You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: f

in #science5 years ago

Nice article! I guess for the average person that doesn't have a basic understanding of energy than it can seem scary having all of these waves bouncing around!

I think one of the only things missing here is the basic idea of "ionizing radition" vs. "non-ionizing radition". (Ie., basically waves with enough energy to modify atoms and waves that just vibrate stuff - which can still cause burns, etc...).

Even still though, I don't think i'd like to live anywhere near those huge power transmission lines lol.

One more thing! The chart mentions that UV radiation doesn't penetrate the atmosphere... but quite a bit still makes it through and causes sunburns (and they will damage DNA)!

Sort:  

The chart mentions that UV radiation doesn't penetrate the atmosphere... but quite a bit still makes it through and causes sunburns (and they will damage DNA)!

Yes, the UV-C Radiation is blocked by the atmosphere, but UV-B and UV-A Radiation as you said penetrate the atmosphere.

I noticed the chart was fuzzy around the edges as well. However I recall seeing that the chart won an award so someone liked it. I do know from reading sunscreen labels that uv-c isn't as much of a worry. I guess that's why.

Posted using Partiko Android