Deep into the science · Part I ·

in #science6 years ago

¿WHAT IS GEODESY?

412abb31606ef4370012d6a4251764df.jpg

Geodesy is the science of the Earth and engineering that studies the geometric shape of the Earth, their dimensions and orientation in space and gravitational field, through the determination of the Earth's surface (latitude, longitude, height) points. This science also is responsible for studying the bottom surface ocean.


Interesting don't you think?

Today I present a science that can be known for some and unknown to others. The truth is that it is the science which allows to measure everything you can imagine is related to our planet; Geodesy is present from the global measurements of the gravitational field, change in the mean level of the sea, melting of the Poles, global warming and other phenomena of high magnitude in the day of us as human beings. When you drive a car that has GPS (actually possess principles of global positioning), which implies that it is giving coordinates of the car practically in real time, thus positioning the vehicle that circulates inside the planet. Another example of our day is that in any housing construction have measurements and correctly distribute urbanism are required, because of this there are the coordinates where each object on the Earth's surface has different coordinates. (I'll be explaining later, What are coordinates?)

Now, let's talk a little bit of history...


Geodesy, was developed in the high cultures of the Middle East, in order to lift and divide the properties into plots. The formulas used to calculate areas, usually empirical, were used by the Roman surveyors and are also in Greek textbooks, e.g. of Heron of Alexandria, who invented the dioptra, the first geodetic precision instrument. He perfected even Ctesibius instrument to measure large distances. Alexander the great still took bematistas to lift the conquered territories.

After discovering the spherical shape of the Earth, Eratosthenes was determined for the first time the diameter of the globe. Hipparchus and Ptolemy, Heron determining longitude observing lunar eclipses in the same instant, two points whose distance was already known by measurements.

These methods were transferred to the middle ages through the books of the Roman surveyors and by the Arabs. Among the tools of Geodesy, from the 13th century, the compass is also. In the 16th century, the hydrostatic level of Heron, several centuries forgotten, it was reinvented in the 17TH century.

As this science so ancient and wide, this is why which is defined as a basic science that allows to study other branches such as: surveying, photogrammetry, cartography, spatial information, remote sensing, systems, construction, urbanism, the air, sea and land, navigation among others, and even for military applications and space programs.

This is the science on which I based my university studies, I present them. Now people studying dentistry are Dentists, who study medicine are Doctor, who studied graphic design are Designers, and thus stop counting, but... people who study geodesic engineering as say them?
Woman with question mark.jpg

We are Geodesic Engineering.

Welcome to the world of science!

In the following post, I'll be talking a bit of Geodesy, their interaction and implementation with other branches, and answering what are coordinates?


Hope I have been helpful, I say goodbye, greetings from Venezuela.
Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @sandrasthormes!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

thank you very much for your comment, I will take it into account!!

good news, get every week gift reward from @yousafharoonkhan
check my blog, upvote comment and get every post reward share direct to sbd wallet,, welcome to you

Welcome to steemit I wish you luck here.
Follow me @prettyjules158

This post did a good job describing geodesy. I dont feel the pictures are from you or got that sense they were personalized. Im kind of thrown off by the introduce yourself tag here but i learn a lot about geodesy and in that sense it was a great introduction for me to it! Can i share some tips i wish i knew about before starting steemit with you?

steemit.com.jpg

Hello welcome to Steemit! I have had a great experience so far and I hope you do too! There are a couple of things I wish I was made aware of when I first joined. Ill bring up some uncommon things I've at least noticed people don't mention too often.

  1. Steemworld.org/@ (your username)
    -a (nearly) complete interactive page that gives you a better overall experience and overview of what is really happening on your steem page.
    -steemstats is not that good
    -steemviz is a good pending payout site(does not include curation but has total pending payout including comment payouts)

  2. steemengine.net

    • steemengine.net the followers gained is unreal. I gained 100 just in the past two days. If you want you can use my referal link not required though...
      https://steemengine.net/join?r=633
  3. steemit school with @dobartim and @flysky https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n
    A very informative and supportive group of people for minnows. Its fairly new but it provides great basic support and tips there not to mention lots of contests and giveaways and love!

  4. if your going to buy upvotes for post promotion try and follow grumpy cat and his rules...
    -https://steemit.com/grumpycat/@mikel2la1/grumpy-cat-making-a-difference

These are some uncommon things I wish I was made aware of early on when I first joined! I wish you the best and much success here helping us all grow this amazing platform!

Thank you very much for your advice, I greatly appreciate your comment, the truth is that I am new and I do not know how I can cite the images, anyway, in my next publication I will do it much better. Thanks for your comment, I'll be following you!

welcome to the community steemit

@lopezdacruz

Welcome to Steemit! Followed you. I think your page will have very useful information. Best.