SBD issuance question

in #sbd6 years ago (edited)

I am trying to look up how SBD are issued

My understanding is that:

  • sbd are issued at 50% reward for authors so long as the outstanding sbd are less than 2.5% of the market cap of steem (sbd are considered to be $1 even if exchange price is $10)
  • between 2-5% of market cap the issuance percentage goes down gradually. Ie at 5% no more sbd are issued as rewards
  • if there are more than 5% of sbd relative to market cap the the blockchain starts to pay less than $1 until 10% where it ceases to pay at all.
  • when sbd are created the corresponding steem for rewards will simply be burned and the sbd printed
  • when sbd are redeemed they are burned and steem printed

I wrote this all from rembering. But really im sure some of this is wrong and looking for some reference to look this up.

Any links are appreciated!

Update:
here some links from Dan (this one is old and does not answer my questions):
https://steemit.com/steem/@dantheman/steem-dollar-economics

This describes how sbd is limited and also safe.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/steem-dollars-have-limits

Sort:  
  • All of the blockchain rules assume SBD = $1 USD. (The actual market price of SBD is not factored in.)
  • When the SBD debt level is between 0-2% of the STEEM marketcap, rewards will be produced as 50% SP / 50% SBD.
  • When the SBD debt level is 5% or above, rewards will be produced as 50% SP / 50% STEEM.
  • Between 2% and 5% of the market-cap, it will reward with 50% SP, and a mix between SBD and STEEM for the other 50%. I am 95% sure it is a linear slope from 2-5%, but I have not checked the code in almost a year, so there is a slight chance I am remembering wrong.
  • Once the SBD debt level passes 10% of the marketcap, the blockchain will no longer honor the "1 SBD = approximately 1 USD worth of STEEM" agreement for conversions.
  • When SBD tokens are created, no STEEM is destroyed. It just increases the virtual supply of STEEM.
  • When SBD tokens are converted to STEEM, they are destroyed and the corresponding STEEM gets converted from 'virtual STEEM' to 'actual STEEM'.

Your answer is reading well. But look at this:

The data is from 2017-01-07. We have

Mcap (SBD) = 41.3 Million USD
Mcap (steem) = 1541.5 Million USD

The ratio amounts 2.67 Percent.

So if your information is right, we should already see a mix of SBD/steem payout for the free token 50%.
Or in the formula for the calculation of the Mcap it is assumed that 1 SBD is always 1 USD??
I will take an eye on it.

Bye the way: Can the information you provided here be found only in the code?
It should be written down in the papers, too!

All of the blockchain rules assume SBD = $1 USD. (The actual market price of SBD is not factored in.)

I don’t know where else to find the information.

Thank you for your answer to my question. My comment intended to make things clearer. So we are both in line. I appreciated your comment. I dont know why you gave me a downvote, but I'm not grumpy about it. Perhaps you misunderstood the mood of my statements.

It wasn't maliciously intended or an expression of dislike. (I left a majority of the payout.) It seemed like a self-upvoted (or bot self-upvoted) comment. I have started downvoting these types of things when I come across them. I wrote an article about it explaining why if you want to read about it, but basically the idea is I think we as a platform need to start doing it more often.

Thank you very much for your answer. I agree 100% with you regarding the boosters. I have set some weeks ago a thight ruleset for myself as follows:

  • I dont use any boosters
  • I dont lend my SP to boosters
  • I dont vote my own posts (exept main articles)

I have published this here (written in german):

https://steemit.com/deutsch/@freiheit50/booster-ohne-mich

I give all my voting power to other authors.
Regarding the upvote from @gentlebot above I dont know where it came from. I didnt order it.

So we both are fully in line. That great. Have a nice day.

Thank you!

Schau mal hier unten. Ich habe kurz gerechnet und den Kommentar von @timcliff ergänzt.

STEEM and SBD are never burned. The witnesses decide the ratio in which it is paid out as rewards.
If you enable 50/50 split reward on your post, you are actually getting 81% SBD anbd 19% STEEM as of right now.
This is a desperate attempt of witnesses to produce inflation and to get the price of SBD down again.

Are u sure. It looks to me like the payout is 50:50 still. assuming 1sbd = $1

Yes I am sure. Did you not notice getting way more SBD than STEEM from your posts? It used to be equal, but since two weeks ago, the payout ratio has dropped significantly. Just check your next payout on steemd.com You will see 70-90% SBD and only 30-105 STEEM paid out. It fluctuates.
The payout ratio used to be shown on steem.supply but @dragosroua removed it.

Awesome, needed that clarification on SBD, since I noticed that SBD's would be given out in higher quantities than Steem when it came to author/curation rewards.

That's more difficult to answer since SBD is almost $10 now.. but I always calculate.

If a post has $10 in steemit then you have 10$-25% curation.

so you have $7,50 left. if you have 50/50 rewards.

You get 3,75 steem dollar which is now really $37,50 and you get 1 steem if steem price is $3,75. So all depends on the time when your post is made.

I hope this makes it a bit clear. or search some post on steemit which can explain it in more detail..

Actually that is not entirely correct: The witnesses have put the SBD | Steem ratio to ~ 75% | 25% to create a great market pressure. You can check the current average on http://steem.supply/

So we get more SBD than Steem.

Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 12.15.15 PM.png

This is incorrect. Look at my picture above. I got 48 SBD and 7.6 steem worth around 6.4 or so basically the same amount. i.e. 50:50 like @timcliff said.

The witnesses have put the SBD | Steem ratio to ~ 75% | 25% to create a great market pressure.

This doesn't sound right.

This was actually quite confusing. Could you maybe make a video and explain this SBD issuing phenomenon a bit more clearly? That would help all of us understand the steemit reward system more. Maybe do a detailed video on how the whole reward system in steemit is structured and how steem and SBD are being generated and why SBD is no longer pegged to $1 as it was meant to be at the beginning.

your resource of SBD issue is really mindblowing
is resourcce hopefully help us
and we have to say that your every post really superb . you are our real philosopher of steem
thank you so @knircky
maximum people are give upvote and comment for steem coin
very few people give comment after read post
but i want to tell that your post is really so good an i always try to read your post then i comment your post. and i really love to read your post
thank you for your reasorce
and i hope you will read my post... ✌✌✌

your resource and remembering is really good.
i appriceat your resource.
@UPVOTE
AND
@RESTEEM DONE
and i hope i should do it.
hands up to your post

@knircky you are the crypto master!
Just woke up and saw this post, Wow the price is flying now!
2018 is gonna be huge for Steem and BTC..Hopefully steemit.
upvoted

very useful sbd information thank you

2018 is the year of steem!!
go.. go in sky high.. 👌👏☺

thanks for the info..

@Resteem

your asset of SBD issue is truly awe-inspiring

is resourcce ideally help us

what's more, we need to state that your each post extremely radiant . you are our genuine rationalist of steem

much obliged to you so @knircky

nice post and inportent information

STEEM to the Moon and Beyond.great news.
steemit is the best treading center.it is very good for us.
upvoted

I have same questions but i cannot find and solution to that
Your questions are 101% okay
Waiting to read perfect and link @knircky

Nice post sir.You always upload importance post thanks for sharing.
.

My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year.
Have a fun-filled, smashing, rocking and happening New Years 2018.Upvote and resteem done done.

I'm interested in knowing the answer to that, sorry I can't help you.

Maybe next time ! xx

All you have are bots posting "good post", I would like like to know the deal with SBD too. Its probably in the whitepaper

It isn't in the white paper as far as I remember.

Its hard to find out how steem works I still want to know if I can post too many comments in one day...

We can post comments every 20 seconds :)

very important information. thank you for posts

I can't just answer this either without doing any research.
But nobody except the market has real influence on the price of SBD, now the demand is higher but the supply is still limited.
And it will be 50% of the postrewards, the other half is Steem but with the higher Stemm price now you will get way less, but the amount of SBD didn't change.

Actually very interesting, gonna check here for more comments answering this questions.

Unfortunately you did you get through all those spammers here first

its good statistical analysis to understand how steem is worthful now!

I do not understand this at all, I'm just working and investing. Thank you for the smart questions and great support @knircky

👍👍👏👏