt Jemima to rebrand to Aunt Ifa

in #satiricallyyours4 years ago

I get what you are saying and coming from a place of respect.

I disagree: having field trip and learning about history is important, I agree.

But honouring the wrong part is what those images and statues do.

My nephes will learn a lot of history and read about it at their own convenience.

Having then see it where ever they turn is a historical assault and that's the way it should be seen by everyone.

Won't we still learn sexual reproduction?

That doesn't mean we should see penises and vaginas where ever we turn.

Sort:  

You are mistaken, and deprive your nephews of grasping that preserving that history isn't worshipping slavers. There remain them as do see your nephews as less than human, and this is why I cautioned you as to your language in my initial reply. That knowledge is essential to inspire our fight for freedom, for prosperity. Nothing so enables me to secure my freedom and wealth of community than knowing what my enemies will do to me if I am lax.

The enemies of freedom are dire indeed. Every bit of grasp of their nefarious purpose is necessary to overcome the obstacles to our success.

Slavery wasn't racist. It was inhumane. Misunderstanding of history causes misunderstanding of slavery, which makes such inhumanity burgeon. Seeking to divide humanity by race, as so many do on both sides of the debate, increases the threat of slavery and the power of overlords.

You will do as you see fit. I have given you my best advice in the hope it benefits you and yours. I hope you do not succumb to those that would divide humanity on any basis they can, whether nationality, religion, or race, because every division sets their prey against each other, and not against their oppressors. More than this I cannot do, as I am only responsible to speak the truth, not for whether it is believed.

You are responsible for your beliefs, and will succeed or fail as a result.

Edit: seeing penises and vaginas will not harm people of any age. When it is time for them to learn about the adult functions of their organs, is it wise to conceal the knowledge of rape from them? Knowing of it does not promote it, but knowing there are rapists, and people that celebrate rape, will certainly enable them to secure themselves from that horrible assault.

Failing to do so will leave them utterly vulnerable.

I understand you. I guess we just don't agree on certain aspects in life.

And what you are saying absolutely true. Fire can burn you and should be learnt about so you do not get burnt.

But the same heat that strengthens clay can melt plastic.

People are intrinsically who they are. We should encourage people to be who they are and give them a safe space to become who they can be.

Just because the heat has strengthened me doesn't mean I will choose to not understand that it has melted the plastic nor will I assume that the plastic is a lesser substance because it melts to heat.

If the plastic melts it can form something useful but first it will be destroyed. Must it go through the fire it is not ready?

I'm just airing my views. I hope you understand me.

I'm sure you do.

Thanks for this conversation it has been profitable to me. I'm sure you feel the same way too.