Microinjections - The Creation of Transgenic Mice (My Research, Vol. 6)

in #science6 years ago

Picture
By FirminoGennarino on pixabay.com

How does one genetically manipulate an organism?

There are plenty of options, with plenty of outcomes and plenty of reasons to use them. Do you want to just change one cell? Do you want the whole organism to be changed? Do you want the offspring of the organism to be changed too? Do you not want that? Depending on the desired outcome, you have to pick a different method.

For my experiment, each cell in the mouse is supposed to carry the genetic change, including egg and sperm cells - so they can pass it on to any offspring. But what’s necessary for this to happen?

An efficient way is to induce the change in a fertilized egg cell (= zygote) before it has a chance two split in two. Because when the change happens at that point, it’s kept for each cell division that follows and is thus existent in the whole organism.

Sounds neat? It is. But, how is that actually done?

As a first step, you need egg cells from a mouse. That sounds a lot easier than it actually is! First, the mouse has to be injected with hormones, so the egg cells start to mature. Then … you have to kill the mouse, to isolate them.

In a petri dish (and a solution to keep the cells alive), the egg cells are combined with mouse sperm and left alone in an incubator at 37°C, to allow fertilization. Fertilized egg cells look like this:

Experiment-2018-0009_c4.JPG
Picture was taken by me.

The ones without a “bump” are not fertilized, the ones with one are. The “bump” is a so-called polar body. Fertilized egg cells are then put under a special microscope that has two pipettes adjusted to it. One of them serves to gently “suck in” and thus hold the zygote, the other one is thinner and there to inject whatever solution I want to have inside the cell. @suesa

Microscope setup for the patch clamp technique, it looks similar to the one for microinjections. Picture taken by me.

Those who remember my post about the patch clamp technique should also remember the extremely tiny glass pipettes used for it. The ones used to inject mouse zygotes are very similar, so is the process of making them. I wasn’t able to snap any pictures in our embryo lab, so you’ll have to make do with the patch clamp ones.

Patch clamp pipette. Picture taken by me.

The thin pipette is carefully inserted into the zygote. The cell membrane is very elastic, which is why the pipette is given a short impulse to vibrate, to allow it to pass through. This usually doesn’t hurt the cell, as long as it’s not done with too much force. Once the pipette is inside, a tiny amount of the solution containing all elements for the genetic manipulation is injected. The pipette is pulled out again and one can move on to the next cell.

When I did this the first time, I wanted to test if one of my synthesized components works. It was the mRNA (“messenger RNA”, the way info from the DNA is transported) for a protein. Actually, two proteins. One coded for an enzyme, one for GFP (= green fluorescent protein). Inside a cell, the mRNA was supposed to be cut in two, so that both proteins would be produced. The GFP itself wasn’t necessary for the genetic manipulation but served as a control to see if my mRNA was faulty or not.

So, we put the injected cells back into the incubator at 37°C and waited until the next day, by which the zygotes had divided into two-cell embryos! Some of them at least. Not each injected cell makes the cut.

Under a fluorescence microscope, we could then check if the cells appeared green … which they did! Success!

Experiment-2018-0011_(c2+c3+c4).JPG
The picture is a combination of three different "color channels". The green one to see GFP, a red one to show a different kind of fluorescence we tracked for something else, and the "normal" one that shows the cells under normal light. Embryos with functional GFP are brighter than those without. Picture was taken by me.

At this point, the experiment was over. We didn’t need these cells anymore and most of them died a few hours later. We suspect that the concentration of mRNA was too high and thus toxic.

For my main experiment, the embryos were incubated a bit longer: a good 3 days. After that time, most were in the blastocyst stage and ready to be inserted into a surrogate mother mouse.

These big, fat, white mice (the strain is called CD1) are ideal surrogates. They’re super calm and can naturally sustain a large litter. I once had a mama mouse that had two natural pregnancies with first 14 and then 17 babies! She was doing fine, but we made sure she got an extra portion of peanut butter now and then. Picture was taken by me.

The surrogate had previously been put in a cage with a sterilized male, to mate and become pseudopregnant. Only when that’s the case, the embryo has a chance to implant into the uterus.

There are different ways to insert embryos, we chose a non-surgical way, which is less dangerous for the mouse. A very, very thin and long plastic pipette is inserted into the mouse’s vagina, which allows injecting the embryos directly into it. Takes a bit of patience, but the mice are surprisingly relaxed during the process.

(Or maybe we have stoner mice. Who knows.)

After that, it’s waiting. Not all embryos implant themselves and if the mouse is stressed, it can actively abort the pregnancy. So until 3 weeks after the injection, you can’t know if it worked. And then, it’s still 3 weeks until the babies are old enough to punch a tiny hole in their ears and use the tissue for genotyping, to see if the genetic changes even happened …

This tiny fella is still too young to take a tissue sample. Do you see how the ears are basically attached to the head? Taking a sample at this time would create unnecessary pain for the animal, so we wait until it doesn’t hurt as much anymore. There’s a law that you have to use painkillers/anesthesia on lab animals if you would use those on humans for a similar procedure. The tissue collection is done without either, as it’s relatively painless (if done right, I had to get a certification for this!). Picture was taken by me.

Working with model organisms takes a lot of time.

Anyway, that’s the stage I’m in right now! My first mice are hopefully born next week. I’m extremely excited about it and am hoping for a lot of healthy, transgenic babies!

About 2 days old baby mice. I hope to see some of those by Wednesday next week! Picture was taken by me.

If you have any questions, ask away!


References:


The processes described above have been shown and explained to me by my supervisor, but I’m still providing some papers to give you a chance to read more about it, if you’re interested.

Genetic transformation of zygotes

Genetic transformation of mouse embryos by microinjection of purified DNA

Fertilization in Vitro and Development of Mouse Ova

Relationship between Decidual Leukocyte Infiltration and Spontaneous Abortion in a Murine Model of Early Fetal Resorption

The Atlas of Mouse Development


Previously:

All about the Sperm-DNA - Vol. 1

Gene Editing - Cre/loxp - Vol. 2

Let's Splice! - Vol. 3

Lab Mouse Care - Vol. 4

Methods, Methods, Methods - Vol. 5


stem-update-02-12-18.gif

GIF was created for me by @saywha and @atopy , rest of the signature by @overkillcoin

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading this. I hope the babies looks as adorable as the ones above...and that the genetic change is successful.
But what happens after?

If the change is successful, I'm happy :P

My supervisor will use the babies (when they're old enough) for breeding, to keep the mutation. It's something he's researching.

Great explanation! Its quite a bit different from the bacteria I transform which can be done in a single day. Still, the timeframe for mice is a bit shorter than I was expecting. I was thinking months, but it sounds like it takes 6-7 weeks or so.

Well, before crispr, establishing a transgenic mouse line did take months. Crispr makes it a bit more.. Efficient :D

Our professor of biophysics was obsessed with the patch-clamp technique. Of course, one patch-clamp device was installed in my office.

Memories...

Nerrrrrrds! (Oh wait this is the actual place I did the patch clamp with my colleague!)

Those were the days of fast driving through the traffic jam with the precious cells while the patch-clamp guy was anxiously waiting to "poke" them.
We were sitting at the edge of the chair with the nerves stressed as strings while watching at the screen of an old oscilloscope.

Looks about as comfortable and advanced as the one I was working with:

I'm pretty sure that setup is older than me.

I think those things haven't changed at all for decades.

Your patch is shining in its full glory, with the attached camera :D

Injecting the embryos via a pipette... I was pretty much blown away by that information. Thx @Suesa for the insight into your interesting scientific work! Always nice to learn about an somehow related, but still surprisinlgy different scientific field.

Best,
mountain.phil28

A very, very thin and long plastic pipette is inserted into the mouse’s vagina, which allows injecting the embryos directly into it. Takes a bit of patience, but the mice are surprisingly relaxed during the process.

Inserting very, very thin objects into ones vagina is usually not something which leads to much excitement. So I've heard.

Interesting to see all the steps that need to be gone through to complete this procedure. I can see why there's a high failure rate, a lot can go wrong. I don't know too much about this area of science, but it was an easy read thanks to your clear and entertaining style.

Wow, patch clamp! I had a collaboration with a colleague who measured change in calcium currents in membranes of HeLa cells treated with compounds I've been working with, it was super exciting!

Question - why do you have to kill a mouse to isolate egg cells? Why can't you just isolate them from sedated female, like in humans (maybe it's a stupid/obvious one, I never worked with mice so far)?

I'm actually not 100% sure. I just know that my supervisor kills them, cuts them open and removes part of the fallopian tube, in which the egg cells are contained. I guess it wouldn't make much sense to sew the mice together again after. Everything is so tiny.

Seems like it's an economics thing, mice are cheap and mice/rats don't have the same kinds of protections that other lab animals have.

http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/the_mouse_trap/2011/11/lab_mice_are_they_limiting_our_understanding_of_human_disease_.html

Mice Impregnator ;D

I am curious about the gravel hanging above their cage...or is it food?

It's food xD

My first mice are hopefully born next week.

Hope you'd show us when they're born? :)

If I can sneak a picture :P there won't be an obvious phenotype tho

Is there a specific moment to inject the fertilized eggs into the vagina ? How we know that the uterus of the female is receptive?

Until 12-14 hours after mating, the mouse vagina is "blocked" by a so-called "plug". It's dried up liquid that came with the sperm. So, you put the females in a cage with the males, and 11-12 hours later, you check for plugs. Females with a plug can be uses 2 days later for the embryo transfer.

We usually inject the eggs at the blastocyst stage or slighty before, about 3 days after the microinjection of the components.

I didn't know about the plug thing , i do understand now ! anyway looking forward to see your newborns mice :D

Nice work @suesa! But I do have a clarification: How do you make transgenic animals by injecting mRNA? At least this is what it sounds like you did form your post. I can see how you can see your proteins being expressed from the injected mRNA in the zygote, but to have a transgenic stable line after embryo implantation you would have to inject DNA and it would have to recombine with the recipient zygote's genome (most likely targeted to a locus by homology arms, and Crispr Cas9 HDR is becomming a standard aproach ) and hope it was incorporated in the germline precursor cells?
btw working with a mouse as a model organism takes a lot of time, I agree, but in the model organism C. elegans we can microinject DNA and have a transgenic animals in a few days ;).

Yes, you're correct, just injecting mRNA isn't enough. In fact, in the step described I only tested my mRNA. It's mRNA coding for Cre recombinase, which is part of my gene editing "set". I needed to know if it's functional, before injecting it together with all other components into the zygotes I wanted to actually place in mice.

C. elegans and D. melanogaster are certainly a lot faster, I agree :P

How incredible is the genetics and the technology the great advances that the scientists give. By the way, I recently did an experiment with those same mice in how nicotine affects the genetics of an individual not only in health but in genetics a strong hug for you from Venezuela

do you think that some things like this are already done on humans ?

I mean, how do you think they achieve something like this: https://www.nature.com/news/crispr-fixes-disease-gene-in-viable-human-embryos-1.22382

But as far as I am aware, it's not legal to implant human embryos with genetic changes, yet. Has a lot of potential for the future tho!

Hey, I was thinking the same while reading this!
My interest is vested, since I have been dreaming of combining mine and my girlfriends genes so that we could have babies. I know, it might sound far fetched, but I've heard it could be possible over time. Do you have any knowledge about this @suesa? Could it happen the same way (obviously without killing the other female), that you insert some genes to the other zygote with a small pipette and then put the whole thing back to the other ones uterus? And do you even think this is possible?

If I ever wanna have babies I would like it to have genes from the both of us, so I rely on you scientists, to make it possible!

It is absolutely possible to isolate human egg cells (it's done all the time for in vitro fertilization) and .... well, do in vitro fertilization. What's illegal in most countries is making directed genetic changes to them, aka what I've been doing to the mice.

In theory, it would work the same. Isolate egg cells, bring them together with sperm, wait, inject stuff, wait, transfer them to a woman's uterus. Wait 9 months, congratulations, you have a baby!

Now, I'm assuming you're female, or else the part about "the babies having genes from you and your girlfriend" wouldn't make much sense.

There actually has been a case where researchers created a mouse with two mothers (Read about it here) but so far, it has not been applied to humans. Might also not yet be possible with our technology, but could be possible in the future.

"What's illegal in most countries is making directed genetic changes…" That's what I thought.
This should be researched more, so that some day it would be legal. And I wouldn't mind that some day being soon, since like my mum happily likes to remind me on monthly basis, I have soon passed the suitable reproduction age, lol.
And yes, I am female just like my better half. Not too easy to get babies together even if there was genes only from one us. So maybe I'll just ditch the idea all in all...

How about editing of human embryos right in the womb? Is it legal yet?
I've read about that.

I'm not sure how you plan to do that

I stumbled upon this article.
https://www.technologyreview.com/s/608350/first-human-embryos-edited-in-us/
Maybe you can take a look at it in your spare time

Bookmarked it

The video looks a lot like what I've been doing! Interesting article.

Wow! That's great. Maybe you can make a video of yours too :)

Maybe insert a very, very thin pipette in there as well? :)

That one can't be sharp tho :P And it's hard to fit a microscope into a womb.... Hmm

Que increible avance sobre la genética. Interesante Post.

Wow I really liked the content of the post, I had not read something like that, and had no information about this, I do not know if it is in favor or against this

Damnn thats some pretty sexy science right there, I might've missed it but what gene were you looking for the mice to develop?? Would I be right to guess the plan that the successfully transgenic mice will also glow green?

They won't glow (it's actually fluorescence) green, as the GFP is only used as a marker very early on. And the inserted gene in question is actually not that important in my case, the method how it's inserted is the interesting thing. Trying to combine CRISPR/Cas9 with cre/loxp.