You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adventures in Colorado ~ Crestone Dust Storm

in #science6 years ago

I never knew the difference between a sandstorm (like they have in West Texas) and a duststorm (which you can drive into almost anywhere in the West.) But what you wrote here makes a lot of sense.

Sandstorms are basically blowing tiny rocks at you. It stings when you have to be out in one ... and I have been in one 60 mph one where I had to wait until "between gusts" to be able to walk forward. Otherwise, all I could do was just stand my ground and try not to get toppled over.

Facing / trying to walk with the wind was even more hazardous. The wind pushes you until your feet can't even keep up and you can't keep them under you. You can't keep your eyes open in either one ... and you can't breathe well either. They are nothing to be out in. Srsly.

Anyway ... that's not the point of my visit today. I'm here to say you were included recently in my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post on Empath Protection Methods showcased at this link. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way.

I am also several days late managing to notify you of this on your blog, although I do note the people I include in our Discord group when I announce a new Inbox issue. Look for future acknowledgements to appear with you tagged in the publication announcement in the railway post office channel. (Running behind in getting comments written is pretty much standard for me. There are just not enough hours in the day.)

You'll see a vote for about $.80 done by singing.beauty in your list. That's from me. That is well above what I could give you in a simple upvote myself ... and I want inclusion in Inbox to be known as a "rewarding experience."

Also, there is an individual in Steemit who has made my ability to do this work and reward it this way much more difficult, but we work with what we have. Keep putting out quality posts, and I'll keep finding creative ways to encourage it. As I tell my husband when he yells at our pets, "It helps if you're smarter than the cat."

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

My dear @enchantedspirit, that certainly is a comment! Wow! I am not sure where to begin. Thank you so much for seeing my work and rewarding me. I am forever grateful. It is not always easy since I am writing nonstop but it people like you who make me feel that the energy I put into my posts most definitely are worth writing. It truly touches my soul and spirit, to know that I have met such wonderful people as yourself. I adore you and your husband to bits.
As far as the storm, I cannot believe you even attempted to walk in a 60 MPH sandstorm. I was in a jeep and I was pretty freaked out. I have no ideas the MPH, but it was enough for me to get a bit nervous.
I will always try to make my rounds to see when you all are promoting my work, I try to upvote, comment, and resteem. you all deserve that much from me. I will try to always do my utmost to support you as you support me. When we all make it big we can meet and talk about how hard we worked, nonstop, all day ... for months and hit it big. :)
Thank you and much love to you both, and the dog, and the cat. BTW, where are photos of them? We need to see the babies. I love the last quote, its the quotes that kill me. xx