You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INERTIA has got me like WHAT?????????? Sorry this is not going to be on nutrition.

in #science6 years ago

Very interesting read, this is something people rarely point out. I've got friends in the US and yes even in a simple conversation we'd be confused until realizing we use different metric systems.

For example if they say it's 100 degrees I'd imagine it in celsius and I'm asking why he hasn't fried yet (100°C is 212°F).

I think a start would be to introduce these systems in school all around the world, how to convert them and whatnot.

Sort:  

Ha! me too. When I hear degrees my mind goes straight to Celsius

Lol it would take some time for us who are used to Celsius, Kilometers, Meters etc. to understand what is actually going on. happens to me all the time when watching or talking to people from the US

Lol. True.
Their values are larger too. Remember the first time I heard someone weighed over 300 pounds and didn’t know to how convert to kg. I was lost, thought It would be over 500kg

Yes, The American bodies are inflamed with sugar! Ha

Yeaaaaas! Mine the opposite! The conditioned mind.

Lol.. why hasn't he fried yet funny but true.

Yes boiling sounds so hot at 212F! lol

Lol.. Haha.

Lol, My mother in-law when she comes to visit from another country is very perplexed about temp's especially when cooking...212F sounds so extremely hot to her! They introduce Metrics but only in the lower grades...Although, unless you are a scientist you will never remember them. Sorry, meaning I don't remember them but I have made a commitment to change my car to Celcius and I believe I am going to change other things in the house in order to learn these formulas so I can freely bounce between them.

Hahaha yes!! In cooking terms Fahrenheit does sound extremely hot. Well it's good that kids are being introduced to the Metric system early on. Hahaha I can't convert these things either I usually use google to do the job.

Lol.. Since you've made a commitment towards that, you'll soon get use to it.