You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can A Psychopath Steal Your Heart?

in #science7 years ago

In this particular respect, I am in agreement with you and Ayn Rand. There is no such thing as true altruism. There is always a selfish aspect to it.

But I can think of numerous groups of people whose aim is to direct that selfish act towards the group as well, In those groups, "when I help myself, I help my brother". In that context, purely selfish action is not favored by the group, thus reducing the influence of the selfish actor.

I'm still not in complete agreement with you in your assessment about propogating fitness. Actions that incite the ire of anothre species will lead eventually to adapations that work against the actor species. I'd say that in almost all of life, we see some sort of symbiosis, cooperation.

While writing my response, I was remined of the movie, "I am - The Movie". That movie clearly showed the sybiosis and even democracies in animal culture. One example that I remember clearly is how a flock of birds will "vote" on which way to fly. I encourage you watch that movie just to see the examples provided.

Given the amount of interdependence almost all of life has on each other, I don't think that selfishness is favored by natural selection.

One final point that I think should be addressed. If you believe that social and psychological studies cannot be replicated as in the Scientific Method, I wonder if you might provide such an example.

Sort:  

But I can think of numerous groups of people whose aim is to direct that selfish act towards the group as well, In those groups, "when I help myself, I help my brother". In that context, purely selfish action is not favored by the group, thus reducing the influence of the selfish actor.

all small groups aim towards self preservation. Again, an evolutionary mechanism. As resources get scarce and gene variation is ensured among large populations then fitness starts getting hardcore.

I'm still not in complete agreement with you in your assessment about propogating fitness. Actions that incite the ire of anothre species will lead eventually to adapations that work against the actor species.

not always. A leopard can develop sharper claws while a gazelle can run faster. Evolutionary mechanisms are random based on given variations in the ecosystem.

While writing my response, I was remined of the movie, "I am - The Movie". That movie clearly showed the sybiosis and even democracies in animal culture. One example that I remember clearly is how a flock of birds will "vote" on which way to fly. I encourage you watch that movie just to see the examples provided.

I would have to check this one out

One final point that I think should be addressed. If you believe that social and psychological studies cannot be replicated as in the Scientific Method, I wonder if you might provide such an example.

any. bring me any study from sociology and psychology and I will debunk it.