Getting to The Root of The Problem - official contest entry

in #savedtrees6 years ago

The Old Dog was at it again!

Another contest, easy, as always, to enter:

.
Tree Tuesday, Getting to The Root of The Problem
https://steemit.com/savedtrees/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-tree-tuesday-getting-to-the-root-of-the-problem-with-5-sbd-in-prizes

So, in that spirit

TreeIMG_20180105_1514501.jpg

I took a few shots, here in Loutraki, Greece

Tree3IMG_20180105_1517324.jpg

of trees that had been built (or paved) around.

Tree2IMG_20180105_1519361.jpg

Do you like?

Tree4IMG_20180105_1514052.jpg

January in Greece

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg
.
.
.
all photos courtesy of my Blackberry Priv
.
.
.
ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great pictures, I was surprised to see that all the pictures done in Loutraki, Greece, it seems people there protecting their environment. This is the best what human can do to live in harmony with nature, as it takes many years for the trees to reach this size and beauty. I also have had a look in your previous posts and became envious to see that you live in such beautiful area where you can enjoy sun, warmth and spectacular sunset at a coast. As an artist I have a lot of sea motives, the scene is everyday unique.

How long has it been since you left Kazakhstan?

WOW, respect! I have not expected you to go back in August this year to find that I am from KZ. I left Kazakhstan in 2002 when I met my husband, that was the time shortly after USSR fell apart, I have not been there since but when I chat to my friends and see the pictures I can't recognize it.

I was just wondering from where a lady from Kazakhstan might have gotten her familiarity with the sea :-)

Since we live at North sea coast for last few years I can imagine the life without open water and famous russian artist Ivan Aivazovski played his role too.

It seem people of greece are so nice , enviornmental friendly @onceuponatime

@omceuponatime i have made a post on you .if u dont mind have a loot at it .. there is no other way to tell you for that

I should start doing more contests.. just the music ones so far, but I'd love an excuse to focus on some other things as well :)

Anytime you need an excuse just tell them "@onceuponatime made me do it". I can handle the heat :-)

haha will do! lol

The last second shot was so awesome can't even describe it :)

Here, I'll help you out with some of the adjectives I just happen to have laying around:

beautiful, fabulous, incredible, lovely, distinctive, majestic, great, stupendous, splendorous, unique, gorgeous, attractive, tantalizing, mesmerizing, pretty, stunning, captivating..........

Feel free to use any you like :-)

Looks like the Greeks appreciate their trees, judging by the way they are left alone to grow through walls and architecture... and I really appreciate that. You don't see it so much, here in the US, although when I was in college the Safeway grocery store I went to was built in a square around a 200-year old oak tree they'd let stand.

Your January looks a lot more welcoming than ours...

I'm thinking that shade is pretty important here :-)
(so it might be a concession to practicality more than tree huggingness)

Good point. Shade matters a lot in Mediterranean climates.

Excellent entry for the contest ..This place is looking very beautiful..specially the weather

My tree don't like anyone build something around..

I like a tree that can look after itself!

Quite impressive pictures my friend. I love the nature photography and learning new photography skills.

Great pics of beautiful Greece , @oncuponatime. :) Trees are precious. Not only because their presence is constructive and a positive addition to humans and to the universe, but simply because they are ALIVE. It is a very good initiative to build structures and architecture around the trees by incorporating the trees into the architectural landscape. .. The designs become innovative, unique and beautiful and trees need not be cut ! However I have one question. Should a little space not be left around the trees in the pavements for roots to breathe ? ... In Delhi the concrete pavement cover has made the tree roots so weak that they cannot withstand strong winds anymore. The just fall and get uprooted.

I remember that when I lived in the Kulu Valley of Himichal Pradesh some of the trees were considered quite sacred.

As to your question about space around trees for the roots to breathe, I'm afraid that I don't know the answer. But I think trees breathe through their leaves, not roots. As long as the roots have the moisture and nutrients in the soil beneath the pavement that they require, i suppose that they will be allright.

Yes , In India many trees are considered sacred. :) ... In fact, every second or third thing in India is God Sacred !! ;) ... It is good and it is bad. India is incomprehensible :) :D
And I yes, you are correct, @onceuponatime. Yes trees do breathe through their leaves . :) ...
I hope concrete pavements and roads do not weaken the roots. Just something I read somewhere :)

This make me remember your post

Maybe if I start cultivating a British accent I could get on television too!

It's been more than 5 years I haven't been to Loutraki .. Thanks for reminding me of this stunning place and its calmness ..
And of course, thanks for sharing this contest I am most definitely taking part!
Best wishes from Crete :)

Mission accomplished!

My known trees! Οf course and I like it!!! Nice entry for this contest:) Reestem so I do not forget to post too!! I have some nice photos with trees.

I like the 3rd shot best - looks like the trees are breaking through!

After a third shot I'm sometimes trying to break through too!

Why don't you petition to "free the trees" @onceuponatime?

Those trees who sincerely want to be free, are free (at least in spirit).

This is actually my first time seeing your post and it's really beautiful how the pictures were taken, very beautiful post I may say, looking forward to be reading and enjoying myself from your blog, and most importantly learning as well lol. @onceuponatime

That's contest , in which a very healthy message conveyed for the safety of trees and their development. impressive job. i really appreciated initiative taken by @kus-knee.
I am also thankful to you @onceuponatime for your efforts to Regular supporting specialy new comers.( My english is not so good so ignore errors)'

Are you going to enter the contest?

yes off course, i will take part in this contest. nice activity.

Hi @onceuponatime, You're posts have that artistic feel that keeps the day long boredom away. Thanks for sharing.

Steem On!

Oh dear! ugetfunded is suffering from day long boredom.

Good .thanks

This is so wonderful. In the US they say they can't wait to demolish the building even before they've finished it. Luckilyl I live in the oldest part of US, New England, so we tend to keep our buildings and trees a bit longer. Our sidewalks in our little village will have a big tree root coming through and people just step over. I love the second image because I am obsessed with conifers. I think it must be a conifer, do you know the name of that type of tree. I am obsessed with trees anyway and I alwasys wait for the end of year sales to nab any saplings at the garden center that are left and marked down. I just found you and am now following.

Sorry, I don't know the name of the tree :(
Let's call him Roger :-)

Roger it is then. Funny ole' chap, Roger. He'll grow straight out of a wall without a second thought. :)

I'm not even sure Roger has a first thought let alone a second one!

Well, some say he is as dense as a fence post, but that's his brother, Lawrence. Roger at least has the sense to Leaf well enough alone :)

Interesting photos, especially the trees that are inside the building, should be very
many years. You have every chance of winning. I wish you luck.

With you wishing me luck, I am bound to get at least a consolation prize, or a participation ribbon!

to simply answer your question, i really like your post @onceuponatime and i really love the artistic part you put in every each of them. it is prity clear that you really like Loutraki.

i'm telling you a secret @onceuponatime i love Loutraki too. 😊

Don't tell me secrets! I will never be able to keep them!
and, loose lips sink ships as we all know.

Oops! I let it out! oh well, we are in the same Steemit family after all.... And as we know inside a family there are no secret kept 😉 @onceuponatime

That's amazing that they decide to integrate the environment around the trees there in that way. I know here all too often they just chop everything down to develop. It's sad. Glad to somewhere has it right in that regard.

nice to see when people build around the tree instead of cutting it down =)

But is it efficient?

the blue sky,, sun shin and the great tree make this post awsome and best and all the shots are from a good angle
this old tree i look in my country its leaf smell is so awesome and beautifull and perfect for mind freshness hope you enjoy it and get its leaf

I'm not quite sure how we could organize a "best smell" contest here on steemit. I'll have to think about that :-)

it always fun to read you comments ...

Wonderfull even without a contest you could make beautifull pics each day in loutraki.. remeber to go out for a geocache once. Its Nice to do.

Yes, photography could become addictive here in Greece.

Quiet and wonderful this looks to me the best pics :)

Kalimera! Once again I am participating in this awesome challenge, as I mentioned in my post special thanks go to you!

https://steemit.com/savedtrees/@alexandraioana26/getting-to-the-root-of-problem-official-contest-organized-by-kus-knee

Wish you a wonderful weekend!

Found also a beautiful quote:

Consider a tree for a moment. As beautiful as trees are to look at, we don't see what goes on underground - as they grow roots. Trees must develop deep roots in order to grow strong and produce their beauty. But we don't see the roots.

Wow...such a wonderful photograpy collection by @onceuponatime
I think we always try protect our nature....trees and animąls...
Actualy I'm really like frisy phoyograpy..
Execellent work sir...
Cheers~~~

Hey, I'm part of nature! No one is protecting me!

Darn, we have plenty of these in Cyprus.

So take some pictures and enter the contest. Prove it!

Been a while Sir @onceuponatime. I guess I have the varying timezones to blame.
While staring at this post, I just couldn't get a thought out of my head. And I simply don't know why.
This reminds me of a line in Joyce Kilmer's 'tree poem.'
"Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree."

maybe you could get Joyce Kilmer to enter the contest :-)

Wow, they really just paved right around them. I wonder how many have mistakenly hit one of those trees in the parking lot. I notice we don’t see the orange cones for one of them.

Always wonderful to see people building around and incorporating nature into the aesthetics of a building. Just gives everything that special touch of warmness that often seems void in megastructures.

I know, eh. Those trees are sitting ducks to get hit by the drivers coming out of the hotel after a few drinks :-)

hmm.... looks like I have to be rooted for this one. I have got one to match yours but it's an old one which I have to look for which is quite similar to yours. :-)

Bet you can't find it.

Evidently.

I'll go for a 2nd one.

Wonderful post. I commend you for your efforts in organising contests, especially this one. By this your are promoting the the activities of steemit. I follow and upvote you.

The contest was orgganized by @kus-knee. You should commend him, not me:
https://steemit.com/@kus-knee

What are the beautiful unique frames! How nice in January in Greece! You had a good trip, friend @onceuponatime !

"You had a good trip, friend @onceuponatime !"

I haven't done drugs for years!

Those are some lovely trees, I especially love the one on the edge of the fence :)

I think it like you too! Maybe the two of you should get together to see if you are compatible :-)

Dear once. Greek people live in harmony with nature. It is known. Futurism and civil constructs sometimes trying to interact at nature's life. Sometimes it wins the battle and trees, lakes or even mother earth make steps back. But sometimes nature interact and show her true image. You can cut a tree and leave it's corpose bleeding helpless. After few years or even months, if you go back once again you will see the corpose grow and beside it new children growing too.
This is the power of nature. And we all must not forget it.

Yes, do not argue with Mother Nature. She'll give you one hell of a whack!

She always gives us her gift no matter if we later ask for more.
Her gift is the greatest of all. She forgive us whatever we do to her, even to her children.
At Greek Mythology, nature was the mother of everything. We called her GAIA. She was the first Greek goddes, even before the gods of Olymbus. You can find ancient statues mentions a woman, with her hands open waiting to give us her hug.

@onceuponatime,
I got a camera and I will definitely join this round! You made that inspiration! Thank you very much and whatever I do in photography it's dedicated to you!
All photography are great! But I like photography #1 most!
Have a great day ahead!

Cheers~

I've got a feeling there are a lot of eligible trees for tis contest where you live!

@onceuponatime,
I got a photography and joined the contest! Not far away from my house. It's in the garden :D Thank you very much for giving such inspiration! I never had an idea to add my photography to STEEMIT, coz I am not a professional photographer :D But I think I will give a try! By your BW contest challenge, you brought a photographer (not a professional photographer) from this little me! Thank you very much for nominating me at that day!

Cheers~

@onceuponatime,
I got one at my garden too :D I will show you in 8 hrs from now (Probably)

Cheers~

Ho good we are waiting bro for see the photography of your....

very nice , i love trees on roads
i hope you won :)
thank you

I hope you enter and win!

At least the weather is good...

What more were you looking for?

A better day.... not only weather-wise...

Would you prefer one with 25 hours? - or 23?

One with better mood, with light in the inside,
or at least with some ouzo under the sun... to forget previous and following hours.

Are you not in charge of your mood?

And light is at the very core of our being. Just have to keep going deeper, through many dark layers, and there it is :-)

There was sun today. If there is more tomorrow, grab some ouzo and grab a seat under it :-)

the last wish,
"to forget previous and following hours"
I don't know about that. Remembering is of utmost importance.

There are times that external factors affect us and feelings, thoughts drift us away from the search... At least we wonder about the search itself with or without ouzo. Remembering... I agree with you, but who knows how it works...

Wow very beautiful photography and great work sir.
This is my photography of your same image.


Thanks @onceuponatime
Have a great day

Wouwww.. Thats amazing photo bro.. Great job 😊 please join with voteback me

People must appreciate the efforts your community made to save the trees and yes massive respect to you as well as you're promoting Clean environment through this beautiful contest.
In my second house we have a big tree which my mom was going to cut then i requested her to stay more at least for 5 years and let her know about the importance of trees. Lets see what decision does she take now.

By the your photography is awesome, keep sharing @onceuponatime

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

Well @onceuponatime
i am sure i can't win that contest as i am not that professional photographer, Yes i read that article too by @kus-knee and also i had a deep glance on the photos he shared in his article.
A little guidance by you would be appreciable regarding such types of contests :)

My guidance:

Enter because it is fun. If you win, that is an added bonus.

Yeah this is the best thing which i can do for sure. To win or to lose is the part of the game @onceuponatime Thanks by the way ;)

Exelent👍

Great pictures. The nature demonstrates how beautiful can it get.

Hey dear @onceuponatime again cool pictures. I was not aware that Loutraki, Greece is so beautiful. This picture is so beautiful but I must give the credit to the owner of Blackberry Priv. Keep sharing your great work and Stay Blessed!

DQmcFzxTXpi4Jobg9XMM1UdvgtyibThjGzu6koK3rrQvvqT_1680x8400.jpg

Best entry to the contest @onceuponatime
Greece is beautiful country . Wow trees looks so greenish they are pleasing to eye.

@onceuponatime
I have made a post on you kindly view it
And please dont mind it because there is no other place to talk about it .i thought is appropriate under your on post

Lovebird spotted :)

Reveal spoiler

By the way, the owner of this place is someone who really loves and care for nature.

Great post.

Your photograph collection is really very charming.i like it very much thanks for sharing us @onceuponatime

Thank you for viewing it.

wow wonderfull tree and also the all shots are perfect this beautifull tree and speciall from a in a room is good @onceuponatime

Splendid and astonishing photography my companion, extremely incredible. Much obliged @onceuponatime for sharing this post.

Resteem your post

If you don't mind check my profile once

Really a excellent places...the photos looking asesome...you choose a very nice place and beautiful place for the contest ..looking very beautiful bro...i hope that definatly you will win the contest....@onceiponatime

Bro which pixel camere you used for photos...

solution are like sunshine,,really good one..

❤Very excellent photos. Thank you. I have given these competitions an excellent thing. I encourage others to work diligently, research and tender to become a leader

Thank you for your words of wisdom.

There are 2 pages
Pages